Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars northern stompers!!
simply a great comp of northern classics!!!
the backbeats series is great!!
well compiled and the sound is spot on!!
Published 14 months ago by pvc

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's American 70's soul
I bought this CD to add to my collection of Northern Soul artists, and it clearly isn't. Should have thought really that Northern Soul can only be music coming from North England. HOWEVER it does provide a bunch of nice tracks from across the pond, and I would sum up the sound as a mixture of 1970's style soul and a little bit funky. Its ok.
Published 2 months ago by virginia hartley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars northern stompers!!, 9 May 2013
By 
pvc "pvc" (pompey hants uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
simply a great comp of northern classics!!!
the backbeats series is great!!
well compiled and the sound is spot on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great little collection. I don't think there's a bad track on this CD. One of my 'best buys' this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found the backbeats series a superb way to get hold of some excellent old tracks, but must say Metropolis Stomp time is one of the best Northern compilations I have found to date, all tracks are lively and upbeat and will enhance any collection of this wonderful music. More more more please.

Chris G
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metropolis Stomp Time Reviewed By StefC Leek soul club., 25 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one is for the 'Run Of the Mill' Northern soulie. 31 great famous tracks. Something on this album for everyone. If you haven't heard these time and time again then grab yourself a Bargain .this Backbeats series is building into a great Soul collection .For the money GRAB IT and look out for the rest in the series. Well done Backbeats. Reviewed by StefC c/o Leek soul club home of soul since 1993
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars northern soul backbeats metropolis stomp time cd, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good cd good song dont know most of them but i sopose i will get into them in time if i keep playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this - even if you only like a few of them, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Memories are made of this !!

At this price you cannot go wrong. Obviously, some lose their power in your living room, car etc. compared
to the atmosphere of the dance floor. Personally, I would pay 5 just for the Masqueraders cut.

Hopefully, a similar CD is in the pipeline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent CD, brought back lot's of memories. Strange but you just want to get up & do a "Back Flip"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back beats Metropolis Stomp Time-Northern Soul, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A clear audible CD with quality Northern songs and artists (No newies/Modern/Crossover)plus you get 31 for your 4.40 cost.
If you are not sure just look at the sleeve copied on amazon and 'you tube' the songs to check your particular taste.

i will use the supplier again but always a bonus seeing the sleeve and content first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprises, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD this one - The Vibrations "cause youre mine" a classic (saw them in Prestatyn this year) ,
dearly beloved , one in a million, and in the long run are all dance tunes that I enjoy on a night out. This is fantastic CD compelation to listen/dance to in me Kitchen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's American 70's soul, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this CD to add to my collection of Northern Soul artists, and it clearly isn't. Should have thought really that Northern Soul can only be music coming from North England. HOWEVER it does provide a bunch of nice tracks from across the pond, and I would sum up the sound as a mixture of 1970's style soul and a little bit funky. Its ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews