Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Bone-Cruncher Of A Book
Forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan continues to exhibit her expertise, not just in the bone department but also in her ability to multi-task and flexibility to shift her emphasis on objective and professional issues. On top of this she has to cope with her impending divorce from Pete and her daughter's engagement in Afghanistan as a voluntary aide. Tempe is...
Published 11 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) Some parts excellent, others written on auto-pilot
A cache of rare dog bones; a girl killed in a possible hit-and-run; and a Marine shooting of unarmed civilians in Afghanistan -and only Temperance Brennan can work out what links them all.

This is my first Kathy Reichs book and I have a slightly mixed reaction to it. Some bits, notably the section set in Afghanistan, are excellent, and feel like Reichs is...
Published 11 months ago by Roman Clodia


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Bone-Cruncher Of A Book, 16 Aug 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Lost: (Temperance Brennan 16) (Kindle Edition)
Forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan continues to exhibit her expertise, not just in the bone department but also in her ability to multi-task and flexibility to shift her emphasis on objective and professional issues. On top of this she has to cope with her impending divorce from Pete and her daughter's engagement in Afghanistan as a voluntary aide. Tempe is initially involved with the death of a teenage girl, seemingly hit and run. No motive is apparent.

Whilst her investigation of the girl's death is on going, Pete implores her to help his friend's son, John Gross in the military, accused of the murder of two Afghanistan civilians by a colleague. Tempe's experiences in Afghanistan are one of the highlights of the novel. The bodies are exhumed and Tempe delivers her expert findings.

Meanwhile we have an import of canine bones from Peru, a dodgy organisation, Holdings and S&S Enterprises and potential links between the teenage girl's death, South America and Afghanistan with U.S connections.

Kathy Reichs has written another intriguing story integrating Temperance Brennan's many talents and an intuitive knowledge of the cases she is dealing with backed up by her forensic expertise. Working closely with Detective 'Skinny' Slidell, he comments towards the end 'I'm the detective, you're the anthropologist', reflecting her increasing involvement and commitment to the investigative approach to her findings. Tempe Brennan does not accede.

This is well-written as expected in a Kathy Reich's suspenseful and action-packed novel as she shifts her protagonist through professional, dangerous and emotional escapades. It is not an easy book to put down. There are discoveries and surprises that may lead to the culprits for the discerning reader. The latter chapters explain the ties between the various sub-plots and characters with revelations that rapidly expose coincidental and missed evidence. As with many authors, going over old ground often reveals new findings and rewards. An enjoyable and entertaining novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) Some parts excellent, others written on auto-pilot, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
A cache of rare dog bones; a girl killed in a possible hit-and-run; and a Marine shooting of unarmed civilians in Afghanistan -and only Temperance Brennan can work out what links them all.

This is my first Kathy Reichs book and I have a slightly mixed reaction to it. Some bits, notably the section set in Afghanistan, are excellent, and feel like Reichs is passionately engaged in what she is depicting. Other bits, sadly, feel like they're written on auto-pilot. Elements of the plot have become so well-worn or are so familiar from the crime-fiction world that they remain mysterious only to Brennan and her colleagues - as readers, we're way ahead of the plot game. The plot also turns on a massively unbelievable coincidence to tie the whole thing together with a neat bow.

It seems from the Afghanistan section that Reichs can do better than this, and perhaps needs to step out of her comfort zone a little more. So this is good as a commute read: it zips along in a breezy, page-turner fashion and is easy to pick up and put down. Perhaps fans of the series will enjoy this more than the first-time reader - recommended with reservations.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Embedded Fiction, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A somewhat contrived story that repays the authorities who flew KR and several other thriller writers to visit a US base in Afghanistan. The coincidence by which the death introduced on the dust-jacket is resolved, is just too unlikely. Had I not been strapped in an airline seat for 13 hours, I doubt I would have read to the end; the guilty party and the gist of the ending were apparent with 100 pages to go.

Am I alone in being of the opinion that KR's stories on Temperance Brennan are more carefully composed when they are set in Quebec than when set in North Carolina?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing new novel, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Lost: (Temperance Brennan 16) (Kindle Edition)
The detailed forensic work which made her books great is sadly lacking. Any hack could have written this, a pity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tad too "jingoistic" for my blood, 6 Sep 2013
This is a book that I think will appeal more to the US market rather than UK readers. I won't repeat the storyline - it's on Amazon and in other reviews. But I will say that the messages that the US are policing the world come across loud and clear rah, rah, rah! So y'all - we're all safe in our beds.

I'm not interested in that kind of jingoism. I found the story a bit clunky and convoluted. I struggled to identify where some of her connections between crimes had been made and I had little interest in the US Forces penal code details ( subsection 2.3875 etc. ).

This book was too stiff - too preachy and had too much moral overtone ( I won't say where as it is a plot spoiler). All I will say is that several well-known crime writers have all tackled the subject-matter in the last 12 months.

But my biggest complaint is not enough Andrew Ryan!

Kathy - you can do better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars from one who is usually a big fan....., 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Lost: (Temperance Brennan 16) (Kindle Edition)
Not one of her best- takes a quantum leap to connect the two threads of the story- stretched credibility too far! Moral message backed by statistics may be laudable but does not make for a good work of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tempe Brennan always says: I don't believe in..., 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: Bones of the Lost: (Temperance Brennan 16) (Kindle Edition)
... coincidences - and neither do I.

The book starts with a very promising Prologue - and the tension is rising, but then...
The first chapter is also very interesting - but only for those who haven't ever heard or read of Tempe "Bones" Brennan before...

Temperance (Tempe) Brennan is a forensic anthropologist who investigates long-dead human remains and backs up the work of coroners with her ability of reading human bones.
When a teenager is found dead along the side of a desolate road with signs that she may have been deliberately run over and possibly sexually abused. The girl had an airline card in her bag belonging of someone who died in a fire a while ago, and Tempe had identified the remains of his fire-charred body. Because of the vulnerability of the young woman, Tempe is determined to try everything and find out what happened.

Her search is interrupted by a call for her to travel to Afghanistan (!) to exhume the bodies of two locals killed by a US Army Lieutenant during active service, who is under investigation for their murder. This sidetrack challenges Tempe's physical and emotional strengths. Because Tempe's daughter has enlisted herself in the Army and is now in Afghanistan, too; and she is heavily overworked because she pushes herself to the limit. And there will be... no, I don't spoil.

Tempe returns and then things happen that make her think that there may be a link between the two cases - the dead girl and her defense case.
Her first reaction is, as always - "I don't believe in coincidences."

But the relations between the cases are almost incredible - so at the end I have been disappointed. Because all over the plot are too much relations strewn out at random and the very showdown is almost absurd.

No, Ms Kathy Reichs - if You don't work a bit on the ideas, I really don't know if I read Your next one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Lost: (Temperance Brennan 16) (Kindle Edition)
Not up to her usual standard ,found the story line very stretched no real suspense my attention was not held.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average at best, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Lost: (Temperance Brennan 16) (Kindle Edition)
Fans of Kathy Reichs will buy this and dutifully read it to the end but in all honesty it is clumsily written in places and boring for at least half the novel. The on-off nature of her relationships is lip-service to trying to keep a well-rounded character but it's not even frustrating anymore. A clumsy plot held together with her usually effective formula made this a bit half-hearted. Perhaps she's spread herself too thin recently with her new teenage fiction series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't disappoint, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Lost: (Temperance Brennan 16) (Kindle Edition)
As usual, the thrilling Kathy Reichs is reliable in telling a good story with a lot of intrigue, weaving different stories together to a conclusion you would never have expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews