Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
47
2.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2013
I saw this film at my local Cineworld. Having read that it had been banned in Australia, defended by James Franco, and that it consisted of extensive, 'sophisticated' sex scenes, I was intrigued and went to see it.

I thought the film was fantastic, it deals with a group of friends in modern day San Fransisco. The main character, Jesse, is having to move back to his Midwestern small town due to lack of money. He is a performing artist and fears there will be little opportunity for him to perform his profession and he will also miss the lifestyle he has become accustomed to in SF. He has also recently split up with his long term boyfriend, who he was very much in love with, and saying goodbyes proves harder than he imagined. The film takes place over a period of around 24 hours, and focuses also well on the relationship of Jesse's flatmate and his boyfriend, who are having problems of their own. The film builds into a goodbye party for Jesse and focuses very intimately on these central characters and we rarely even see anyone else's face, despite hearing their voices.

As I mentioned the film does contain a LOT of graphic sex, but I did not find it out of place or needlessly pornographic. The sex scenes are fantastic and we get the see the characters at their strongest and most vulnerable at the same time. Sex is a part of every day life and it is a side that not many see, especially sex with long term partners or friends. I agree that the sex scenes are very sophisticated and this is where most of the characterisation comes through.

I thoroughly enjoyed this film, it was a rare experience, and was very well written and came across as very mature. The camera work was very well done, and kept the story flowing and made an intimate connection between the characters and their audience.

Excellent film.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
"Taking back gay sex" is one of the important reasons behind this film, which has unfortunately been described as controversial. This is indeed unfortunate, as gay men are indeed sexual beings. The sexual explorations as important and as diverse as heterosexual men, and as such in no way less important or valid. Travis Matthews is no fan of censorship, and believes it important to show things as they are. Accordingly the film has no sweet veneer and actively avoids anything close to being politically correct. The sex scenes are bold, with little, if any attempt to hold back for the sake of perceived decency. Yet strangely, this works within the context of both the story and its message.

The actors are purposively reflective of ordinary men, and do not attempt to be the 'pretty boys' one so often sees in glbt films. They are us, as we experience ourselves, and in no way the artificial, muscled and vacuous men one have come to expect in glbt cinema. This is within itself an important message, and I expect many will not see it for what it means to portray.

Many will say that the story itself likes character and is somewhat light. I on the other hand would say that's precisely what its meant to be. Almost a day in the life of the average man, who happens to be gay, and like so many people has little direction and purpose in life. In the end however, and along the way, be experience many people and learn a great deal, slowly finding our way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
I bought this film because of the controversy over the sex content and I was interested in the story of a man leaving a vibrant gay community and returning to his conservative hometown.

The storyline was a bit rambling and some of the dialogue was mumbled and hard to understand. I found it difficult to understand the relationships between the various characters. I was disappointed that the film ended on the main character's trip to the airport as I really wanted to see how he adjusted to his new life in his hometown. That's probably my fault for expecting something that wasn't promised.

The sex was graphic, as expected, but it was not out of place. Indeed, it was portrayed realistically and the actors appeared to be into each other. The eye contact between the actors was particularly good. This differentiated the film from porn where the sex and the actors usually look perfect, but they also look bored and mechanical.

Overall the film seemed to fall between a drama and a porn film. The sex wasn't sufficiently arousing and the storyline needed to be a bit tighter to fully maintain interest. A good effort, but not great.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
This is one of the most boring films I have ever had the misfortune to view. In my opinion the acting was lame, story line weak and was much akin to a poor '70s, pre-Gay Rights attempt to make the subject matter acceptable to the wider market, but only managing to disappoint a Gay Audience instead. I wish I had not been tempted to buy this and would not recommend it.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
As the headline says too much sex, too little sex and hard core at that. Kinda a surprise while watching the movie when it got hot and heavy. But then when one of the producers is called Naked Sword a pron company shouldn't have been that surprised.
The acting is actually very good and real, as is the cinematography, the plot though is a bit thin.
Personally I don't need actors to actually have sex in a sex scene to make it real, after all it's meant to be pretend!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
What a pretentious and silly film. Jesse must be the most uninteresting and boring lead character I've seen. His circle of friends were either shallow or long suffering in his tedious and boring little world. The graphic sex seems equally pointless. A film without any passion at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
I have just finished watching this film and have just finished throwing it in the waste bin. I would not have given it any stars at all if that were possible.

How ever anyone dare advertise and market this as a narrative film beggars belief. It is mind-numbingly boring and watching paint dry would be a better way of spending time. I was waiting for something of consequence to happen, I may as well have been living in cloud cuckoo land. The acting (?) is amateurish, the editing is pathetic, the whole thing is a mess! There are several scenes of real gay sex (it is made by Naked Sword so I think that could be expected) but if that is what you are looking for, buy one of Naked Sword's full-length porn films instead......you will get better value for money and you will be more entertained, that's for sure!

Give this one a wide berth if you have any sense.

I really do regret spending my money on this dvd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Not what I thought!
I was a litte disappointed since i missed the meaning of the relations between the men. I Think the title gave me the wrong impression and so I hoped that it should be a more emotional story. It was difficult to hear all conversation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
After reading positive reviews of how this film is considered groundbreaking and so on, I decided to buy it. I honestly struggled to stay awake til the end. I've seen quite a few gay-themed movies and this is by far the worst ever. Not even the sex scenes could save i! This is basically gay porn disguised as "art". Total rubbish.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
This film captures the realities of the bedroom very well, rather than sensationalising, which is something to be championed, but the narrative of this film is particularly poor and ultimately dull and dissatisfying.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)