Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very personal, artistic, and touching. Furthers the use of sex as a meaningful and sophisticated tool in cinema.
I saw this film at my local Cineworld. Having read that it had been banned in Australia, defended by James Franco, and that it consisted of extensive, 'sophisticated' sex scenes, I was intrigued and went to see it.

I thought the film was fantastic, it deals with a group of friends in modern day San Fransisco. The main character, Jesse, is having to move back to...
Published 17 months ago by Jordan

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A controversial film short on story
I bought this film because of the controversy over the sex content and I was interested in the story of a man leaving a vibrant gay community and returning to his conservative hometown.

The storyline was a bit rambling and some of the dialogue was mumbled and hard to understand. I found it difficult to understand the relationships between the various...
Published 15 months ago by S GROUT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A controversial film short on story, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film because of the controversy over the sex content and I was interested in the story of a man leaving a vibrant gay community and returning to his conservative hometown.

The storyline was a bit rambling and some of the dialogue was mumbled and hard to understand. I found it difficult to understand the relationships between the various characters. I was disappointed that the film ended on the main character's trip to the airport as I really wanted to see how he adjusted to his new life in his hometown. That's probably my fault for expecting something that wasn't promised.

The sex was graphic, as expected, but it was not out of place. Indeed, it was portrayed realistically and the actors appeared to be into each other. The eye contact between the actors was particularly good. This differentiated the film from porn where the sex and the actors usually look perfect, but they also look bored and mechanical.

Overall the film seemed to fall between a drama and a porn film. The sex wasn't sufficiently arousing and the storyline needed to be a bit tighter to fully maintain interest. A good effort, but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very personal, artistic, and touching. Furthers the use of sex as a meaningful and sophisticated tool in cinema., 16 July 2013
By 
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film at my local Cineworld. Having read that it had been banned in Australia, defended by James Franco, and that it consisted of extensive, 'sophisticated' sex scenes, I was intrigued and went to see it.

I thought the film was fantastic, it deals with a group of friends in modern day San Fransisco. The main character, Jesse, is having to move back to his Midwestern small town due to lack of money. He is a performing artist and fears there will be little opportunity for him to perform his profession and he will also miss the lifestyle he has become accustomed to in SF. He has also recently split up with his long term boyfriend, who he was very much in love with, and saying goodbyes proves harder than he imagined. The film takes place over a period of around 24 hours, and focuses also well on the relationship of Jesse's flatmate and his boyfriend, who are having problems of their own. The film builds into a goodbye party for Jesse and focuses very intimately on these central characters and we rarely even see anyone else's face, despite hearing their voices.

As I mentioned the film does contain a LOT of graphic sex, but I did not find it out of place or needlessly pornographic. The sex scenes are fantastic and we get the see the characters at their strongest and most vulnerable at the same time. Sex is a part of every day life and it is a side that not many see, especially sex with long term partners or friends. I agree that the sex scenes are very sophisticated and this is where most of the characterisation comes through.

I thoroughly enjoyed this film, it was a rare experience, and was very well written and came across as very mature. The camera work was very well done, and kept the story flowing and made an intimate connection between the characters and their audience.

Excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
A good tale, very raw and loads of feeling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
really sexy and hot. really realistic. goodish story line. cute. kinda whish there was a bit of a plot twist but meh. hot ppl having sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD has no story line to speak of a very disappointing DVD and a regretted purchase, it was very predictable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
Please do not even bother buying this film, have mine. Watched once and believe me that was a struggle, I suppose it's supposed to be all moody or Indie whatever that is but it just comes across as BORING! The main character is a total wimp who mumbles is way through the entire film ( wasn't quite sure if this is because the script, if there was a script required it, or because he was to embarrassed to audibly read out the words knowing how awful it all sounded ) . Then there was the rest of the cast, don't get me started on the guy who worked in the clothes store or the sex scenes which I'm guessing was the main ploy to get this waste of folks money into the DVD player. Just once would I like to buy a great film with gay characters I can relate to. Unfortunately this heap of rubbish didn't even come close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Jesse must be the most uninteresting and boring lead character I've seen, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
What a pretentious and silly film. Jesse must be the most uninteresting and boring lead character I've seen. His circle of friends were either shallow or long suffering in his tedious and boring little world. The graphic sex seems equally pointless. A film without any passion at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was a litte disappointed since i missed the meaning of the relations between ..., 22 Dec 2014
By 
Stig Bengtsson "Stig" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
Not what I thought!
I was a litte disappointed since i missed the meaning of the relations between the men. I Think the title gave me the wrong impression and so I hoped that it should be a more emotional story. It was difficult to hear all conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, well made film, 1 Oct 2014
By 
Gareth J. Jones (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
very interesting , look at physical as well emotional relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I want your...sex!, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Efthivoulos E. Nielsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Want Your Love [DVD] (DVD)
After reading positive reviews of how this film is considered groundbreaking and so on, I decided to buy it. I honestly struggled to stay awake til the end. I've seen quite a few gay-themed movies and this is by far the worst ever. Not even the sex scenes could save i! This is basically gay porn disguised as "art". Total rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Want Your Love [DVD]
I Want Your Love [DVD] by Travis Mathews (DVD - 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews