Customer Reviews


218 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman preturns?
I believe this is set prior to the previous Batman games, but I'm not that big a fan that I worry about the detail. What's great is all the things that make the other games so much fun are in here, flying, grappling, stealthy take downs, you name, they're here. Some new gadgets, but basically the same as before. If you liked it then, you'll like it now and there is a much...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. Thomas Doyle

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely ruined by game breaking glitches, bugs & Warner Bros. customer service
Screen tearing and lag, glitches lurking around every corner, less emphasis on collectibles which leave the city feeling bare, boss fights, leaves an impression of just feeling like a bad version of City

Batman: Arkham Origins is a tough game to describe and break down. Yes, it is a part of the fantastic Arkham series, which not only set the bar for superhero...
Published 8 months ago by M Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman preturns?, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Thomas Doyle "TDXI" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
I believe this is set prior to the previous Batman games, but I'm not that big a fan that I worry about the detail. What's great is all the things that make the other games so much fun are in here, flying, grappling, stealthy take downs, you name, they're here. Some new gadgets, but basically the same as before. If you liked it then, you'll like it now and there is a much bigger free world to explore.

Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent (if you like more of the same), 25 Nov 2013
By 
G. Davies (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
If you liked either of the previous games, buy this now. Storyline excellent, gameplay largely unchanged - it does feel that this is somewhat of a filler until the next 'proper' release, but when the game is this good, that is absolutely not a bad thing

if you didn't like either of the first games, then i would avoid this! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Batman goodness., 25 Oct 2013
By 
M. J. Sparkes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
First thing above all else, please ignore the raving of the reviewer named 'freedom of speech'. He is simply trying to ruin ratings for what is a very good game, giving it one star when he has not really played it.

Right, first things first. It is very similar to the other batman games, and considering it has not been done rock star but by WB. They have done a fantastic job, the graphics are clean, clear, suitably dark and Batman is edgy and moody as always. He has many gadgets and all the standard stuff from the first two games, as well as more to explore. The fighting system has not changed, as I feel if it worked in the other two, then why change it.

The characters themselves are fantastically voiced (Troy Baker as the Joker) and the cutscenes itself play like a film. In actual fact are probably worth the asking price alone as the plots and side plots are super fun.

The detective side is still there with an added twist in now, actually seeing the crime, rewinding it for more clues, very CSI. Also a good laugh.

The assassins are amusing, i nearly wet myself laughing at the first incident with the electrucutioner, very nice.

The map is really huge with the same Riddler or Enigma ;-) side quest to do, which is always fun and hair pullingly annoying at times.

It is a fun game, it's pretty, great voice acting, the most fun i have had since 'the last of us'. I would highly recommend it. I have been playing games since the Commodore 64, in a time where we seem to only get great graphics and a lack of gameplay. Then this will do the job.

On a final note, it's not really anything new, but its great fun, if you like Batman, get it. If you don't, maybe you should rent it and give it a try, you might just be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely ruined by game breaking glitches, bugs & Warner Bros. customer service, 26 Feb 2014
By 
M Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
Screen tearing and lag, glitches lurking around every corner, less emphasis on collectibles which leave the city feeling bare, boss fights, leaves an impression of just feeling like a bad version of City

Batman: Arkham Origins is a tough game to describe and break down. Yes, it is a part of the fantastic Arkham series, which not only set the bar for superhero video games, but has also shown that the genre can output great video games, rather than just decent comic book games. Origins is unique within the series in several ways. Not only did the game find a new developer in WB Games Montreal, but several of the voice actors were not returning to their parts. Both Batman and the Joker received new voice actors, but luckily the new voice actors did a fine job with portraying the characters. After hearing that Origins was being handed to a new developer, was receiving new voice actors, and was going to be told as a prequel story; I began to worry. I was not worried so much that the game would not be playable or fun, but more so that these are generally signs that a game will not be anywhere near as good as the other entries in the series.

Sadly, Origins does indeed fall short of expectations and quality that the Arkham series is known for. The core make-up of Origins is largely the same, which puts the game in the same boat (literally) as the Assassin's Creed franchise. Each new game is relatively fun and functional, but the similarities to past titles take much of the joy out of playing every new entry. Origins is much like Arkham City, but it offers no improvements over anything that made City great. And more importantly, Origins does many things worse than the previous entries. Origins is the first Arkham game that I have played that suffered from so many glitches and performance issues. To the point that my game either locked up, or a glitch was preventing me from progressing through the story. Batman: Arkham Origins was a business move. WB Games Montreal did not set out to create one of the best Batman games, or even one of the best games of this generation. Rather, they were given the task of making a somewhat barely functional Batman game while Rocksteady moved on to its next project.

To rub salt into the wound, Warner Bros. have released a press statement saying that they do not intend to fix any of the game breaking issues but will continue to develop downloadable content for the game.

I would suggest to go as far as saying if a game has a known progression stopping or game crippling bug that the game should not be considered fit for purpose and customers should be refunded.

If you were on the fence, then consider yourself lucky you didn't purchase a faulty game. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
A breathtaking game full of wonderful characters and very worth every penny. The joker played a massive role in this game and anyone who is a fan of that character would love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman Origins; fans should not miss this remarkable prequel!, 25 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
Batman Arkham Origins is not a game for haters. Period! From the very first moment that you read about it, buy it and start playing, you re aware that this is a game for people who like action games with super heroes, especially those with Batman. Batman AO is a prequel with some unique features and some other stuff that you may recognise from the series.

Usually, I m afraid of prequels, both in movies & games. Producers and developers have to give something more than a good story so that fans would forget the chronological discontinuity. You won t read any spoilers, but I will try to give you an insight of the worth to mention things (good or bad) that I found during the first 15 hours of gameplay.

A pretty and unique atmosphere adds to the game the movie environment many games are lacking. The environment is huge, more than any other game in Batman series but its lifeless. There are tons of stuff to do in this game which will keep you busy for many hours!

The mechanics of the game are nice but still the same as in Arkham Asylum, except one addition which CSI fans will enjoy. Detective mode is an addition where Batman investigates the crime scenes. Although the mechanics in investigation are pretty simple you will enjoy it, especially where you watch the pieces of the reconstructed crime. Battling animations, counterattacking criminals, free flow combat, new gadgets and new enemy types will add to the depth of the action in this game. Especially boss fightings are amazing and lacking in nothing in comparison with other same style games. Also, in this game, you will find a very welcome addition; this is a multiplayer mode, which is fun and will keep you busy while you want to take a break from the main story.

The biggest let down is that the core of Batman Origins gives you the idea of a deeply predictable game. Besides the series fans (including me), this game won t increase the fan base since it doesn't offer anything truly innovative except a great story. Batman voice has changed but not for the better; though, you will find Joker's voice amazing

PROS:
+ Very good story
+ Combat mechanism
+ Multiplayer

CONS:
+ Lacking new innovative features
+ Investigation mode is a nice idea but not a complete one

OVERALL:
I m a fan of this series and I couldn't miss that one, nor you should do. If you played Arkham Asylum and you loved it, this is a game for you; If you didn' t like it or Batman is not "your hero" look for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Delivery spot on, game itself left a lot to be desired, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
The game arrived promptly and in good condition, so no complaints there.

As for the game itself, it's a copy-paste of Arkham City which in itself was good but rather than an expansion this feels like a step back. Some problems that stand out with gameplay are a city design which makes it hard to remain airborne, free flow combat which doesn't flow fluidly as it did in previous instalments and repetitive side-missions. Also the story itself contains several major plot holes and it marginalises several of the assassins it spends so much effort building up at the start.

A meh sequel to some excellent games. Let's hope it comes back up to standard when Rocksteady take over again for the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this, 14 Nov 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
The Arkham games created by Rocksteady tops the list as my favourite franchise on any platform. I bought Arkham Asylum and Arkham City upon the day of their release and so far are the only games for which I have purchased DLC.

So when Arkham Origins was announced I was immediately excited (and, I admit, a little nervous when I saw the developers were not Rocksteady but a different company). I purchased the game on the day of release, not reading any reviews as I had the complete faith in the franchise and also wanted to avoid spoilers.

Now I wish I had waited and done some research on the product. WB Montreal have published what can only be described as a half-finished, broken product.

The glitches that infest this game are too many to list and an alarmingly large amount of them are absolutely game-breaking, ensuring that the player is stuck and unable to continue the game. In just 10 hours of gameplay spread out over 8 days I ran into following bugs and glitches:

a free-fall glitch (game breaking)
frozen screen (game breaking)
corrupted save files (game breaking)
missing save files (game breaking)
miscoloration of screen during certain sequences
dialogue/sound that didn't match Picture
teleporting/glitching enemies
darkening of the screen

When any of the game breaking glitches occured I had to start over and when my game froze on my 7th attempt to complete the game (I never managed to finish it) I simply gave up. Going through the message boards on the official game site I saw that a lot (and I mean A LOT) of people experienced the same glitches I did and indeed many others that I have thankfully been spared. WB Montreal (the developers) treat the issues raised with silence and so far no action has been taken to correct or fix the problems. No player has been offered any compensation and been denied refunds both from WB Montreal and the store where they purchased the game. I suspect the game was put out in a rush and therefore in an unfinished state (with the developers being fully aware of the faults since they can't possibly have missed this during testing... if any testing was actually done). The glitches, along with many other in-game issues that aren't actually bugs but seem like half-finished missions and situations, solidify my suspicion that the game was raced to release to get ahead of the next-gen consoles' release.

Aside from the bugs, glitches and related issues; the story (or the amount I actually managed to complete) seems bland and uninspired with a few highlights. I like the design of the characters and the environment. Most moves, gadgets and missions are more or less carbon copies of Arkham City's moves, gadgets and missions but I can live with that. What really annoys me also though, is the decision to alter the combat system which has been one of the franchise's great strengths. It now feels restrictive, heavy and without flow. I gave this game 1 star... without the various bugs and glitches I would happily have given it 3 maybe even 4... but I did not pay 75$ to be a beta-tester for a half-finished product.

This game is now the reason why I will never again pre-order or buy a game upon release date, I will wait for reviews and bug/damage reports. It is, by far, the most expensive frisbee I have ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok..., 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
I was really looking forward to this game, only to find myself bored and annoyed at times. It does have that look that the two previous instalments had, but it doesn't feel the same. I know, different developers were making this game, but still. It supposed to be on the same level, but it just couldn't live up to its 'ancestors'. It does look stunning, but there's also more bugs and glitches. The first boss fight is a pain in the a.. too, with its repetitiveness...Could have been so much better, but it's still not 'that' bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hours of fun, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Lindsey Cartlidge (Cornwall , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) (Video Game)
my daughter loved this game played it and thought it was really good especially if you love batman like my daughter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman Arkham Origins (PS3)
Batman Arkham Origins (PS3) by Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews