Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why change a winning formula?
Ok, so the story is a little predictable but so what? It's still a whole new story with new things to do and new (some of them) people to remove from the streets of Gotham.

The combat system hasn't changed, the gadgets haven't changed (much - the exception being shock gloves) and the overall atmosphere of the game hasn't changed. That, dear readers, is a good...
Published 18 months ago by James

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same...
The first two games in this series were probably the most exciting, fun and beautifully crafted games i've had the pleasure to play.
With Rocksteady handing over the reins I had my worries about the direction the game would take. Fortunately WBIE know a good thing when they see at and didn't meddle. But that decision comes with a downside, there is little innovation...
Published 18 months ago by Gez Errico


‹ Previous | 110 11 1225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crash, crash and crash again., 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My partner and I are huge fans of this series of games and were rurally looking forward to the release of this new chapter. We were a bit hesitant about ordering this latest edition because of the change over in developers. Rocksteady had made the first two such beautiful and involving games. When we learned that the title had been handed over to someone else, we feared that the series would go the same way as the Halo series. For those that are unfamiliar, the Halo games have been taken out of the safe and skilled hands of Bungee and given to some "new" developer who made the game total crap that we finished in less than 24 hours. Not what you ant form a £30+ game.

Meanwhile back in Gotham I'm happy to report that the new developers had made the scenery of the new Gotham with it's massive sprawling maps just as beautifully rich in is detail and squalor every bit as good if not better than the preceding games. The cinematic scale and ambition of the cutscenes are incredible. The plot was equally rich, gripping and engaging despite being a prequel to those that have gone before (and lets face it prequels rarely offer anything new to a story and are usually pail cash-ins on the originals. The new Star Wars films. Need I say more?)

This however is where the good news ends. The game itself crashes continually. Seriously annoying especially if you had just completed a major chunk of plot and hadn't either manually or auto saved. every time we played it the thing would crash. Our record was 5 times in one evening. it's just not what you expect from an item which has had almost as much wealth and backing as Bruce Wane himself. Seriously guys sort it the ***k out! The game was woefully inadequately tested before release. At least Rcoksteady had the decency to delay release till they had debugged their versions.

This just became so painful to play as you never quite knew if you'd make it to the end of what you were doing before it crashed. It totally ruined the game which is a real shame as when alls said and done it was actually a really good game in the end but Oh My GOD did it try your patients. We looked online to find out if others were having issues too and it seems that, in the catalogues of coding cockups, we were getting off lightly on the 360 platform. The PC version was catastrophically worse.

My advice would be don't buy this game…. yet, especially if it's intended as a gift for a younger gamer. There way well be tears when an afternoons work is suddenly lost due to sloppy finishing from the games architects. Wait a while and let the developers finish what they clearly didn't have the time to do before the game was released. Let them get the patches to fix all the issues this game has. If the developers somehow wind up reading this, GET BUSY AND SORT IT OUT!!! There are hundreds of flaws that are spoiling an otherwise great game so sort them out.

It's a real shame. I'll look forward to playing this again in 6 months or so when they have fixed it but that first sense of wonder at he game's world will be lost. Till then it'll just gather dust like a broken toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Rocksteady's level of awesome, 7 Nov. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a massive fan of Batman and what Rocksteady brought to the game, I was disappointed with this. Not because of the story, that was in fact excellent. No, it was because of the numerous bugs in this game! I have the 360 version and have lost count of the amount of times it has crashed on me and left me with a corrupt save file which meant I had to start again!! Known glitches for the 360 version. Developers should stop this practice of releasing buggy games and patching them later. It has left a sour taste in my mouth as the game itself is good when it's running as a game should! I believe there is now a patch for it, which is why I have scored it 3 stars. But it should never have been released until it was ready, whether that be because of internal pressure at WB to get it out before the PS4 and Xbox One release is irrelevant! Make the game properly FIRST time around!
All the core game play is still there, you don't fix what isn't broken but I do wish they had played around a bit more with Batman gadgets. Instead of a ice grenade you have a glue grenade which is pretty much the same thing as Arkham City! They should have played around with the gadgets more to keep it fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Game Save Corruption Issues, 30 Oct. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Don't buy it until WB_Games have fixed the game save corruption issues. I have just lost my 20 hour game save which has gotten corrupted.
Lots of other issues about bugs & glitches in the game. It was rushed to retail with little or no testing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars young batman, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Good game. Preffered arkh city though. This game lacks the stealth element. Probably because there saying he's young so not as skilled...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought this for my other half for Christmas and he absolutely loved the game all the way through. Definitely worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Have loved the whole series, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Fantastic.Have loved the whole series.Not easy to get to grips with at first i think,but stick with it.Its well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it anyway., 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A great game but unfortunately still sits in the shadow of its older brother/son? Arkham City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The fact that Rocksteady and original voice cast was missing from the game, I was a bit curious as to how much would change and a bit skeptical as to whether or not to buy the game.

I will now admit that I am greatly pleased I did buy it. The gameplay (the fighting and gadgets) haven't been tampered with, which to me works well, so I was already use to the controls. The graphics in their own way have been improved and I now feel old remembering how much the graphics have changed since owning a Sega Megadrive in the ninetees.

What I do love about the game (Sorry if this is a Spoiler) is that Detective Mode has been improved and Batman is able to bring a crime scene to life, literally and can rewind/fast forward the crime so that any extra evidence can be found.

The voice cast as I said earlier has changed, but to be honest, I cant really tell much difference and knowing the actor who played Ezio in Assassins Creed is playing Batman, justifies the change.

Overall, to me its a brilliant game, more characters have appeared that wasn't included in the previous two and there are many side missions to complete, helping the Bat go from a nobody to a legend. Even Multiplayer has been included. The only bad thing to me, is the game being a prequel, (Its a stupid point to make but I cant really think of anything to criticize it with).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
excellent game, i love and came a day earlier than i expected it so i was very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars was really happy when he got this has a gift, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Game played by my son, well played, was really happy when he got this has a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360)
Batman: Arkham Origins (Xbox 360) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Xbox 360)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews