Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever evolution
I get the point that other reviews convey about the departure from the previous sound and why it's hard to accept but I found the album a positive evolution to a more mature and interesting sound. The songs are not frantic or loud but have a rich layer apon layer of electronic and vocal build that mark this album as an interesting listen. I for one am sold on this...
Published on 28 April 2013 by Aly cat 50

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but............
this certainly doesn't have the energy of Fever To Tell but after a few hearings its quite nice, except "nice" wasn't what I was looking for from these guys.
Published 5 months ago by John P.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever evolution, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito (MP3 Download)
I get the point that other reviews convey about the departure from the previous sound and why it's hard to accept but I found the album a positive evolution to a more mature and interesting sound. The songs are not frantic or loud but have a rich layer apon layer of electronic and vocal build that mark this album as an interesting listen. I for one am sold on this development and the maturity of sound that it brings. Be interesting to see what they do next. If you wan music to be meaningful and no just instantly gratuitous this is definitely worth a spin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes yes yes!, 3 Oct. 2013
By 
B. Sugden "armaitus" (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito (Deluxe) [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Superb! Emotive, vibrant and melodic from the first track.

I honestly haven't been struck by an album in this way since first hearing PJ Harvey's Stories from the City, "Stories from the Sea".

An positive evolution from their earlier releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasitc albumn, 3 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito (MP3 Download)
My first introduction to the Yeahs after I heard "Despair" on the radio. Atmospheric, great lyrics, a great album - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 May 2013
By 
A. McBurnie "Alex" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito (MP3 Download)
Awesome. Sexy voice, sexy music, Can't believe they have kept up this level of quality for another album. Yeah Yeah Yeah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars YEAH YEAH YEAHS DELIVER AGAIN WITH "MOSQUITO", 5 May 2013
This review is from: Mosquito (MP3 Download)
The Yeah Yeah Yeahs much like fellow New Yorkers The Strokes are no strangers to straying from their early garage rock roots by incorporating keyboards and drum machines into their already aggressive sound. Album number 4 "Mosquito" continues the trend by possibly being the bands most upbeat and poppiest album to date, all this despite the turmoil that the separate members had been going through including guitarist Nick Zinners separation and Karen O's Identity crisis!!

The album begins with the lead single "Sacrilege" which shows that Karen O can still delivering a spine-tingling shriek as good as anyone and that Nick Zinner still knows the right time to make his guitar scream, the song reaches a choir backed climax as well as featuring a risqué video starring supermodel Lilly Cole. The dreamy "Subway" cleverly features Karen O singing over the sound of a train on the tracks. The title track "Mosquito" starts off sounding like Deee-Lites "Grooves is In the Heart" and shows how far the band have come since their debut EP and album as it features a thumping funky bass throughout the song provided by regular collaborator TV On The Radios David A. Sitek who also produces a number of the tracks on the album.

The band still knows how to do a three minute punk rock song with a twist in the form of "Area 52" which is yes it is influenced by Aliens! It features some great drumming by Brian chase and a shrieking guitar from Zinner. Interestingly the band include some rapping on the track "Buried Alive" from Kool Keith or Dr. Octagon as he is calling himself here it's a track full of background effects. The track "Despair" wouldn't have sounded out of place on their second album "Show Your Bones" as it bears a resemblance to the song "Cheated Hearts".

For a band that are only a three piece they sure are able to sound a whole lot bigger as well as with each album they seem to evolve just that small bit more. It would have been easy for the Yeah Yeah yeahs to keep releasing albums like their brilliant debut "Fever To Tell" throughout their career and get away with it but no just like album number 3 "It's Blitz!" they continue to experiment with different styles with great success and "Mosquito" follows in that path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but............, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito (MP3 Download)
this certainly doesn't have the energy of Fever To Tell but after a few hearings its quite nice, except "nice" wasn't what I was looking for from these guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hit and miss, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito (MP3 Download)
some great songs on here -if you like ones such Turn Into from earlier in their career there are some that hit those heights. others like Area 54 are pretty terrible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as ever, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito (MP3 Download)
The YYY's third album and I'm still as impressed as the first time I heard them. Each album brings something different and this is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews