Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thievery Corporation's Chilled out international beats, 18 Dec 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best the Thievery Corporation get as they join names such as Les Baxter , De Lata and Jazzanova. Without a doubt the whole sound is outclassed by the distinctive rhytmic vibes of The Thievery Corporation.There's pure chilled quality here in just over an hour of short tracks.The Thievery are at there peak on this DJ kicks collection bringing out there ethnic rhythms and drum beats from Asian symphonies to African style drumming and ragga Jamaican dub blending with polished sound effects and chants of a 60's detective style film sound track . But the emphasis on this release seems to be the powerfull percussion make sure you turn up your hi-fi's treble for this. This is a must for all chill out music fans and the perfect sound track of international chilled grooves shuffle around the floor to the cool beats or sit them out .Where Fila Brazilia excell in electronic sounds Thievery excell in rhythms and beats. One of the hottest sounds I've heard this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 May 2001
By A Customer
This and the K&D album are the best of an amazing series of mixed beats Cds. Where K&D is dark and moody, Thievery Co. have produced an album you can dance and smoke to. Going from suped-up dub to indian vibes to bongo-led African tunes, this is fantastic. If you've never heard of Thievery, start here. If you've never heard of dj:kicks, get this and the K&D album. C'est tout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome - but beware..., 28 Jan 2009
By 
R. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
totally agree with everyone else. this (like every other TC album) is an absolute blinder.

but beware - this is EXACTLY the same album as the 1999 DJ Kicks thievery corp cd that shows just below this one in the list if you do a search for them - the only difference is that this one has a cardboard sleeve round it. take it out of that - everything is the same.

so if like me you get over-excited when you see something you think you don't have - check the track listings ! (ok so most normal people probably do, but just in case there are any other numpties out there like me i thought i'd let you know).

groove on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More class grooves..., 28 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like their Austrian peers, Kruder & Dorfmeister, Thievery Corporation know how to mix and, like K&D, their "DJ Kicks" album is a class act in both its production and its selection of tracks. More down-tempo than K&D's offering but equally interesting in its sequencing, it scans a broader palette of styles from bossa-nova, through Indian sitars to deep Jamaican dub. Sounds like a disaster waiting to happen?... well, not here, because in these guys' hands each track is integrated seamlessly into an hour long musical journey that's held together by lock-tight beats and overlays. Genuinely interesting and perfectly crafted it's another example of just how good "laid-back" club music can be in the hands of people who know what's out there and how it should be delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 110% THIEVERY, 26 Nov 2014
THIS PURE THIEVERY AT IT'S FINEST! When I say pure thievery I mean that, although there are many other artists on here you are getting the flavours and ingredients you would expect from their finest productions. The dopest yet chilled beats, asian, bossa, latin, dub and hints of jazz mashed beautifully for those special chilled moments. I think everyone needs a copy of this because when you explore underground music you have to understand where some of it's roots come from. This is raw, pure smokin material. Where ever you go you can take this puppy and it will do as it's told over in the corner whilst you get your mind altering party off to a grand start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DJ-KICKS, THIEVERY CORPORATION, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Tracey Newell (Dubai) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant - that's it, just brilliant. Bought it at Xmas this year and have since ordered further 9 titles!! Just gutted I found them this late!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diversity in music, 19 Jun 2001
By 
One of my favourite albums of the year. This is ambient music at its finest. Every track is smooth, elegant and highly engaging. It deserves 5 stars for its range of styles alone. Buy this and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulously flawless!, 11 July 2008
By 
Stephen Holmes (Willesden Green, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As with a good wine ageing well so this album from 1999 is tasting just great to me having stumbled across it in a sale only 9 years later! The Thievery Corporation excel in blending together so many 'world music' sounds so seamlessly over laid back trippy beats and this offering is just perfect. Its packed with so many good vibes you could confidently leave the whole 60 minutes worth on for the chillout phase of any cool party. Its perfect for any time of day really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inventive, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love eclectic trance/prog, what can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow man., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you already know this duo then you'll know the mix will be smooth,languid and relaxing with some nifty tunes,if you don't know them,you should,a soothing anti-dote to the harshness of lifes daily grind and noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DJ-Kicks
DJ-Kicks by Thievery Corporation
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews