Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resonates with western audiences and culture better than any other anime,, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Because Cowboy Bebop was heavily influenced by western sci-fi greats and music, it does away with almost every anime cliche in the book. The end result is the perfect marriage of what makes anime great, and what makes western sci-fi great.

The good -

The story and script is perfect. Shocking moments, amazing and hilarious dialogue, great characters. EVERY corner of the storytelling puts other anime and TV shows to shame. Action in this is masterful - certain fight scenes are done so well that I found myself rewinding the episode just to watch it again.

The art style and direction is jaw-dropping. There are so many memorable scenes where you'll think "this could be a painting!". All the ships, locations and characters look original and just plain cool.

The music is probably my favorite part of the show. It's a mix of neo-noir jazz and 90's indie rock, but with a few other genres thrown in. Every music track is used expertly and fits the scene so damn well. You'll find yourself grinning at how well the music accompanies certain scenes.

The bad -

what?

Conclusion -

There is a reason this is considered the greatest anime that ever lived. It throws away everything you know and hate about anime, but keeps everything you love. It combines everything great about western and eastern TV into a sprawling sci fi epic. Dark action and themes have never been married so well to feelgood comedy and characters. Music, art and atmosphere has never been so perfectly achieved. I literally cant find enough words to describe this masterpiece. Just buy it!

oh, and the english dub is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anime classic now on Blu-ray!, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was waiting years for the Blu-ray edition of one of my fav. anime series and the waiting is over thanks to the efforts of people from Anime Limited.
I have to say that this edition is done very good. The packaging is solid and with very nice box art. The extra mini artbook with designs from CB is also a nice addition to the set.
If it goes about the picture and soud quality then it's on very high level. For a anime made in 1998 the picture quality is excellent and it pleases my eyes.Audio is also very solid and good made.
Overall if you are a Cowboy Bebop fan or fan of the classic anime hits then I highly recommend this BR edition of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality future noir, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This series is a successful blending of hard sci fi and pulp crime.

The story gradually unfolds, introducing you to the various players before drawing you towards a gripping conclusion.

This first part of the series contains a number of excellent stand alone episodes, as well as some excellent stories furthering the plot and fleshing out the background of our protagonists. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-touched Classic, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I brought this thinking that it was going to be the same as the dvd but I was soooo wrong.
The animation is so much smoother and clearer, it looks brand new, when you watch the DVD's it looks its age but with this HD upgrade everything looks so much better. Which is just want I like.
I don't know if its just me but the sound quality is a lot better as well I found.
I don't have anything negative to say about this apart from a little graphic glitch on the second or third episode but its a blink and you'll miss it, its nothing wrong but some people have moaned about it and said its ruined the collection. It doesn't, not even close, your too wrapped up in watching it to notice anyway.

You get a nice little art-book as well as the stylish Blu-ray case, it shows early looking concept work for all the characters, inc. an alternative Ed, glad they stuck with the Ed we all know. But its very worthwhile getting even if you have the DVD's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3,2,1, Lets jam..., 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
ive only just started watching anime since the release of attack on titan, so i figured i would start with the classics. and after watching it, i can safely say that it is one of my favourites. the show is about a group of bounty hunters led by ex-cop Jet Black and smooth ladies man Spike Spiegel, accompanied by Faye Valentine, A con-woman with an unknown past and everyone's favourite goof ball, Ed.

the show, while short. is still an action-packed masterpiece. and after viewing i have suggested this too all my friends. even those that don't watch anime, and so i decided to this review hoping to convince you all to pick this up, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Apart from the miss print on the disc's this release is pretty much perfect. Its presented in its original aspect ratio which is always good. The picture quality is fantastic except for the cg parts which I believe they did not have the masters for so its understandable and they dont look too bad anyway. Audio is fantastic and the English dub is great. 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Great on Blu Ray, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Others have reviewed the story before. In terms of the blu-ray itself it looks great with a great 'insert' design for the Blu-Rays. Some of the early CGI does not seem to be in HD (a problem some old TV shows seem to have), though the handrawn animation looks gorgeous and is definitely worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a box set, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love this anime and how better to see it than in blu ray, I have watched it twice now and I must say, great price and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic series beautifully upgraded to HD quality, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Kriss (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I don't think I have to recommend Cowboy Bebop to anyone. If you are into anime you must know the series, if you want to know what anime is Bebop is good place to start. Ultimate classic of animation with great characters, good action, loads of humour and wonderful music.
New Blu-ray release is outstanding, picture quality is beautiful. Don't be surprised if when you open your box you'll find VHS tape (Great idea for packaging ;). First box set contains 13 episodes of the series as well as artbook and handful of extras (japanese Blu-ray and DVD trailers, clear closing credits, 2 videos to song Tank and it's remix, commentaries to some episodes). Could be bit better with extras, wouldn't mind interviews or "making of" but it's good anyway. Release includes brilliant english dubbing as well as original japanese track with english subtitles.
Anime Limited first release shows class and quality. Thank you and all the best with future releases. Bebop on Blu-ray deserves 5 stars! Do not hesitate, just BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The picture quality is clashing every now and then., 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've picked this series up because I heard great things about it and it's true, this is awesome and anyone who's looking for a good time, matured/adult-themed anime series then this is the one to go for.

The picture quality remastered in HD looks absolutely stunning but sometimes when the lower quality appears it's rather unpleasant to the eye as you can easily tell that's not HD and it breaks the consistency of having it all in HD.

In terms of packaging it stands out as some of the best I've ever owned, the box is made of high quality sturdy paper, as for the disc case holders they're pretty good and then there's the booklet with info about the series' info and characters. This is definitely the release to go for if you want to watch Cowboy Bebop at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray]
Cowboy Bebop Collectors Edition Part 1 [Blu-ray] by Shinichirô Watanabe (Blu-ray - 2013)
£19.90
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews