Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of 2013 (So Far), 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (MP3 Download)
This has got to be one of the best debut albums I've heard so far this year, an certainly the most wild, insane and immensely entertaining. Melt Yourself Down is very hard to pin down genre wise, although it does merge together elements of Jazz, Electronic and Dance Music with a rather middle eastern feel and raw punk energy, all of which make for a particularly fine, not to mention explosive album.

This is certainly true of the first half of the album, where all of the tracks are upbeat, riddled with infectious, danceable hooks, but at the same time these tracks are quite experimental and certainly daring. A lot of them feature very few vocals, which I think works in their favour as vocalist Kushal Gaya seems to work best delivering short bursts of lyrics, roars and yelps rather than dominating the songs, as evidenced in the second half on 'Free Walk' which is rather mellow in comparison to the rest of the album and focuses a lot more on the vocals.

Aside from 'Free Walk' however, every other track on the album is a winner, particularly the singles, 'Fix My Life' and 'Release' but also the very middle eastern feeling 'Kingdom of Kush' and the stunning, riotous finale that is 'Camel.' Over all this is a thoroughly enjoyable, accessible but also unique album and well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infectious Jazz/Funk with hints of early Santana, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (Audio CD)
Tuned into Jools Holland recently just as this band were getting going with the amazing "We are Enough" and they were having so much fun. I immediately pre-ordered the album, so thanks Jools!!! When the album's playing, it's almost impossible to keep still and Latin dancers will want to get up and party. At time it feels like it comes from the town square in Salvador where Michael Jackson filmed but at other times it takes you around the world. The prominent rhythms are fast and loose Latin/African but 2 numbers (Tuna and Camel) hint of the middle-eastern bazaars. One of the most interesting new sounds I've heard in years - can't wait for them to get together again for another outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Funk-Jazz-World Dance Album, 19 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (Audio CD)
I stumbled upon this album by absolute chance, and being a fan of new music, I gave the album a listen. What. An. Album.
This album seems to combine everything into one 35 minutes package. There's Jazz, Funk, World, Rock, Punk, and quite a few more influences in there, and the opening half is absolutely non-stop. It's intense.
Pete Wareham, of Acoustic Ladyland is fantastic on the saxophone, and is showcased on so many tracks, such as my favourite from the album, 'Fix My Life', which features the saxophone right at the forefront of the uptempo Jazz-Funk-YouNameIt madness.
The album mellows a little bit during the tracks, 'Free Walk', and 'Mouth to Mouth', although these are still fantastic tracks, especially 'Free Walk', which has it's african music influence right to the fore. There isn't much in the way of lyrics on offer with this album, but it more than makes up for that with the sheer variety of instrumentation.
Sorry if I've not described what this album sounds like very well, but it really is an album that you have to listen to; no review is ever going to do it justice. A little bit of me wants this album to stay a bit unknown, because then I'd know all about this secret gem of an album, but really I want everyone to experience it.
I'm so glad I found this album and band; they just blew me away. I'd give it 6 stars if I could. I really really really want to see this performed live. One of the best of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Find, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (Audio CD)
I thank the curry advert, for allowing me to be aware of this album. A Great C/D for a car drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hot and sweaty skajazzfunkbeats :), 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (Audio CD)
I heard one of the tracks in passing. That earworm, and the pedigree of the musicians, led me to take a punt. Well worth it. This is a quality slice of African-drenched ska / jazz / funk /beats. Fresh, rough, noisy and thoroughly enjoyable, this band could easily crossover from niche jazz to ska to full on dance. I would love to attend a live gig with this lot in a sweaty dance club. Adrian Sherwood should get together with this outfit and I'd bet the result would be a home run. Can't make it 5 out of 5 as IMO the overall package lacked a bit in the middle. Nevertheless, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (MP3 Download)
Saw this on Jools Holland and had to but it soon after, also saw them in concert just after buying this. GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exhilarating!, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (Audio CD)
Short (35 minutes) but exhilarating, this is perhaps 'Acoustic Ladyland goes World' with all the verve of that band, by Acoustic Ladyland / Polar Bear sax player Pete Wareham and other musicians (sax, bass, drums, percussion) including Polar Bear's Leafcutter John on electronics. North African rhythms dominate and the whole experience is addictive, doused thoroughly with electronics and vocal echo but mainly honking saxes and heavy bass driven by wild percussion. Phew! It sounds as near to a live set as it could get.
A sweet, slim double gatefold card package wraps the CD giving the feel you got from vinyl albums back in the day, with not a plastic insert in sight; the cover graphic image is in various colours too. Melt yourself now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have an open Mind!!, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (MP3 Download)
I like trying different genres - and this is for your ears only! I enjoyed it...go on...what's the worst that can happen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Energy, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (Audio CD)
This is a great album, that has great energy and generally sounds great. The second half of the album is slightly weaker but I still give this 5 stars as the first few songs (Fix My Life and Release) are so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steamy duelling sax over a driving bangra beat - fantastic, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt Yourself Down (Audio CD)
Just the best sax playing you will hear this year - but against a musical background as surprising as it is brilliant. Get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melt Yourself Down
Melt Yourself Down by Melt Yourself Down (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews