Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On The Outside Looking In
This four parter 'Luther' series satisfies some of what I hoped Luther would become. It seems John Luther, played by Idris Elba, the rogue policeman, is his description, will always be on the outside looking in. The man who cares too much about the crimes of injustice, just does not have enough time to look for his own life. That seems to be the way with the stand out...
Published 2 months ago by prisrob

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best series.
I thoroughly enjoy Luther, it is dark and edgy, but this 3rd season felt somewhat flat. What spoiled it for me was the storyline of Gray and Stark who are convinced that Luther is a crooked cop and set out to "get him", this was always going to go nowhere and it did, they even arrested him without any evidence, it felt very amateurish. I was glad to see Alice Morgan make...
Published 9 months ago by mark from OZ!!


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On The Outside Looking In, 13 Jun 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This four parter 'Luther' series satisfies some of what I hoped Luther would become. It seems John Luther, played by Idris Elba, the rogue policeman, is his description, will always be on the outside looking in. The man who cares too much about the crimes of injustice, just does not have enough time to look for his own life. That seems to be the way with the stand out English Detective series, something keeps these cops from fulfilling their lives.

This time, Luther has a lot going on. He has an old murder case that has come alive, and quite a strange one at that. John Stark from another detective series, has come out of retirement to pursue Luther for who knows what. Someone in Internal Affairs has a thing about Luther. This part of this series was so far fetched, in my opinion, it never should have been included. It detracted from anything sensible, and the unbridled violence from Stark was not conducive to the tale. Luther's partner may be off track, and Luther really wants to share his life with someone. Luther is an excellent detective, knows his job, but seems to have very little insight into himself.

And, then, along comes Alice Morgan, played by Ruth Wilson, that delicious sociopath. The killer who loves Luther or something like that. She brightens up the series with her wit and cleverness. She is exactly what the series was missing. I loved watching her, Ruth Wilson can become her character, the look, the wink, the raise of the eyebrow. This woman deserves a show of her own. But back to Luther, Alice can do what Luther can't, and the combination makes a perfectly fine pair. After the violence and the guns and the nails, we settle down to Luther doing what he does best.

Recommended. prisrob 06-13-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is nothing better than Luther, 24 July 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The sublime Luther is back with this third series and is as gritty and brutal as ever. The BBC show some real guts with this programme. An outstanding production superbly written and acted.

In essence this is no different to the plethora of cop dramas out there but the atmosphere and style that Luther exudes is immense. An urban, dark version of London full of fear. It feels grimy and realistic. There is no glossing here.

Idris Elba is simply stunning as detective John Luther. He is immensely watchable and holds your attention every moment he is on the screen. His sometimes questionable actions and emotional reactions make him a very human and relatable character.

There are the usual familiar faces and Alice makes a welcome return for the explosive finale.

There could be fears that a third series would start to run out steam. Not so here. The first two episodes are perfect exercises in pure horror. You will be guaranteed to be checking under your bed at night. The second two episodes have real emotional weight and an actual feeling that you don't really know what is going to happen. All bets are off, every character is in the firing line.

An astounding achievement and one of the best dramas the BBC has ever produced. It is a shame there are only four episodes. Looking forward to the next series already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice in Lutherland, 24 July 2013
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have enjoyed every series of Luther. It is dark, at times nasty but it is always compelling. To be totally honest, I didn't think that this third series was any better than the first two series but it gained a tremendous lift in the final episode. It was the reappearance of the wonderful Alice Morgan, played with great relish by the excellent Ruth Wilson. Alice is a terrific character, psychotic with a touch of brilliance as she dominated pretty much every scene she was in and she is a superb foil for Luther.

Right now, Luther is just about the best cop show on TV. Idris Elba is a very strong prescence and it is impossible to imagine anyone else in the role. Let's hope there is more to come as there is plenty of life left yet but I'm not sure if Luther and Alice should become an item. In fact, they definitely shouldn't as their relationship would lose it's edge. Top quality drama at it's very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best series., 18 Nov 2013
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoy Luther, it is dark and edgy, but this 3rd season felt somewhat flat. What spoiled it for me was the storyline of Gray and Stark who are convinced that Luther is a crooked cop and set out to "get him", this was always going to go nowhere and it did, they even arrested him without any evidence, it felt very amateurish. I was glad to see Alice Morgan make an appearance in the final episode although I felt they should have made more use of her throughout the whole series as I feel the interplay between her and Luther adds an extra dimension and is what made the first 2 series so compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luther: I will miss you!, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved all the the series and this, the last one, didn't disappoint me either.

Luther is (was?) a very complex character and this combined with the excellent cases he faced, made this series one of my 3-4 all time favourite.
I will really miss Luther so I think there is no other thing for me to do than watch it one more time.

Fantastic series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you watched the first two series, what are you waiting for? Buy this!, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Love Luther, and not just because Mr Elba is so easy on the eye ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, gritty crime series, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Good, gritty crime series. Would recommend to crime lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for box set fans, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Love it....great acting, superb plots and the gorgeous Idris Elba.....can't get any better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVDs of Luther, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Superb series but not watched DVD yet as it was a present but understand it was thoroughly enjoyed. It's a must for anyone to see. Hope there'll be another series. Idris Elba is a fantastic actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as are the two previous series, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent as are the two previous series, but watch out the first two episodes of this series are absolutely terrifying!!! (I couldn't sleep!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Luther - Series 3 [DVD]
Luther - Series 3 [DVD] by Farren Blackburn (DVD - 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews