Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is nothing better than Luther
The sublime Luther is back with this third series and is as gritty and brutal as ever. The BBC show some real guts with this programme. An outstanding production superbly written and acted.

In essence this is no different to the plethora of cop dramas out there but the atmosphere and style that Luther exudes is immense. An urban, dark version of London full of...
Published 8 months ago by T. Cosens

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best series.
I thoroughly enjoy Luther, it is dark and edgy, but this 3rd season felt somewhat flat. What spoiled it for me was the storyline of Gray and Stark who are convinced that Luther is a crooked cop and set out to "get him", this was always going to go nowhere and it did, they even arrested him without any evidence, it felt very amateurish. I was glad to see Alice Morgan make...
Published 4 months ago by mark from OZ!!


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is nothing better than Luther, 24 July 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The sublime Luther is back with this third series and is as gritty and brutal as ever. The BBC show some real guts with this programme. An outstanding production superbly written and acted.

In essence this is no different to the plethora of cop dramas out there but the atmosphere and style that Luther exudes is immense. An urban, dark version of London full of fear. It feels grimy and realistic. There is no glossing here.

Idris Elba is simply stunning as detective John Luther. He is immensely watchable and holds your attention every moment he is on the screen. His sometimes questionable actions and emotional reactions make him a very human and relatable character.

There are the usual familiar faces and Alice makes a welcome return for the explosive finale.

There could be fears that a third series would start to run out steam. Not so here. The first two episodes are perfect exercises in pure horror. You will be guaranteed to be checking under your bed at night. The second two episodes have real emotional weight and an actual feeling that you don't really know what is going to happen. All bets are off, every character is in the firing line.

An astounding achievement and one of the best dramas the BBC has ever produced. It is a shame there are only four episodes. Looking forward to the next series already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice in Lutherland, 24 July 2013
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have enjoyed every series of Luther. It is dark, at times nasty but it is always compelling. To be totally honest, I didn't think that this third series was any better than the first two series but it gained a tremendous lift in the final episode. It was the reappearance of the wonderful Alice Morgan, played with great relish by the excellent Ruth Wilson. Alice is a terrific character, psychotic with a touch of brilliance as she dominated pretty much every scene she was in and she is a superb foil for Luther.

Right now, Luther is just about the best cop show on TV. Idris Elba is a very strong prescence and it is impossible to imagine anyone else in the role. Let's hope there is more to come as there is plenty of life left yet but I'm not sure if Luther and Alice should become an item. In fact, they definitely shouldn't as their relationship would lose it's edge. Top quality drama at it's very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best series., 18 Nov 2013
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoy Luther, it is dark and edgy, but this 3rd season felt somewhat flat. What spoiled it for me was the storyline of Gray and Stark who are convinced that Luther is a crooked cop and set out to "get him", this was always going to go nowhere and it did, they even arrested him without any evidence, it felt very amateurish. I was glad to see Alice Morgan make an appearance in the final episode although I felt they should have made more use of her throughout the whole series as I feel the interplay between her and Luther adds an extra dimension and is what made the first 2 series so compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need more quality programmes like this., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved it even if a little far-fetched at times! When is the next series happening? More quality programmes like this are required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best detective drama in years, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Outstanding third series, even better than the first two, that were gripping. Brilliantly written, with twists & turns, and superb actors. In particular, Idris Elba is amazing. Bring on the next series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best cop series ever, 5 April 2014
By 
Mr. S. Bailey (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Intriguing and original storylines, hard hitting scenes, quality acting with some fascinating personalities - it's one of the best cop series ever to hit the screens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I just cannot have enough, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a great fan of Idris Elba and the character Luther.
I believe it to be an ideal casting and although this is supposed the final series, I can only hope that something this superiour is brought back after the writer and makers realise what a loss to British TV Luther would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite out of the three, but still closely in line with what the show is all about., 27 Mar 2014
By 
H. Ahmed "Fiasco" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For some reason, I didn't find myself as drawn in to season 3 as I was with the first 2 seasons. However, Idris Elba still delivered as usual and the show has stayed true to it's premise. Would still definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Idris Elba!, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Stumbled across Luther on Netflix and fell in love with it. Only series 1 and 2 was available to stream, hence why I purchased this. Sad to watch the last ever Luther but it was a brilliant series and loved the fact Alice Morgan is back,. Heres hoping they hurry up and film the movie version soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth whatching,, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brillient film, really enjoyed it, :-) it is worth watching keeps you watching from start to the finish 5***** recermend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa14854e0)

This product

Luther - Series 3 [DVD]
Luther - Series 3 [DVD] by Farren Blackburn (DVD - 2013)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews