Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't let the cheesy cover put you off!
this is a FAB book. set in the north of england in the 80's when what little 'scene' there was is painted as being pretty grim to say the least. it's a love story written from the point of view of both characters (swapping chapter by chapter) - the 18 year old with an affair with a much older woman already under her belt and the (straight) social worker in her early...
Published on 22 April 2008 by the funky planner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was ok.
I think the story lacked content, although I did think it was sensitively written. I would read more by author .
Published 18 months ago by Ange


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't let the cheesy cover put you off!, 22 April 2008
This review is from: Boundaries (Paperback)
this is a FAB book. set in the north of england in the 80's when what little 'scene' there was is painted as being pretty grim to say the least. it's a love story written from the point of view of both characters (swapping chapter by chapter) - the 18 year old with an affair with a much older woman already under her belt and the (straight) social worker in her early thirties who takes her in for a friend when her parents kick her out. there's lots of tension, longing, a bit of action and many heart wrenching scenes - an interesting dilema for the social worker. a great read - i can't recommend it enough. wish she'd write some more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pitch Perfect, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boundaries (Kindle Edition)
To my shame, my first foray in to lesbian fiction - if this fabulous novel is anything to go by, it won't be my last. This is one to recommend to all your friends gay, lesbian or straight!

Seemingly without effort, Jane Ertzig conjures up a whole world by the deft deployment of just the right little detail at just the right time. This book plays like a movie in your head: First,there is the intensely visual evocation of a Northern Industrial town some thirty odd years ago. Then, there is the soundtrack to the novel that bounces you back to excruciating dinner parties with Mantovani or James Last playing in the background (yes - it was once considered 'chic'). Last but by no means least, Jane Ertzig has given life to really compelling characters - they are 'pitch perfect'!

'Boundaries' tackles head on the suffocating world of the 1970's in which, beneath the veneer of 'normality', unspoken and unspeakable passions seethed. Here we are transported back to a world where love was hidden and, starved of the light of day, it struggled to live. Jane Ertzig's novel beautifully captures the agony of young love and the torment of an older, responsible woman struggling with a passion and a love that feels so right and yet can seem so wrong. Jan and Elizabeth's tortured dance around one another is compelling reading: profoundly erotic, deeply sympathetic and powerfully sad but with a strand of hope that runs through the whole.

I loved Jan and Elizabeth - there are so many questions in my mind. If any book deserved a prequel, this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a story of hope and endless love, 20 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Boundaries (Paperback)
The story is written from both the main characters viewpoints alternately and works well.A tale of caring that turns,reluctantly at first,to lust and then love,while trying so hard to deny the feelings and emotions that both women are experiencing.It is a feelgood(eventually)book and just when you think there is no hope for them.....read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Ade (Chester, U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boundaries (Kindle Edition)
This was a brilliant book. In fact ever since I finished reading it (yesterday!), I haven't been able to stop thinking about it. The main characters are well developed and the whole story is quite gritty.

I would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 16 July 2013
This review is from: Boundaries (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book and was so easy to read, it was the first book I have ever read in the space of 3days. Definitely recommend but it is hard to put down... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FABULOUS READ, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boundaries (Kindle Edition)
I have to use that over used expression "I couldn't put it down" but I really couldn't. It was romantic and passionate and the main characters were so likable. It had a great storyline full of the ups and downs of their lives. I would love a sequel to this story as it's ending left me wanting to know more about them. I wait with bated breath for another book from this very talented author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true love story, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boundaries (Kindle Edition)
Beautiful. To be honest not much else to say about this but it won't let me submit review with only one word. It says it all though - beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boundaries (Kindle Edition)
This was what I call an easy read. The subject is dealt with in a gentle manner, any sex is written about where necessary, not gratuitously and without being over graphic. It was a real "page turner" and, unusually for me, I read it in two days. I look forward to more from Jane Retzig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cover design for a great read !, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boundaries (Kindle Edition)
Believable characters set in the gritty North of England.
A story of loneliness,passion,love and turmoil - I couldn't put it down .
A touching story ! Love the new cover illustration,very modern and sets the scene
for this poignant look at relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cat, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boundaries (Kindle Edition)
I liked this story, it kept me interested throughout but I thought it could have dragged out the happy ending a bit more...I was left wanting more...which is a good thing I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boundaries
Boundaries by Jane Retzig
£1.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews