Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:01 Mins
The lamp in the video is the companion lamp to this, the Disney Princess, but it shows the lamp in action (only the exterior decor differs between the two).

I have had the larger version for some time and love it and it attracts positive comments for mood lighting and party lighting. This smaller version is ideal for the bedroom, more...
Published 9 months ago by Keith Lawson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice but probably only for kids 6 and above
The livingcolours series is quite a nice touch to a modern living room - I like the fact that you can set it to swim through the different colours or you can adjust the colour based on your mood. They're great for parties or just for a romantic night in.

But then Philips go and stick Cars all over it and sell it for children. Marketing genius. And yes, I fell...
Published 8 months ago by Peter Roxburgh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice but probably only for kids 6 and above, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Peter Roxburgh (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The livingcolours series is quite a nice touch to a modern living room - I like the fact that you can set it to swim through the different colours or you can adjust the colour based on your mood. They're great for parties or just for a romantic night in.

But then Philips go and stick Cars all over it and sell it for children. Marketing genius. And yes, I fell for it.

My son (3.5 years) is currently obsessed with Cars so he was initially very excited with this and I thought it would be nice in his room. However, as another reviewer has mentioned, it is far far too bright to be a night light and sadly, for all its fanciness, Philips has not included the ability to adjust the brightness!

If it is not a nightlight then the only other purpose for its use for children is maybe when they are a bit older 5 - 6 and they play 'houses' or they make dens and they want their rooms to fit in with their imagination. My son isn't at that place yet and so this lives in our bedroom. I'll say no more.

Hope that helps :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent light, despite being flimsy and easily unbalanced, 28 Oct 2013
By 
b4-its-2-l8 (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This light give a lovely range of colours; blue, purple, violet, red, orange, yellow, green (forget about the idea of `choosing' between 64 distinct and different colours), what's on offer is basically the principal colours of the rainbow with subtle variations in between - and for me that's ideal. It's also very easy to use; within in moments of receiving it, my 25 month old son had worked out that touching the colour bar across the top changed the colour of the light.

Also, some reviewers have called this a 'night light', it's not, it's far too bright for that; a 'night light' in a darkened room should be bright enough only to see it plus its immediately surrounding area (perhaps about the brightness of a birthday cake candle) but it shouldn't illuminate too much else. This light is bright enough to illuminate of a good-sized double-bedroom whilst the remainder of the room can still be seen clearly enough without any additional lighting to avoid walking into furniture - again, this for me is not a problem either as we switch the light off before my son goes to sleep (we have to, he'll stay awake otherwise!), so it's definitely NOT a night light.

The lower half of this light is ball-shaped and balances on a flat disc, about 1.5" in diameter, which is a little too small for the bulkiness of the light and makes it a little unstable (unless you can get the power cord positioned just right, so as to act as a stabiliser) but even so, my son bumped the 2.5 foot tall unit this light was sitting on, which caused it to roll off and break in two on the floor (separating around the central seem). We put (snapped) it back together and the light still works although the `off' button can be a bit temperamental now, requiring a few attempts to make it work - and we've only had it for a week.

We have other Philips Colour-Changing lights and what lets this one down compared to them is it has no dimmer function and no remote controller; the lack of a dimmer is mainly an observation and not so much a grumble, but the most annoying bit is that without the remote, the touch-sensitive colour bar has been positioned across virtually the full width of the top of the light - which is precisely the area where it's most convenient to hold the light when repositioning it, meaning that it's incredibly easy to accidentally switch on each time it's moved, which we've already done half a dozen times, at the risk of waking your sleeping child.

All in all, it's a decent background/mood light despite the limitations mentioned above. However, if you're really not that fussed about having a Disney theme (and paying the premium tag to go with it) you can get the same light (minus the copyrighted graphics) for a better price e.g. Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp or even SPECIAL OFFER - Multicolour LED Mood Light with Touchscreen Scroll Bar - 256 colours - static or constantly randomly changing - WINTER SALE if you're looking for more than one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Keith Lawson (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Length:: 1:01 Mins

The lamp in the video is the companion lamp to this, the Disney Princess, but it shows the lamp in action (only the exterior decor differs between the two).

I have had the larger version for some time and love it and it attracts positive comments for mood lighting and party lighting. This smaller version is ideal for the bedroom, more compact and softer lighting. The video does not do it justice and my phone-camera does not handle the lowlight conditions well, but you will get the idea of the colour changing mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light fantastic, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Easy to use although the cycle through colours can be hit or miss as to whether it activates sometimes. The colour saturation is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun disco lights!, 27 Nov 2013
By 
White Eagle - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very good entertainment lamp for children. They use it to create disco lights for their room & provides loads of different colors across the rainbow range.

It has s slider on the back which you have to swipe with your fingers to get different colors, I found this swipe feature a bit tricky & it is a bit tacky (doesn't feel like very high quality for this price).
Plus the unit is quite light (it is not made of metal) & plasticky which in my view, makes this a poor value for money (hence minus 1 star). However this is good as it is more safe for children.
You can also push the on/off button for 5 seconds & it automatically changes the colors for you thus giving a nice ambient atmosphere.

I thought the light from the lamp is not very strong, it is rather soft & perhaps that is meant to be that way for the soft light effect but I was hoping to get a full-on color to light the whole room with. However, it is more for mood lighting.

The children I gave this to loved it & thought it was fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lighten up his room, 8 Nov 2013
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Our living room is lit by a variety of Philips LivingColors lights and they do a wonderful job of adding atmosphere to the room. This little light is basically a rebadged Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp with a stickers to personalise it for either boys as we have here ( Philips LivingColors 71704/32/26 5 Watt Plastic Micro, Disney Cars, Red ) or girls ( Philips LivingColors 71704/28/26 5 Watt Plastic Micro, Disney Princess, Pink ) It is best used as a highlighter or to add mood to a room. The light from the device is easily adjusted with a touch wheel on the unit but unlike some bigger units from Philips it lacks a remote control. although this is not really needed once the unit is positioned and set up.

That said, perhaps youngsters would haver enjoyed playing with a remote for their light and that might keep inquisitive fingers away from the lamp itself. As a light for a child's room it is safer than most as they low voltage coool running bulb is proteced from prying fingers by a plastic shield and although the lamp is mains powered the the voltage is stepped down to just 5 watts for the unit itself.

This lamp will add atmosphere to a child's room, is easy to set up, safe to use and not too costly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful!, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Babs (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a big fan of the Philips 'Living Colour' lamps so was intrigued to see this one, a micro and see where I could fit this into our existing collection of mood lamps.

It's quite a bit smaller than the 'mini' lamp, but has similar features but different controls. For example, the colour wheel is gone, and replaced with a strip of colour on which you run your fingers to change the colour of the light...its so easy!

I was very surprised to see that this can actually change the colour of the whole room, not just a small area. The best results are from placing the lamp inside a larger object (a box or vase) so that the light shines directly on the ceiling. It will then diffuse across the whole room. I used a heavy vase for safety because if this is dropped - it is finished (as I know to my cost when I dropped the full size version).

If used in a childs room I'd recommend it is kept on a shelf, shining upwards towards the ceiling. I personally would not leave this within reach of a child as it's quite irresistable as you could 'play' with this for hours - it's such fun! Obviously being an electrical item this would be a danger to young ones but a really cool addition for teens.

The lamp is well made,and solid, and this one is red with a cartoon print from 'Disney cars'. In my case it is not used in a childs room, but as the lamp is hidden in a vase the cartoon is no longer visible....just the light.

I paid over 250 for my previous 3 Mood lamps, so to get hold of such a powerful little lamp for under 30 and get a similar effect this is an absolute bargain!

It really does give the most amazing colours and its absolutely brilliant for creating atmosphere for parties as you can change your room from cool greens and yellows to warm pink, violet, or red. It really is fabulous. Even though I now have lots - I would still buy more...especially at this price!

Bear in mind, this is an atmosphere changing lamp, and not intended to be to give light to a room for reading and homework. I would absolutely recommend this lamp and shall be buying some as Christmas pressies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super little lamp, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Margaret Gallagher (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This offspring of the larger Philips Living Colour lamps is a little beauty. Does not have a remote control like the larger version, but a touch pad which turns the lamp on, enables you to choose the colour you want and to control things. Nice and easy for kids and parents to use. Great for learning about colours and the effects of light and shadow across the spectrum, for changing the colour of your room - and to enable parents to use colour to help manage their children's moods and emotions - particularly at bedtime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 19 Oct 2013
By 
L. E. Cooper "Lindsey" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This light is a complete winner for my Son he loves all the colours it's amazing! The light is brighter and larger than I expected and will be a fantastic nightlight especially the relaxing colour changing mode that has all the different colours. Just brilliant! Wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too bright to be a nightlight, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Emma W (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Micro Cars Children's Colour Changing Mood Light (Integrated 1 x 4.7 Watts LED Bulb, Touch Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This light is fairly expensive and in my opinion, is too bright to be a nightlight. There is a plastic diffuser over the bulb, but it still hurts your eyes to look at so it really needs to be directed towards a wall. That way it gives a wash of colour over the wall without being so in your face. To my mind, a nightlight is a very low level light which shines just enough to see where you're walking. This lights the whole room fairly brightly so would keep a child awake. It would really benefit from either containing a lower wattage bulb or having a dimmer switch. It would also be nice if there was a timer on it as it tends to get left on.

As it is, it's bright enough to be used in daylight and is quite fun for a child to be able to control the colour of the light but I think a dimmer and a timer would make it much more useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews