Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable.....
I had never heard of this film but was browsing Netflix a few days ago and decided to watch it. I found it enjoyable.
Iris is taking care of her brother who needs a bone marrow transplant. With no suitable donor and mounting medical bills she is struggling to make ends meet. When she is invited to a private dinner party where guests are invited to take part in a...
Published 3 months ago by Rebecca Thompson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS A PROCESS INVOLVED
Iris (Brittany Snow) has a brother who needs a bone marrow transplant. The creepy Shepard Lambrick (Jeffrey Combs) offers to pay for it if she wins a game of a sadistic "would you rather," one that we quickly discover is played to the death. 8 people are assembled in a dining room and forced at gun point. Since Iris is the only person we know anything about, everyone but...
Published on 4 May 2013 by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS A PROCESS INVOLVED, 4 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Would You Rather [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Iris (Brittany Snow) has a brother who needs a bone marrow transplant. The creepy Shepard Lambrick (Jeffrey Combs) offers to pay for it if she wins a game of a sadistic "would you rather," one that we quickly discover is played to the death. 8 people are assembled in a dining room and forced at gun point. Since Iris is the only person we know anything about, everyone but Scooby-Doo can figure this one out.

Amy, played by porn star Sasha Grey, is an aggressive player who immediately plays to win. Shepard has an obnoxious son (Robin Taylor) who insults the players.

There is a fairly decent intensity factor with this film, but it really doesn't stimulate the grey matter. The whole set up is rather inane. If you like the "ten little Indians" style movies with slasher elements, this one is satisfactory as long as you keep your expectations low. Perhaps 5 stars on a Red Box rental scale.

If you liked this film you might also like "Truth or Die" which I thought was superior.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, no sex or nudity. Attempted rape. Not an abundance of violence to women considering the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oddball horror flick with some good ideas but weak delivery, 28 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I watched this via Netflix a few days ago, being a bit of a horror/thriller film fan from time to time I try a title I've never heard of, having watched this though I can't honestly say I wasn't missing much.

The basic bones of the film isn't highly original being a bit of a "Saw" rip off with a nod to "Hostel" here and there too, though the film has some violence it's nowhere near as graphics as those. The story is based around "Iris" (Brittany Snow) who is desperate to save her sick brother Raleigh (Logan Miller) but can't afford the cost of finding a suitable bone marrow donor.

Dr. Barden (Lawrence Gilliard, Jr.) who is treating Raleigh kindly introduces her to Shepard Lambrick (Jeffrey Combs) a sadistic minded millionaire who offers her the chance to "win" in the game he is hosting at his luxury house (Dr. Barden being a prior winner of the contest hence the introduction)

Of course Iris accepts and is picked up to have dinner at Lambrick''s House, here she meets other contestants and Lambrick's son who seems to enjoy the proceedings as much as his father does. Lamrick's party trick is to get people to do things they don't really want to, or disagree with by offering them money, firstly he gets a former alcoholic to have a drink, then Iris a vegetarian decides $10,000 is enough to eat a bit of meat the guests are served with.

Once the meal is over we find the guests are now part of a more sinister game but they have to make a choice from two options in each round. The game is designed to eliminate each player so that only one person is left, this is done with some rather cruel and painful ways and you get your usual couple of guests who try to escape and don't want to play.

So is it any good? Well not really partly because some of the acting is quite poor Jeffrey Combs overplays his part though bearable in places, Brittany Snow tries quite hard and I've seen worse acting. Some other cast members range from the acting skills of bit performers in obscure soaps, to didn't make the cut in the school play because they were just "that bad" very mixed here. Other problems mount up too, really you've seen it before and you know almost exactly what's coming, not in the details of the games but where the story is going you can see it a mile away.

So whilst the idea wasn't bad (I couldn't say it's amazing either but it might have made a reasonable film) it just doesn't really work. The ending is particularly disappointing in my view and could have been much more powerful

I can't really recommend the film it's not bad in a funny way, just bad in a poorly directed and written way. Evidently a sequel in on the way (sigh...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Truth or Dare?, 21 Nov. 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It’s difficult to know if David Guy Levy’s film is taking the rise out of the current horror market’s propensity for torture porn, or if it is as it seems, a lazy exploitation flic pandering to an undemanding audience?

Eight strangers with financial problems are invited to the mansion of rich nutter Shepard Lambrick (Jeffrey Combs) to partake in a game, the winner of which will get their utmost requirements met.

What starts out as a promising piece soon descends into a boorish reliance on shock tactics as the guests are required to do “unspeakable” things to each other. There’s some wince inducing moments, even times when the picture dares you to contemplate how you would react in similar circumstances. Yet it all feels so lazy and cheap, with some poor acting and cringe worthy dialogue dragging the piece down still further. A twist in the tail works well, but by then you may feel jaded to the point of not caring. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable....., 30 Jan. 2015
By 
Rebecca Thompson (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had never heard of this film but was browsing Netflix a few days ago and decided to watch it. I found it enjoyable.
Iris is taking care of her brother who needs a bone marrow transplant. With no suitable donor and mounting medical bills she is struggling to make ends meet. When she is invited to a private dinner party where guests are invited to take part in a winner takes all game and she could go home very rich she decides she has nothing to lose and agrees. What she doesn't realise is that the stakes are high and that the players are playing for their lives.....
It's a shame this film only seems to be available on region 1 as I found it really good and I would love to purchase a copy on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would you play?, 10 Jan. 2015
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Caught this film as part of a free streaming trial and to be honest, it's not too bad for a low budget horror film. The premise has been done before of course, but it is reasonably well acted and Jeffrey Coombs plays a great sadistic host! There was little character development which was a shame and it was pretty obvious as to the eventual 'winner' of the game and indeed it's ultimate ending. It is sometimes intense and perhaps ultimately depressing but is worth a watch, especially if free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scary and rather cynical, 7 Jun. 2014
When a bunch of strangers are brought to dine at a rich man's mansion, it's bound to be a recipe for disaster. There were echoes of Saw in the action, and never has a thirty second decision-making process ever counted for so much. Trying to over-ride the gore factor, I was, as I often do when watching horror movies, endeavouring to search for the metaphors. How much would we be willing to sacrifice to safeguard those we love most? How much kindness are we prepared to show to strangers? Does love conquer all? Or should we just take the money and run? Think of all those game shows you have watched over the years; how disappointed some contestants have been; how we have shouted out the answers at the screen. But it's true when they say that it's much more difficult when you're the one up there competing.

Watch this if you dare. Although I wouldn't rush to watch this one again, it has made me interested in searching out other movies on a similar theme, and I'll look forward to posting more reviews as I discover them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Catherine (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I felt the plot was a good idea, but suspect that most people given such an offer would be cautious. Iris's brother needs a bone transplant, but she hasn't got the money to help him. So she takes up the offer of a stranger to try and win a competition. Some of it was just to hard to swallow, pardon the pun, but a vegetarian starting to eat meat like that without puking...no way, sorry. The ending was disappointing, and made the whole idea pointless. The first hour of the film is very good though because you don't know what to expect, but then as it goes on, it just fails to deliver. Worth a watch, but not one to add to a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Simple, high concept thriller, 20 Jan. 2014
Like House on Haunted Hill, a few select people are invited by a mustachioed rich man to partake in a game of extreme would you rather.

As the night progresses, John Heard realise that more people have seen Sharknado than he expected, so gets killed quickly, and Jeffrey Combs then realises that he is the best thing in the movie, and decides to channel Geoffrey Rush from the aforementioned movie....

Its a B-movie, no two ways about it, but its a high concept movie also, and it knows that the whole concept is absurd, so makes it as extreme as it can be, on its obvious low budget.

The tests start off reasonably tame, electrocute yourself, or the person opposite you, to the more extreme, for example, see the one sheet, and you get an idea.

It was the actual one sheet that got me curious about the movie, the Un Chien Andalou vibe compelled me to, and I'm gals I did.

It won't be to everyone's taste, it does channel Saw 2m and house of nine a little, but it's well acted, and a simple tale, told well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars NOT HAPPY, 8 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do not buy this DVD if you live in England uk it dose not work on English DVD players and costs more to send back than the DVD and supplier will not send prepaid envelope need to put on info not suitable for England very unhappy customer would not give any starts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not meant to be funny but..., 23 May 2015
There is a LOT wrong with this movie, but if you try not to think too much, it's enjoyable enough. I guessed the ending unfortunately so it wasn't as shocking as it could have been, but it entertained me and a friend (possibly for the wrong reasons)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews