Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diaries of our troops trying to restore peace to Afghanistan
Helmond: Diaries of Front Line Soldiers - Simon Weston

Simon Weston - a survivor of the Falklands War, has written the introduction to this extraordinary book. His notes help one to get a better picture of how and why the war in Afghanistan is being fought. Without it, going straight into the diaries of John Thornton, The OC, C Company, Iain Sutherland, Chris...
Published 19 months ago by ronix

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a bad read
Quite a good read with an interesting perspective.. Gives a good demonstration of what it's really like for those on the front line.
Published 15 months ago by clanger3920


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diaries of our troops trying to restore peace to Afghanistan, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Helmand: Diaries of Front-line Soldiers (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Helmond: Diaries of Front Line Soldiers - Simon Weston

Simon Weston - a survivor of the Falklands War, has written the introduction to this extraordinary book. His notes help one to get a better picture of how and why the war in Afghanistan is being fought. Without it, going straight into the diaries of John Thornton, The OC, C Company, Iain Sutherland, Chris Fletcher, Rev. Stuart Hallam and then finally the diary of Ian Thornton (John's brother) would have been difficult to fully understand, especially if like me, you have no military background.

The diaries are so personal, so intimate; you can feel the writer's emotions pouring through their words. Reading John's words and then seeing them suddenly stop just after speaking to his mother and brother just days before he was killed in 2008 were particularly poignant.

All the other diaries tie in with this tragedy until we get to Ian Thornton's diaries written when he went to Afghanistan on 11 September 2011. It's so interesting to see how he found the area where John and other members of the UK forces had fought and some tragically died trying so hard to restore some kind of peace to this very complex country. I think what struck me the most about Ian's diaries was the fear that he would lose his life there and would leave his parents to grieve for not just John but also for him. It must have taken so much courage for the family to see him going back to the same area, but also the reward of finding that the place had found some calm and what soldiers had lost lives and limbs for was actually changing the face of Afghanistan to a more manageable place.

Thank you Linda, Pete & Ian and the other diarists for allowing us to share in these very private and emotional diaries. Losing John was a terrible tragedy, yet look what's been achieved in his name: a Trust Foundation for young people to achieve their dreams (through grants). This trust has helped so many young people already and will continue to do so, all in the name of a very brave soldier named John Thornton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and touching, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an amazing account of what it is really like . I felt the loss of Lieutenant John Thornton, it was done poignantly and with respect to the family. With each individual diary I felt I was involved and experiencing events through their eyes . The adrenalin rush of success and the gut wrenching loss of a trusted friend and respected colleague .
Lieutenant Ian Thornton's, John's older brother gave a moving, honest, and brave account. His experience is more recent.Laced with humour, and irony it is still clear that Afganistan is still a dangerous and unpredictable environment . Filled with the unknown and the unexpected .
Brave young men all.

Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable read, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a massive reader but had to buy this after hearing all about it.

The way in which this book is written is so amazing and makes you feel like you're getting an insight into what actually happens, rather than what the media allow you to see.

If you're reading this then you must be somewhat interested in the book, if that's the case then just buy it and I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRONT LINE GRIT, 10 Jun 2013
By 
siSIDAVER1sidaver1d davidson "SIDAVER" (nNEWCASTLE UPON TYNEewcastle upon tyne england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
TOTALLY ABSORBING, I WOULD ADVISE ANYONE WHO LIKES THE TRUTH ON WHAT OUR LADS,HAVE TO GO THROUGH TO READ THIS,YOU CAN FEEL THE TENSION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 July 2013
This review is from: Helmand: Diaries of Front-line Soldiers (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
A true insight into the lives and activities of those serving in Helmand. Short diary entries make it the perfect pickup when you have a few spare minutes, and gripping enough to make you want to read it cover to cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helmand i found compellling reading, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i enjoyed from start to finish once i started i could not put the book down it was well presented and very interesting made me feel very proud of our boys and girls in our forces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class emotional account of a front line soldier., 1 July 2013
By 
J. Barry (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have ever wondered what goes through the mind of a front line soldier, then I this book is for you. This a very emotional account done in diary form, of what a soldier thinks and experiences in the front line. Highly recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a bad read, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Helmand: Diaries of Front-line Soldiers (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Quite a good read with an interesting perspective.. Gives a good demonstration of what it's really like for those on the front line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone who cares about the great sacrifice made by our troops, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for anyone who cares about the great sacrifice made by our troops.
some truly amazing people have written these diaries.
A privileged insight into how it really is on the frontline in a war torn area.
god bless them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews