Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 159 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Booming!
Design
------
This is a traditional looking sound bar which comes in a single unit with a separate active subwoofer. The main sound bar is relatively large measuring 39.4″ x 3.2″ x 2.2″. Looks great and has the premium feel thanks to the piano black glossy finish and it's exposed speaker drivers. With a glossy finish there are two drawbacks...
Published 15 months ago by S. Miah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not awful but I wasn't happy with the sound so returned them.
I sent this back after a week. It's not awful but I wasn't happy with the sound... the bar gives you the high frequencies and the wireless sub the low but for me I felt there was a gap in the middle frequencies that left me unsatisfied when listening to music.

I was looking for something to give me hifi quality music listening, enhance the tv sound and...
Published 3 months ago by Mrs A J Sewell


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

154 of 159 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Booming!, 4 July 2013
By 
S. Miah "omiaho" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Design
------
This is a traditional looking sound bar which comes in a single unit with a separate active subwoofer. The main sound bar is relatively large measuring 39.4″ x 3.2″ x 2.2″. Looks great and has the premium feel thanks to the piano black glossy finish and it's exposed speaker drivers. With a glossy finish there are two drawbacks such as finger prints and dust!
The subwoofer unit is huge measuring 7.7″ x 15.4″ x 12.5″. It looks average but nothing spectacular. Metal grill on the front along with chrome circle and not forgetting the shiny LG logo at the bottom. The front edges have the same piano black glossy finish and the rest is given the matte finish.

In the centre of the sound bar there is an LED screen which is dimmable and won't distract you. Underneath the LED screen is a row of touch buttons for power, volume -, volume +, play/pause, stop and input.

The remote itself is nice, compact to hold and has a brushed finish giving it that premium feel. The remote allows you to adjust volume level of sound bar/subwoofer, browse different inputs and sound modes including the option to control your LG TV volume level. I like the ability to manually find a track number for example pressing 412 and listening to that specific music track (via USB).

However the build quality regarding the remote, subwoofer and the sound bar is superb, no gaps or any sort of flimsy parts.

Connections
-----------
Here it get's limited regarding AV inputs. Many other sound bars have a number of HDMI ports but that's not the case here. With the LG NB3520A you get 2x optical inputs, 1x portable input (3.5mm) located at the rear. A single USB port is on the right side of the sound bar which allows you to plug in your USB drive containing all your favourite music (MP3/WMA supported only). Bluetooth audio streaming is present which is a great feature to have.

The lack of HDMI ports can put potential buyers off however there's not much difference between optical/HDMI regarding audio quality as the sound bar doesn't support HD sound formats aka Dolby TrueHD. By not having HDMI, you can't use your TV's remote to control the volume of the sound bar. The sound bar is wall mountable too.

Moving on to the active subwoofer, this does not require any sort of cable as the subwoofer is wireless. You can hide the subwoofer away in a corner, under table or where ever you like without having to worry about running any sort of cable to it. Keep in mind the subwoofer is powered by a mains plug and so is the sound bar too.

Output Power/Shielding
----------------------
The sound bar output power is 2x80W and the subwoofer is 140W, so in total you get 300W of pure output power. The sound bar speakers are shielded from magnetic interference where as the subwoofer is not.

Supported Formats
-----------------
Not a wide range of formats are supported but only a few such as DTS, Dolby® Digital, LPCM, MP3 and WMA.

Setup
-----
Setting up the LG NB3520A is straight forward and simple. The sound bar and the subwoofer need to be plugged into the mains and when powered on, sound bar will automatically sync with the wireless subwoofer (green LED). If running into any issues regarding subwoofer not pairing (red LED) then it's easy to sort this out by pressing the red pairing button found on the back of the subwoofer.

Bluetooth
Wireless audio streaming is supported which is compatible with most smartphones and tablets on the market these days. Setting up Bluetooth was a piece of cake. I tried it out using an Android phone (Sony Xperia Sola). All I had to do was select Bluetooth as the input on the sound bar, switch on Bluetooth (Android phone) and then select "LG Audio" option from the list and connect. Music streamed from the phone to the sound bar and the sound quality was crisp and clear.

Optical cable
This was straight forward to setup. Connecting the optical cable to Blu-ray player, game console, TV etc and into the rear optical port on the sound bar and selecting Optical 1 as the input.
Portable In
You can connect any devices using the 3.5mm cable (not supplied) and selecting portable as the input.

USB
The USB is located on the right side of the sound bar. You can plug a USB drive containing all your favourite music (MP3/WMA). There are dedicated buttons on the remote for easy navigation of tracks and folders however when connecting a USB hard drive with large amount of music files then this becomes a bit difficult to navigate through folders.

Performance
-----------
The LG NB3520A has better and superior sound compared to any TV's (even the top range). The subwoofer is the beast, which is extremely powerful.
The maximum volume level for the sound bar is 40. Once you hit 39 and on to 40 it will say VOL MAX on the LED display. The sound quality of the sound bar is top notch, very clear and sharp sound even when dealing with the higher frequencies.

The maximum volume level for the subwoofer is +6. However when turning the subwoofer level to +6 the bass get's incredibly loud and very punchy which can cause neighbours complaining. The subwoofer volume level can also be turned down to -40 (minimum) where this reduces the bass kicking by a lot. By having the subwoofer level on 0, balances it out perfectly with the speakers on the main sound bar. If you don't require the subwoofer, this can be disabled by disconnecting the main plug and the main sound bar will just operate without the subwoofer.

There are 9 different sound modes which make a difference to the audio quality depending on the mode you select. The 9 sound modes are; Bass, Clear Voice, Game, Night, Upscaler, Loudness, Natural, By Pass and 3D. You can't go wrong with the mode you select depending on your scenario whether it's for gaming, music, watching movie etc. However the 3D sound mode wasn't convincing but it does widen the sound a bit delivering a pleasing effect. 3D mode really works properly when the original source is in a multi-channel format. If using 3D mode on normal stereo, the audio becomes high in treble and crumbly.

Auto Power
This function automatically turns on/off the unit when you turn on/off the external device (TV, DVD Player, Blu-ray Disc Player, etc.) connected to this unit by the optical cable. This function turns on or off each time you press AUTO POWER.

AV Sync
When receiving audio signals from TV, sound and images may not be matched. In the case, this function can adjust the delay time.

Dolby DRC
Makes the sound clear when the volume is turned down (Dolby Digital only).

You also have the other features such as sleep timer, info (for displaying ID3, optical source), repeat/random.

Pros
- 140W subwoofer
- 160W front speakers
- Bluetooth support
- Build quality
- Design
- Impressive bass
- Sound quality
- USB support
- Wall mountable
- Wireless subwoofer

Cons
- 3D sound mode
- Dust magnet
- No HDMI
- Vulnerable to fingerprints

For detailed review with photos please visit my website;
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Great bass and high treble,but medium frequencies are only a little better than my TV speakers.Bluetooth works well using nexus 7 and Asus tablet.

Update:The soundbar itself produces very little bass,that is left to the subwoofer.As a result the transition between low treble and high bass is not as smooth as it could be; therefore there is a frequency 'hole' which is noticeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brillant works perfect with my Sony TV, 1 Mar 2014
By 
D. Richards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
After purchasing the Panasonic SC-HTB20EB 2.1 Sound Bar from another retailer and it been faulty losing sound and completely cutting off all together i decided to go for my original purchase in mind the LG NB3530A sound bar and boy oh boy first impressions count this thing is beautiful and pretty much wire free just has mains plug and optical cable that's it literally set it up took 5 minutes and it automatically synced with tv didn't have to do a thing the sound on this thing is amazing far superior to tv speakers would recommend to any one wanting a sound bar i wouldn't recommend the Panasonic SC-HTB20EB tho not because i received a faulty unit because it deign is awful has no USB no Bluetooth and isnt wireless has alot of wires to connect.

The only con i could think off with the LG sound bar is that it has no HDMI inputs but it isnt a deal breaker

PROS
WIRELESS
BLUETOOTH
USB INPUT
GREAT SOUND

CONS NO HDMI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound and great bass, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Talal Alfoadari "TJA Photography" (Bicester, Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I was unsure if to buy this sound bar and mulled it over for a few weeks and looked at many others before finally deciding to buy it.

I was not disappointed when it arrived, ok it lacks HDMI ARC and only has optical but that didn't bother me, i found the sound quality to be great, the highs and mids are clear and true, the bass is strong so much so i had to turn it down, the 3D virtual surround works great for me, maybe its where i have it positioned as I've seen people complain about it.

It powers up and powers down with the TV and you also have the option to turn the auto power off completely so that you can power it up and down yourself.

If you have a Samsung or LG TV you are able to use the TV remote to control the volume of the sound bar, i have both Brand TV's and it works fine for me, i have to admit though as expected it does work seamlessly with the LG TV than with the Samsung by that i mean functionality not sound quality, sound quality is immense regardless of TV.

My only advise with regards to sound, is if you have your TV sound settings set to anything other than standard it messes with the sound bar sound quality so set the TV sound to standard and any truesound etc off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lg soundbar, 29 Sep 2013
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Great product.im very happy with sound.easy to install and price of money is excellent.fantastic sound quality.optical cable and bluetooth is only connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He loved it., 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
It had been on my hubby's wish list for a while, I had pondered over what to buy him for our anniversary for weeks, then remembered amazon wish list, sneaked a peak and bingo, there it was, must admit I am even very chuffed with the item, great sound, can't fault it! Thank you amazon :). X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential if you have a newish LG TV, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
The bar is inconspicuous and the base unit, being wireless, can go anywhere in the room. If you have right LG telly, there are no wires to either unit, just power.
Even if you don't buy this one, some kind of sound bar is needed for the latest ultra slim tellies as the sound is a bit tinny otherwise. You really hear the difference when the sound bar comes. The bass is a little bit muddy, but perfectly acceptable for TV\ Bluray viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LG Sound Bar, 19 May 2014
By 
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Brought this sound bar after months of my other half asking about getting one. We went to our local Curry's to see how it sounded, and we were blown away with the sound quality, promptly purchased it, got it home, set it up in about 5 mins, now just need to upgrade our 32" Samsung LED to a 42" LG LED and all will be complete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the floor vibrate!, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I had thought about getting a sound bar for quite a while and after some research I decided to go with the LG. It comes in a massive box and is well protected by some great packing. The sound bar itself is quite long and the sub is huge! Both look awesome in black. The actual sound produced by the LG is immense, I have tried a number of different films (including Skyfall, Great Gatsby and the Hobbit) and they all sound so much better than my telly speakers. I have also tried it with Ted Nugent (the Blu Ray, he didn't come round for a listen or anything!) and as I expected, thumping bass and crystal clear highs.

The ability to adjust the sub separately is great as sometimes it can overpower the dialogue in a film or tv programme. Also the different variety of EQ settings also help to get the right sound for what you are watching.

I am well happy with this purchase. The only thing that worried me slightly was the amount of people who complained about removing the sticker on the front. Well, I had no problems whatsoever, I just peeled off the see through protector from the whole sound bar, then carefully peeled off the sticker. It came off in one piece and left no remains or marks.

A great bit of kit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lg sound bar, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB3530A 300W 2.1 Channel Wireless Speaker Bar with Bluetooth Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This sound bar was really easy to set up. It is smart and sits lovely underneath my 42inch LG TV .Great value for money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews