Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crispy and Spicy.....
A depiction of Christ's life including a vision of what his life might have been like had he not been crucified...(!)
As screenwriter Paul Schrader explains on the commentary track included on this disc, those who were horrified by "The Last Temptation of Christ" picked the wrong reasons. Most of the controversy focused on a scene in which Jesus and Mary...
Published on 12 Jun 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Directors Finest Hour
I'd been curious about this movie for some time.

I do believe in God and I am very open minded and the truth is - I just didn't think this was a great movie.

Compared to other movies the director has made, I found this one to be the weakest one I've seen. It is pretty tedious in places. In some ways it seemed a bit like a TV movie. In other ways it...
Published 7 months ago by Kokino


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crispy and Spicy....., 12 Jun 2002
By A Customer
A depiction of Christ's life including a vision of what his life might have been like had he not been crucified...(!)
As screenwriter Paul Schrader explains on the commentary track included on this disc, those who were horrified by "The Last Temptation of Christ" picked the wrong reasons. Most of the controversy focused on a scene in which Jesus and Mary Magdalene make love, but that, of course, only happens in the dying Christ's imagination, as Satan is tempting him with visions of the normal life he has given up. The real heresy in "Last Temptation" (which Schrader adapted from the novel by Nikos Kazantzakis) is its depiction of Judas as Jesus' most loving and loyal disciple, chosen for the difficult act of betrayal necessary to ensure human salvation. Nobody noticed, and so a film intended as a reverent, deeply serious exploration of faith was widely understood, for better or worse, as blasphemous.
The story explores the real life of our world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open Minded, 13 Jun 2004
By 
Mrs. S. A. Thornley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anyone interested in religion and frightened off by all the negative hype when this was released should see this film. The first time I watched it, out of curiousity, and although quite lengthy, (stick with it) the last hour blew me away!
As a fan of Keitel anyway, (he plays Judas) and DeFoe, their combined presence is ample to engross the movie fan, add David Bowie's understated pilate and Peter Gabriel's score, Barbara Hershey (say no more), this is a film to be reckoned with. For those with religious views, I'd like to say that I'm a confirmed Christian, and this film played a part in strengthening my faith.
It's a profound experience...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Most Controversial Film of the 80's, 29 Sep 2007
The last year of Jesus Christ ( Played by William Defoe) becomes the messiah of the Jews and showing them his teaching of love and life, then persecuted then crucified, during his crucifixion he dreams of a archangel showing him of what would it be like it he was a mortal Israelite, married to Mary Magdalene ( Barbara Hershey) and as a family man, also being driven by divine doubt, the voice of god and human desires.

A great and highly misunderstood biblical movie that was heavily criticized as blasphemy and sacrilege by some religious groups, it was the most controversial movie of the year 1988, some theaters refused to have it shown and Universal pictures whom owned the movie was protested as well. I think this is a very artistic and well done movie showing what Christ would be like as a mortal man, Dafoe plays Jesus good including the other cast like Barbara Hershey, William Defoe, and David Bowie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last temptation of Christ within you, 23 Aug 2008
I've never read the novel this movie is based on, but I've seen the movie a couple of times. I honestly don't understand why so many Christians are upset about it. Here in Sweden, some fundamentalist group always cry "Provocation" and "Conspiracy" whenever the movie is re-run on television, especially if it's close to Easter. I don't see the movie as anti-Christ or anti-Christian. Rather, I see it as a allegory of man's spiritual seekership. The "Jesus" of the movie is a symbol for each of us. Jesus is called by God. He has doubts. He even refuses. On the cross, he feels abandoned, perhaps betrayed, by God: "Why hast thou forsaken me?". The Devil sees his chance and tempts him. But, finally, Jesus sees through the temptations, "returns" to the cross, and dies victoriously, as the true Son of God: "It is accomplished".

I'm not a practicing Christian myself, bur honestly, is this anti-Christian?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most realistic, 20 July 2010
This is the most realistic of the biblical films I have seen, based on information over the years that I have read and researched.

I enjoyed the film immensley the acting was superb, the subject dealt with sensitively and yet not trying to cover up the possible truth of Jesus's life.

It is a film I would highly reccomend well worth watching.

Willem Dafoe, and Harvey Keitel were superb in their portrayal of the characters they were playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 31 Mar 2009
By 
Sidney Carton (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Very good film (for the music and cinematography alone), highly recommended for anyone willing to consider Christ as just a man, subject to the normal temptations of man.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, well played, 28 April 2010
By 
Mark Macqueen (Wien, Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed the movie when I saw it in the cinema long time ago. The DVD is an equally good experience. Should be part of every serious movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scorsese's Passion, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The Last Temptation of Christ is perhaps Scorsese's best film. True, it's rather tied to the story for the first fourth-fifths, but though it's an oft-overused claim hijacked by fanboys who've seen too few films, this film truly reinvented the way period epics and Biblical epics could be made, with startling visuals and imaginative and aggressive editing combining with real passion from its director. It makes a virtue of his limited budget, getting in close in a way religious epics hadn't, ignoring the spectacle (always a good idea when you only have five Romans) for the intimate and creates a convincing environment. It's set in a time and place where God and man, magic and the mundane co-exist, but pointedly the first biblical landscape on screen to really look like a Semitic country rather than a Christian one. There's a sense of pioneers in a harsh frontier. The sound, too, thanks to the crude clash of accents - his disciples are simple men concerned about their sheep or fishing and their accents are gratingly from the streets while David Bowie seems to be channelling a lazy Michael Caine doing posh as Pontius Pilate - and Peter Gabriel's superb world-music influenced score that has been often imitated but rarely given it's the recognition it deserves.

Sergio Leone may have thought he looked more like a serial killer than Saviour, but in Willem Dafoe, Scorse has an alternately angry and charming doubting Messiah caught between Man and God as he struggles to find His way to God's path. There's an added level of immediacy in the way He is shown actually engaging with his audience on a personal level rather than preaching AT them or holding a press conference, yet even then finding himself completely misinterpreted as some of his audience misunderstand his words as an excuse for violence. Even more daringly, it offers a Christ for whom God's mission is a secret even from him for much of the film, and one who leans on Judas as a friend and his conscience even in betrayal. And it goes against easily clichéd iconography - not only the scene where Jesus casts out demons emerging in slow motion from holes in the ground but most vividly in the way the crowds gathering at this crucifixion come not to mourn but, as has been demonstrated throughout centuries of public executions, to mock and to be entertained by the pain and violence. And it is painful and violent - this was probably the first film to bring home the horrible physical enormity of the pain of being crucified: everyone does the nails being hammered in, but here the horror of being left to hang for days until you suffocate is all too vivid (though it could have been more so: Scorsese noted that had his regular collaborator played the part, "De Niro would have wanted real nails").

If anything, the once controversial last act, that sees a normal life as the ultimate temptation that must be resisted - and is in a moment of genuine triumph - seems almost to pale into a Biblical version of Capra-esque It's a Wonderful Messiah compared to the visceral main body of the film by virtue of its comparative overlength. Yet it's a small price to pay for a film as daring and passionate as this.

Sadly Paramount's Region 2 DVD of the film is barebones - just the film itself - but Criterion's Region 1 NTSC DVD is well worth seeking out with a plethora of interesting extras - audio commentary by Martin Scorsese, Willem Dafoe, Paul Schrader and Jay Cocks, location production footage, interview with Peter Gabriel, research materials, stills and costume designs (though not, surprisingly, the film's striking trailer).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Temptation of Christ, 30 Jan 2004
I really enjoyed this film and I recommend it to Christians and Non-Christians. I was not offended, but rather intrigued. Jesus is tempted to live a normal life and being part human, it would be a natural thing to do However, he does his duty and chooses to go back to the cross. The last scenes were tremendous.
A well acted, directed and produced film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Last Temptation Of Christ, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Great film no idea why it was banned on television seems more realistic than other opinions of Christ. He challenged religions and the world and was a man of peace He wouldn't lead the Jews in a revolt against the Roman Empire so to them wasn't 'the descendant of King David their promised messiah.It shows how it would have turned out if he hadnt died on the cross and got married but he does the sacrifice in the end to please his disiples.The idea of making sacrifices to Gods is a symptom of ignorance.The self is the entity that needs to be eliminated as this is the sin that breaks the communication with the divine.However it was done so if people would only realise that the bridge between them and the divine has been made 2000 years ago they will no longer see the need for sacrificial lambs but can just stop thought from distroting the divine frequency.If thats makes any sense which Im sure will to a few.Barry Long showed how to be free of thought and ignorance or the sin which distorts the divine connection.But it should be easy to be in tune once self is put aside thanks to Jesus Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Temptation of Christ [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free]
8.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews