Customer Reviews


548 Reviews
5 star:
 (336)
4 star:
 (134)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cords and words and love
This is a love story.
Not just between Ifemelu and Obinze, but for a country.
Adichie’s observations on America and Britain are cool, in both senses of the word. Precise, amused, sardonic and aware. Yet when Ifemelu returns to Nigeria, the reader can sense passion.

Young lovers Ifemelu and Obinze are well-off, educated and intelligent...
Published 3 months ago by leekmuncher

versus
39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and thought-provoking, but it felt more like a manifesto than a novel.
Having loved Half of a Yellow Sun when it came out, and recently rediscovered Chimamanda via her excellent TED talks, I was excited to read this novel. I really wanted to enjoy it. So it is with mixed feelings and a somewhat heavy heart that I write this review.

Essentially this is a love story between Ifemelu and Obinze. The section of the book describing...
Published 11 months ago by Hodgeheg


‹ Previous | 139 40 4155 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this book. I found it very interesting and thought provoking and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thoughtful, insightful and so evocative I could smell and feel America and Nigeria., 2 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Kindle Edition)
The part about racism in America may have been a little too long - but I recognised a lot there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Dec 2014
By 
B. Durojaiye (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Paperback)
Great book. Every Nigerian in the diaspora should read this. Cannot wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Kindle Edition)
I loved 'half a yellow sun' but this book was too long with characters that were difficult to like or care about. The race issue gave some interesting insight but was repeated so often that in the end i felt that i was being lectured to. The ending was unsatisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Amazing Suprise, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Hardcover)
My favourite Adichie book so far. And it even came with her signature on the inside cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I didn't like the, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Kindle Edition)
The development of the plot didn't match the ending of the story. I didn't like the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Kindle Edition)
Good read so far.......slow reader....up to chapter 16....keeps me wanting to read more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Paperback)
Loved this book, was gripping and intelligent from start to finish, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good. I would recommend it, 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Kindle Edition)
I was simply asked to read this book. So far so good. I would recommend it, yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Americanah (Kindle Edition)
Utterly engaging, thought provoking, compulsive read. Adichie writes so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 139 40 4155 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Americanah (Unabridged)
Americanah (Unabridged) by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Only search this product's reviews