Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twirling Naked in the street...
An captivating informative read. This review is done with my deepest gratitude as it took me back and brought me full circle to an understanding I wouldn't have have had otherwise. I finally admitted to myself that I am autistic at the age of fifty.

This is a book for everyone autistic or not...
Published 13 months ago by Ms. Mia Nikasimo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Twirling Naked in the Streets
Depressing. No insight displayed by anyone. No proper psychological assessment.
Ending flat as a pancake, and no prospect of improvement for her.
Published 4 months ago by jennyolderbutbetter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twirling Naked in the street..., 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed; Growing Up With Undiagnosed Autism (Kindle Edition)
An captivating informative read. This review is done with my deepest gratitude as it took me back and brought me full circle to an understanding I wouldn't have have had otherwise. I finally admitted to myself that I am autistic at the age of fifty.

This is a book for everyone autistic or not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed; Growing Up With Undiagnosed Autism (Kindle Edition)
I was a little resistant to this book at the outset, and thought the book not to my liking. By the end of the book I had changed my view, and am very pleased to have read it. The simple and straightforward manner in which the author presents the facts of her life results in a better explanation of the autistic mind than is achieved in many more rigorously academic works I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing through someone else's eyes, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To say I loved this book is an understatement. I found it well written and logically laid out (ok, it is in chronological order from childhood to adulthood so it couldn't go far wrong; but, I have seen others arranged by topic and it does make a difference). The author describes her experiences in a very candid and reflective manner. It took me through a whole gamut of emotions; I laughed, cried, cringed, empathised, got angry and at the same time was able to see the entire picture from her adult viewpoint. I know this sounds general in a sense but I don't want to spoil the read and besides there is no need to describe how/if I identified with her experiences. For those who believe they may be on the autistic spectrum or know an adult on the spectrum, this will be a rather comprehensive breakdown of what it is like to grow up undiagnosed. For those who have diagnosed children, this will also give an idea of what to look out for and the possible issues that can be encountered as they grow up. By all means, this is not meant to be a tick list of what it's like to be a high functioning autistic person. Davide-Rivera points out on several occasions that everyone is different. One thing I will say is that my copy of this book is not fit to be lent out or sold (not that I would want to) because it is heavily underlined and annotated now. What I mean is that besides being an engaging read, it will also make you think. I highly recommend it and this is why I give it a five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, well written, interesting, and enlightening., 23 April 2013
By 
A. Stephen "a stephen" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed; Growing Up With Undiagnosed Autism (Kindle Edition)
A jolly good read, fantastically well explained and very well put together. I could hardly put this book down to get on with my own life! So many explanations of little, easily missed quirkiness, all adding up to this complex individual who gives an honest window into her life.
Very brave, very well written, and very well done achieving all her various goals with such obstacles to overcome.
An inspiration to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and informative, 18 May 2013
By 
Jeannette (South England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed; Growing Up With Undiagnosed Autism (Kindle Edition)
I'm the mother of two autistic children and know Jeannie via her blog.
I found the book very interesting and insightful, as I do her blog posts,
Would recommend to anyone wanting to know more about living with autism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed; Growing Up With Undiagnosed Autism (Kindle Edition)
Very readable, even if you're not directly affected by ASD. Really enjoyed reading it and would recommend it to anyone wanting an interesting read with lots of good information without having to read a big heavy textbook. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed; Growing Up With Undiagnosed Autism (Kindle Edition)
I rated his five stars as a moving story through someone's eyes struggling to find themselves. I work with autistic children and it's enlightened me. what a brave women
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed; Growing Up With..., 31 Mar 2014
By 
Miss N. Lawrence (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed; Growing Up With Undiagnosed Autism (Kindle Edition)
I have always had an interest in Autism and after reading about people who were diagnosed early on I thought reading this would be interesting and wasn't disappointed , this book did get me questioning some of my own behaviors and those of people around me which i was not expecting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Significant read, 15 Jan 2014
Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed: Growing Up With Undiagnosed Autism

A well-written/titled book (particularly the latter half) that will remain on my shelf, accessible on the days that I need to remember "we are not alone" in our related experiences.

The book is not 'self-pitying,' it records and does justice to the experience of undiagnosed Autism (which can require determination, courage and self-conviction to carry on in the face of occasionally ignorant & damaging health professionals; in order to find the answers.. and you did.)

I would recommend this in the hope that the recipient is enlightened enough to show consideration for those who might share such traits/experiences.

Thank you and congratulations for producing this significant account.. I will purchase the books that are to come?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed; Growing Up With Undiagnosed Autism (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. it was a fascinating on-site into the world of someone with superhero. well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews