Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Bitesize thinking
Does exactly what the title says, applying philosophical questions to modern life. eg Pascal's wager to dating (or not). Usefully short chapters for busy people, without dumbing down the underlying theories.
Published 18 months ago by Anna Kiest

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy comic book
A very easy read, unecessarily peppered with swearing to get the point across although the points are thin. Writer trying too hard to be cool. If I'm honest I think it's utter tripe and glad I only spent 99p on it. If it werent a kindle edition it would be going to the charity shop.
If you're a teenager struggling with your identity, relationships ,it might be of...
Published on 9 May 2013 by PAF


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny and wise but I have reservations, 30 April 2013
By 
Susan Glazier (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhiLOLZophy: Critical Thinking in Digestible Doses (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is a fun book for 20 somethings (I am much older). I read it quickly and enjoyed it (I like reading about practical applications of philosophical ideas), and it reminded me of how hard it is to be a young adult woman, trying to get by in life with very little accumulated experience and raging hormones. I remember being as consumed with emotions and angst in my 20s as the authors are (made me realise that it wasn't just me). My only problem with the book is that it almost read like a stream of consciousness, and could have done with a lot more focus and much more editing. I enjoyed the wit, loved the philosophical snippets and some of the more everyday wisdom, but overall I felt that the whole thing did not hang together too well. I was disappointed at the end when one (or both) of the authors returned to Catholicism - having thrown off its shackles earlier on. This book certainly has ideas that the authors could refine and develop in further writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy comic book, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhiLOLZophy: Critical Thinking in Digestible Doses (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A very easy read, unecessarily peppered with swearing to get the point across although the points are thin. Writer trying too hard to be cool. If I'm honest I think it's utter tripe and glad I only spent 99p on it. If it werent a kindle edition it would be going to the charity shop.
If you're a teenager struggling with your identity, relationships ,it might be of interest but you'd get similar advice and wisdom in a magazine.
Pity because there are some references to the writer knowing their stuff well, its just their writing is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow, 20 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhiLOLZophy: Critical Thinking in Digestible Doses (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
It could have been so much better, but in the end the story of young adults getting to grips with life events overwhelms the aspects of philosophy and critical thinking triggered by those events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I was expecting it to a deep philosophical discussion with ..., 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhiLOLZophy: Critical Thinking in Digestible Doses (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I was expecting it to a deep philosophical discussion with a pitch of humour but it turns out it is nothing more than the diary of an young woman with a degree in Philosophy presenting here own ideas of life. It lacks depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bitesize thinking, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhiLOLZophy: Critical Thinking in Digestible Doses (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Does exactly what the title says, applying philosophical questions to modern life. eg Pascal's wager to dating (or not). Usefully short chapters for busy people, without dumbing down the underlying theories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars philozphy, 20 May 2013
This review is from: PhiLOLZophy: Critical Thinking in Digestible Doses (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Boring claptrap dressed as philosophy may appeal to adolescents but otherwise absolute nonsense a complete waste of money not fir me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews