Customer Reviews


394 Reviews
5 star:
 (331)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read
This book has over 800 pages and even its own index, but don't let that scare you off. It is far from being a boring historical report on the events surrounding his life. If you want to know what he did, go to an encyclopedia and read such a historical report. If you want to know Nelson Mandela, to know his way of thinking, to feel every emotion as he feels it, to really...
Published on 3 Jun 2007 by somevietnameseguy

versus
35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will the real Nelson Mandela step forward
This book is awesome in its coverage of such a historical event. It is an important read and everybody needs to understand the horror of the regime and the humility of the man. It reads as a clear diary stepping you along his long path helping you understand the changing picture and direction. Unfortunately it is the fact that it reads as an outline of events that is...
Published on 12 Jun 1999


‹ Previous | 116 17 1840 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating and inspiring. Recommended to anyone. Mandela makes other politicians look small-minded. He was so much the man for the situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some parts referring to ANC members was rather tedious but his time in prison and thereafter extremely interesting. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Successful Walk To Freedom, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic book . Could not put it down. Gave a true picture of the struggle of the South African people and the men who fought hard for their freedom. Every human being has the right to freedom and justice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the struggle for Freedom, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Nelson Mandela certainly had a long struggle to achieve his dream. I visited Aerica in the late 40s and blacks were down under the whites. We had friend who was Indian and he told to get to the back. We all got off the bus because of this. As a white I feel ashamed to what our ancestors did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and inspirational, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed reading this book immensely. To gain some insight into this incredible man through his own words was a profound experience and I can only hope that the South Africa he strove so hard, and sacrificed so much to realise will stand the test of time. The world could do with more people like Nelson Mandela.

The book is beautifully written and extremely concise. It delves into the South African political system, the history of apartheid and the ANC without being too overbearing. It was particularly interesting to read this book at such a poignant time too after the sad passing of this brilliant man. The recent cinema release of his story does not truly do him justice. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant mandela, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
the rating in my view is justified because of the truthful way in which this book was wrote. it tells of the sacrifice of a people for a cause in which they believed in and for which they were willing to die. Mandela was a true and honest leader without whom south Africa may never have managed the journey it undertook to the liberation and emancipation of all races. God bless Mandela.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
This should be compulsory reading material for everyone! It is easy to read so no excuse. A fabulous insight into the life we have all grown up knowing something about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars equality, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
Because I have never felt do ashamed to be white and this book of life should be heard and learnt by everyone, pink, purple whatever we are all equal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars well worth it, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
Great portrayal of the man and the struggles of apartheid and a compelling history of South Africa. Does get quite deeply into the politics at times but worth hanging in there for the complete picture of the history and complex politics of the nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
I thought I knew the story of Nelson Mandela, after all, everything he has done has been in the glare of the media for decades. I learned much more about the struggles in white South Africa, the injustice of Apartheid and how mass protest can change the status quo. Read it, you don't want it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1840 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews