Customer Reviews


285 Reviews
5 star:
 (240)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read
This book has over 800 pages and even its own index, but don't let that scare you off. It is far from being a boring historical report on the events surrounding his life. If you want to know what he did, go to an encyclopedia and read such a historical report. If you want to know Nelson Mandela, to know his way of thinking, to feel every emotion as he feels it, to really...
Published on 3 Jun 2007 by somevietnameseguy

versus
34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will the real Nelson Mandela step forward
This book is awesome in its coverage of such a historical event. It is an important read and everybody needs to understand the horror of the regime and the humility of the man. It reads as a clear diary stepping you along his long path helping you understand the changing picture and direction. Unfortunately it is the fact that it reads as an outline of events that is...
Published on 12 Jun 1999


‹ Previous | 116 17 1829 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Long Wak to Freedom, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time and well packaged. I have not read this book again yet but know once I pick it up I will not be able to put it down. A very good read and I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone else who wants an insight to this great man's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk to Freedom (Paperback)
This is a really good insight into the life of Nelson Mandela. The reasons behind his ethos and his fight to change South Africa's attitude to its indigenous people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best Autobiography's i have ever read.......from his early childhood years through to his years spent in prison
This man was an inspiration to the whole world

God Bless you Madiba
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an excellent book that enabkes you to learn how this great man came about and he influenced so many people at very tough times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best inspiring book I ever read, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loaned my first copy to someone and never got it back. I feel happy now I can read it again whenever I want !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truely inspiring book, 8 Jan 2014
I throughly enjoyed this book. It really gave an insite into Mandela as a person and his struggle against apartheid.

It's quite detailed, and spattered with humour which helps, as at times it can go into quite a lot of detail about the various strikes and campaigns.

Overall a very inspiring book and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom: Abacus 40th Anniversary Edition (Kindle Edition)
Truly inspirational, written by a great man who is incredibly humble. The epitome of Freedom Fighter and the respect and willingness so see the good, even with his jailers and enemies, is what sets Mandela apart. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a passion about equality as there are so many lessons to be learnt from Mandela!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent recording, easy to listen to voice and long, 22 CD's, Fascinating story of course!! It arrived in time and the quality of sound is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always meant to purchase this book and in the wake of his death was impulsed to get online and just do it. Not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good BIG read, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will keep my husband happy for a good few weeks as it's a huge book. Very happy. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1829 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72308ac)

This product

Only search this product's reviews