Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well rounded HDD
Just to clarify a few things; its powered by USB.
Its a somewhat slim device, light. It has a dim light, so you can use it at night, and it won't light up the sky like the northern lights.
Its quiet, for me it didn't vibrate or make any noises.
Its fast too, transferring a 1GB of data within a minute!

It also comes with drivers so you can use it...
Published 14 months ago by Tea Tango

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working soon after purchase
Having bought many external hard drives previously, I have found that WD or Samsung have tended to be the best. Aside from nice to haves such as - quiet, quick & ideally decent size (for portables in particular) the crucial thing to me is that the HD is reliable and works consistently for at least a year or two, otherwise you may as well take a risk and not back your PC...
Published 6 months ago by nadine d


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well rounded HDD, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Tea Tango (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Just to clarify a few things; its powered by USB.
Its a somewhat slim device, light. It has a dim light, so you can use it at night, and it won't light up the sky like the northern lights.
Its quiet, for me it didn't vibrate or make any noises.
Its fast too, transferring a 1GB of data within a minute!

It also comes with drivers so you can use it on your mac as well as your pc!!

neat little HDD, well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great portable hard drive, 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
I travel quite a bit and often need to move media files, sometimes quite large, between locations and devices.

I like this hard drive for the following reasons;

- USB powered, so no need to carry a PSU
- VERY small footprint - takes up hardly any room in my gadget bag
- Lightweight
- Very quiet and minimal vibration
- Plenty of space for every possible file I need whilst on the road or to transfer.
- Mac & PC drivers included on it
- Gentle light that doesn't illuminate the entire room on a night!

As with other USB drives, I enjoy been able to plug it into a WD TV Live Media Player and play files directly from that, and into my Buffalo TeraStation III 4TB Network Attached Storage for one touch backup of files to NAS storage.

All in all, a great piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value - Excellent Company, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
My experiences with Samsung have always been reliable - when it comes to data storage this is an important characteristic.

Like all storage devices, system files etc. will take up some of the advertised space - in reality there is just over 900Gb of storage here. All packed in a surprisingly small space (13.7 x 18.5 x 3.9 cm). About a passport. It's also very light.

Its a plug and play device that installs itself once connected by the short USB cable. A couple of things about this cable - its USB 3.0 (the fastest transfer currently available) and also very very very short. Which may present a problem when trying to connect to something a little far away. There is no external powering and powers via the USB which will suck up battery power if your laptop is not connected to the mains for example. For safety there is Samsung's 'SafetyKey protection' function.

Overall this is fantastic value and no problems to report yet.

**Edit: So good I just bought a second!**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great external hard drive that works with Mac, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
I wasn't aware that some external hard drives have problems with Macs until I looked to buy one. This one worked perfectly as a back-up drive for my Apple Mac with no additional configuration needed. Very slim, very neat. Can't comment on reliability as I haven't had it long enough but it is perfect for my requirements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more could you want?, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am very satisfied with this hard drive.

I travel a lot and am always on the lookout for a high capacity USB powered hard drive with a very small footprint so it takes up little room in my laptop bag.

This hard drive is

Lightweight
Very small
Very slim
Quiet in operation
1 TB so large enough to carry all the files I could need while away from home.

In other words it fits my requirements perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reliable drive, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Bluey1976 (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I decided to use this drive permanently attached to my PC for music/video storage and it performs great. Cannot hear any noise from the drive at all, silent! Due to the fact that I am fast running out of storage on my internal drives, I used this drive to install a game on (not really knowing what to expect) Happy to say it worked just fine so is obviously fast enough for that kind of thing.

The drive itself is very small and is easily hidden out of the way which is perfect for my needs, very good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact, quiet and quick!, 24 Nov 2013
By 
C. Fletcher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Samsung P3 is a great little external hard drive and is a good alternative to the Seagate models that I've favoured in the past. The device is powered by the USB port, so no need to fiddle abut with bulky power adapters (which makes it an ideal model if you travel a lot and need to use your external drive while you're away). This drive is also extremely quiet - almost silent - and is perfect if you like to leave your external drives plugged in all the time as you don't get that permanent buzzing sound you get with some models. The other main selling point is the USB 3.0 compatibility, so data transfers can be lighting fast if you have the right setup. PC and MAC compatibility is the icing on the cake for a handy little device that ticks all the boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working soon after purchase, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
Having bought many external hard drives previously, I have found that WD or Samsung have tended to be the best. Aside from nice to haves such as - quiet, quick & ideally decent size (for portables in particular) the crucial thing to me is that the HD is reliable and works consistently for at least a year or two, otherwise you may as well take a risk and not back your PC / Mac up. Well as you can see from the title, it stopped working, or intermittently worked after a couple of months of buying it and doesn't allow me to add folders or content?!?! which is obviously a big problem! Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this product again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Chris L (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
Excellent product, price seemed fair, works well, nice design and easy to transport. Plug and Play, small enough to always have with you and large enough to back up most laptop hard drives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Windows couldn't install the HDD, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung P3 1TB External Hard Drive (Ultraslim, USB 3.0, Black) (Accessory)
Windows 7 64 bit couldn't recognize or install the drive. I tried looking for alternative drivers but couldn't find any. The drive is sold under Samsung's name but originates from Seagate and finding support was impossible. Held on to Seagates helpline for over 30 minutes. No Reply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews