Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fresh serving of Zombie soup
While in no-way perfect the Dead Island series continues with Riptide; and it's a hearty sequel that actually does better than the first game.

Literally starting where the last game finished, Riptide quickly re-introduces Sam B, Purna, Logan and Xian. This time the military have them and it's not long before all hell breaks loose. John Morgan, a former soldier,...
Published 16 months ago by Mark Andrew

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
This game isn't much different to the original Dead Island game, I had more fun playing the first one. New zombies have been included though as well as a horde mode which is fun. However most missions are very similar and get boring fairly quickly. It's more fun to play with friends though online. If you love killing zombies over and over get this game but if you are the...
Published 15 months ago by Long


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fresh serving of Zombie soup, 28 April 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
While in no-way perfect the Dead Island series continues with Riptide; and it's a hearty sequel that actually does better than the first game.

Literally starting where the last game finished, Riptide quickly re-introduces Sam B, Purna, Logan and Xian. This time the military have them and it's not long before all hell breaks loose. John Morgan, a former soldier, enters the formula as the 5th playable character. His skills focus on hand to hand combat and he is perhaps the easiest character to start the game with, unless you plan on importing a Dead Island save file and character.

So it's back to paradise and the Zombie Horde....and a healthy core gameplay of looting, leveling up and crafting a myriad of deadly weapons to fight the undead with. It's a satisfying blend of elements that bake themselves right into the world and environment. There a million and one things to pick up and not one of them sits idle in your inventory for too long. Blue-prints are found often and they can help modify your old baseball bat into something more colorful....stick nails into it, wrap it in barb wire? Yep and those are going to hurt and deal out a lot of damage. One weapon I crafted was a liquid flame shovel...I kid you not. I found a shovel and modded it up, thanks to the liquid flame mod, and now it sets the undead alight which temporarily sets in motion a nice animation of them flailing their arms around wildly and screaming! BBQ Zombie anyone?

It's hard not to feel satisfied by the Zombie bashing. You approach a group of walkers, lay into them with fists, weapons and special moves and because every limb can be sliced and dice, even broken, you get a good feel from your chosen implement of destruction.
Everytime you level up the Horde levels up too. This keeps the game balanced and no matter what you are taking into a fight - you still need to be cauitious. Zombie spawn points keep areas topped up so their is always a threat of danger. Bigger, tougher Zombies begin to show up that count as mini boss fights - these guys will literally wipe you out in a heartbeat so as good as you are at taking down the basic foes; the bigger guys will give you a run for your money.

New to Riptide is the team-system. In your initial base camp you have a group of survivors. These guys hand you quests, buy and sell items and offer information. Basically the more you do for them (and you can do this as often as you like) the better they become in a fight which leads on to the next new gameplay mechanic - base defense. At set points during the adventure you and your fellow survivors will have to fend off a large Zombie assault. You can build fences, lay mines and even set up sentry guns. But if one survivor dies then it's game over which adds a healthy level of tension to the game during these stages. Really good.

The Motor-Boat, found early into the story, adds a new vehicle to the mix and is used quite a lot if you don't fancy wading, waist deep, through flooded areas. A new Zombie type: the drowner is usually found laying face down in the many water ways that litter Palanai. Although they are easy to fight it is not good to get surrounded. Your movement in water is severely hindered so their are no quick getaways and death is usually not far away.

Many main-stream reviewers have slammed Riptide. What a load of rotten-flesh! As far as console owners go the Dead Island series is pretty unique and the closest thing out there is Dead Rising. You get hundreds of quests, a sandbox environment and hours of fun....basically value for your money.
Okay it can be rough in places but the game never tries to hide it. Quests get repetitive but really what else can you do during a Zombie apocalypse? Its inevitable that you'll be fetching things, saving people and fighting a lot (I mean a lot) of the undead.

A great sequel and great value for money.

Oh and I almost forgot - the game supports co-op of 4 players. So buy it and get online with your mates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I loved the original Dead Island and I'm now addicted to this game. Item was sent promptly and in great condition. Overall very happy with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game isn't much different to the original Dead Island game, I had more fun playing the first one. New zombies have been included though as well as a horde mode which is fun. However most missions are very similar and get boring fairly quickly. It's more fun to play with friends though online. If you love killing zombies over and over get this game but if you are the type of person to get bored of this type of game quickly then don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you thought the first one was glitchy, wait until you play this..., 24 July 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So I am a massive fan of the first game. I played it up to level 50, and I agree with most people when they say it has a good idea, but it was very poorly executed. There was a lot to hate about it and it was very unpolished, but after you got past this you could enjoy killing zombies with melee weapons, which very few games allow you to do. I actually came to, not love the glitches, but see them as sort of adding character to the game, in the same way as the Fallout series.
So I started playing this as soon as I reached level 50, and I can say that not a lot has changed. Apart from the addition of a few new weapons, a couple of skills and a new character, this is EXACTLY the same game as the first one. They had a good oppurtunity here to make some new fans and appease existing ones by listening to them and working on some of the glitches, but the same old glitches are still there, aswell as a whole host of new ones. These include...
-No way to look in reverse while driving. The parking mirror is still just blacked out.
-Zombies randomly spawn behind you, taking you out when you were sure it was clear.
-Running and jumping physics are still very awkward, to the point where if you have to jump to anywhere you'll make it maybe 50% of the time. Running up stairs you'll meet some kind of invisible resistance like you've tryed to run up a slide or something.
- With the addition of rivers you can travel through comes a new, awful glitch. Every so often when you are attacked by zombies in the water the game will suffer crippling lag, leaving it unplayable for around 15-30 seconds.
And these are probably just the worst glitches. You won't go 30 seconds in this game without seeing some kind of glitch or something weird happening that could only happen in this severely unpolished game. Like I said above it's like they didn't learn any lessons from the first game and thought people would just like more of the same.
Another annoying feature of this game is the fact that it is set to search for online players from the start. It took me a couple of weeks to figure out that you have to go into the options from the main menu to turn the online off, which you may want to do if you don't want randoms joining your game. The community online is pretty good though, they will follow you and help with your missions, but the one thing I've found is that every tends to have some overpowered guns which will rinse the zombies, leaving none for you.

So rant over, finally onto the positive. The reason why I played the first game to max level and why I'll do the same with this is because of the actual action, killing zombies with various melee weapons. It's fun managing your inventory of weapons, which can all be upgraded into efficient zombie killing machines, e.g. adding a chance to electrocute and send them flying, chance to set of fire, adding spikes etc. The actual enemies themselves are very very annoying, they will easily surround you, making it hard to fight back against small groups due to it being first person. The types of enemies are also very annoying, and seem to have been copy and pasted straight from Left 4 Dead, but they do add variety, and make you try different tactics to defeat them.
Another thing to mention, do not play this game single player if you don't like to die every 5 minutes. This game is meant to be played in Co-op with a few mates, not on your own. Co-op on this game massively improves the gameplay and fun that you can have with this game.

So yeah, overall, it's THE BUGGIEST, GLITCHIEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED, and the fact that they really didn't improve upon the design of the first game is very disappointing. However, if your looking for a game that you can have fun in, play with your mates, and maybe come to laugh at how stupid, unpolished and glitchy it is (a la Fallout), you may come to enjoy this series like I have. However, I will think twice before paying anymore than 15 for any new addition to this series, these games probably aren't worth more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Exactly what my son was looking for bought for a present and wasn't disappointed at all pleased customer . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead island riptide, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Arrived very quickly, condition of came was better than I anticipated. Looking forward to playing the game now. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game. Both my friend and I, completed the story at least 3 times. It is a lot better than the first game. I cannot wait for the 3rd one to come out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead good, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I like anything with zombies so this did not disappoint good game play,good story,and gory graphics what more could a guy want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good zombie game, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was a fan of the first dead island. So as soon as I learned this one came out, I had to get it and it is a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dfs, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Just amazing, great story,gameplay and action.The game was very fun to play and i enjoyed it very much ghhg gg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360)
Dead Island Riptide (Xbox 360) by Deep Silver (Xbox 360)
9.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews