Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£119.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2014
1 Star?! C'mon! The Roland TB-303 has got a classic sound, and has an accent function, yet this beast is actually more flexible, and 303's sell for over a grand on e-bay. Yoy've got to understand what you're getting here, and that's a 3 oscillator, fully analogue monosynth. It has detuneable oscillators, so you can get those fat detuned sounds (can't do that on a TB-303 - they only have have 1 oscillator!), and you can even record seperate melodies for each oscillator on the sequencer. Who else is doing analogue synths with these features for this price? NOBODY. The Arturia Microbrute is an excellent piece of kit, yet even though you can mix in different waveforms, it only has one oscillator, so you can't detune them lile this box. Only other synth near the price bracket is Waldorf Rocket, which is only a module - has no sequencer, no keyboard, and it's oscillators are not analogue. It does have an analogue filter. The envelope options on it are pretty poor though. Mark my words, future classic. Not only that, but Korg have really raisef the bar with their recent analogue synths - it started with the monotribe and monotrons, and now we've had an MS-20 remake for £500 (One of the classic analogues of all time, and original sells for well over a grand on e-bay), The Volca series, which are unmatched in the market at the pricepoint, and soon a faithful remake of another classic synth, an Arp. Korg have paved the way for people who don't have thousands of spare pounds to spend on a true analogue synth, to enjoy the sound real analogue brings. Thank god for Korg (and arturia for that matter....)
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
I've been really enjoying this. Great bassline sounds. The filter is smooth and stepless. The sequencer is practically and usefully designed. The controls are surprisingly performance friendly. The battery life is great. The built in speaker is useful and does an acceptable job for what it is. My main issues are the lack of line-out and the compacted keyboard layout (ie. the volca keys has a far better layout). It would be nice to have midi out but it really isn't much of an issue. 10/10 for fun. 9/10 for functionality and playability. 10/10 for sound quality. If you like making basslines then I don't think you can go wrong with this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
There is no doubting the amazing value and fun to be had with this three analogue VCO synth. However, the quality of the build reflects the relatively low price and this is a problem for me. I found that the touch strip sometimes didn't register my presses, which was frustrating, and I could not use this reliably as a pro instrument alongside my elektron and novation gear. I am very glad that I purchased this from Amazon Prime because of their excellent returns policy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
3 osc, analogue, big sound. At this price it is just too good to miss!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Edit: FOBKAC. Fault Occuring Between Keyboard And Chair!
Hold the Power button for a moment to turn on / off.
Sounds great through external speakers etc, internal speaker is ok for quick ideas, but can't cope with lower frequencies.
Looks cheap but feels sturdy as hell, ironically like a stylophobe on acid!
So far, no good, does not power on with included batteries, or with a 9v adaptor. Will update as & when, disappointed though 😭
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Great budget Analogue 3 oscillator mono synthesizer! Definatley worth the money and sounds well with the Volca beats .Pity there is no Midi out and limited output options but for sitting on your knee getting ideas together while Holby City is on or as useful go to synth with a great filter and fat bass(remember 3 oscillators) or lead sounds in your home studio for the price The Volca bass is a steal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I have connected my Akai XR20 drum machine to this to make the bass lines better using midi out and its awesome!! so much value in such a tiny synth.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
This has to be the fastest delivery yet. Am impressed.
As for the Volca, what a cool bit of kit. So easy to use, fat sounding bass and cool acid bass emulation. Brill for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
Lovely little box of tricks that produces great bass sounds that include acid and that wobble bass sound via the lfo. Fantastic price too for those who are on a budget.love this machine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
It sounds big, the sequencer is easy to use, and the amount of sonic variety is surprising. This is not yet another TB-303 clone! Korg continues their roll of hits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)