Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 8 July 2013
Great value compilation. CD 1 is an interesting trawl through JF's more 'psychedelic' recordings. These have sometimes been criminally ignored over the years but for those of you that haven't heard much of the material, you will be rewarded with some great songs.

CD 2 will be of interest for the more 'avid' fans, as it brings together some really intertesting radio sessions and some excellent 12" versions of great singles, like Stars On fire and the sublime Endlessly.

The 3rd disc wraps up the videos from the time. Great to have them on DVD for the first time.

All in all, a great buy. If you haven't got it already, what are you waiting for?!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 25 June 2013
At last, a compilation hat delves into warm, lyrical side of Foxx's music. Much as I love the cold automat, what makes Foxx unique is that there is a quiet depth and diversity to his catalogue from icy electronic music to the music of cathedral oceans; from Ultravox's early swagger to the blue skies and summer hazes of the Golden Section and beyond. CD2 finally documents early BBC sessions and extended 12 inch versions on CD. The promos on the DVD are of their time for sure but retain a certain charm. It's the music though that really tells the story here.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 11 June 2013
Metadelic brings together psychedelic and warm, glowing pop songs from across his career. For fans of his stark, cold Metamatic style this will be something of a shock. But there's a thread that runs right up to recent material with the Maths, who contribute 2 tracks on the compilation. Nice to have his collaboration with Jori Hulkkonen, 'Never Been Here Before' on there too. CD2 is all previously unreleased on CD - BBC sessions and all the extended 12 inch versions of Foxx tracks from the early 80s. The third disc is a collection of old videos, the best of which is 'Endlessly'. This is music that's going to be on my headphones all summer long.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 12 June 2013
This is a fascinating listen. Foxx has often explored new territory before anyone else and this album reveals how he joined the dots between The Beatles, psychedelia, disco, electro and ambient music. There are even future echoes of the Stone Roses in 'Annexe'. In fact Foxx wanted John Leckie to produce the Golden Section at one point - the producer who went on to work with Stone Roses. Is Foxx the UK's most under-rated artist?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 June 2014
companion piece to Metatronic, with various remixes,, radio sessions, b sides, live versions and a disk full of promo videos should be in every JF fans collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 24 June 2013
Firstly any fan will notice the apparent lack of any input from John into the production of this box-set (ie liner notes, mastering, over-seeing track selection etc), aside from the music itself ofcourse! His current trend is cold-noise, so a slight distancing is understandable, but this does result in some fairly indulgent/waffling liner notes from Martin Smith. The general artwork seems a little half-hearted, with nothing new to offer, which feels like an opportunity missed.

CD1 is well compiled, and although some tracks are not my faves the concept of this collection does work.

CD2 is really what I bought this for, as will many die-hard fans, as at last we get the 'proper' 12" mix of "Endlessly", the song which first caught my interest many years back. This track also comes in a second, unreleased, experimental-in-places alternative remix, called the Sparkle Mix. I hadn't realised how extended some of the other 12" from this era were, as the single sleeves did not mention they were special longer versions. Most of this disc has not appeared on CD before, and the BBC Session versions are also strong takes in their own right.

However to my ears "Endlessly" 12" seems to play back at a slightly lower volume than the rest of this CD, which is a bit of shame...but it's still a classic and sounds great!

The real problem here is DVD:

- no Play All option (that I could find), so you have to select each track by returning to main menu
- "Dancing Like A Gun" audio is faulty - certain sections of vocal are missing. When I listened to CD1 I could see what's happened, during manufacture/compilation Edsel have only included the left channel, but across both left and right. Hence John's vocals that often appear only in the right channel, particularly in verse 1 and the central break, are missing from the DVD altogether. I hadn't noticed it was a form of incorrect mono until then. This is the same sloppy treatment FGTH fans got with the bulk of CD1 of "Sex Mix", until Salvo admitted their error and repressed. This doesn't seem to occur on other tracks, or at least the vocals are not effected if it does.
- "Stars On Fire" is just over a minute and hastily fades out. As I've not seen this 'montage' before I don't know if this was a sampler video only, or whether that's all they could locate in watchable quality.
- oddly we get the DVD manufacturer details and copyright/usage warning messages after the end of the "Lose All Sense Of Time" animation, not before the main menu screen.

For me the DVD production lets this box set down badly, due to manufacture. Noone else has mentioned the audio issue in their reviews to date, so I'm not sure if it's the batch mine was from, or across the board.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Excellent compilation of post-Metamatic singles including some good 12" versions and bonus DVD.Good value package - nice song notes included too
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 12 June 2013
As a sad completeist I applaud the release of this compilation from Dennis' warmer era. Edsel have done right once again in leaving no stone unturned to deliver the medicene we celibate sadcases require to keep our pulses running. With reference to the 'In Mysterious Ways' material, Dennis has subsequently dismissed this album as a mistake but i find it much more palatable than the tiresome pretentiousness of the Golden Section. Is there anyone who'd prefer listening to "Running Across Thin Ice With Tigers" over "Enter The Angel"? As a crooner, I'd take Dennis over the greasy Bryan Ferry any day. Sure, he was temporarily seduced by the idea of being something he's not but he pulled it off with aplomb. You can't live your life in Chroma-key all the time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
quick delivery - exactly as described / thanks
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Good addition to my john foxx collection :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Virgin Years (1980 - 1985)
The Virgin Years (1980 - 1985) by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2014)

Glimmer: The Best Of
Glimmer: The Best Of by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2008)

Evidence Of Time Travel
Evidence Of Time Travel by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.