Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Compilation
Great value compilation. CD 1 is an interesting trawl through JF's more 'psychedelic' recordings. These have sometimes been criminally ignored over the years but for those of you that haven't heard much of the material, you will be rewarded with some great songs.

CD 2 will be of interest for the more 'avid' fans, as it brings together some really intertesting...
Published 13 months ago by Neilo

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars His pop-era - includes some great extras. Faulty DVD.
Firstly any fan will notice the apparent lack of any input from John into the production of this box-set (ie liner notes, mastering, over-seeing track selection etc), aside from the music itself ofcourse! His current trend is cold-noise, so a slight distancing is understandable, but this does result in some fairly indulgent/waffling liner notes from Martin Smith. The...
Published 14 months ago by M. B. Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Compilation, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metadelic (Audio CD)
Great value compilation. CD 1 is an interesting trawl through JF's more 'psychedelic' recordings. These have sometimes been criminally ignored over the years but for those of you that haven't heard much of the material, you will be rewarded with some great songs.

CD 2 will be of interest for the more 'avid' fans, as it brings together some really intertesting radio sessions and some excellent 12" versions of great singles, like Stars On fire and the sublime Endlessly.

The 3rd disc wraps up the videos from the time. Great to have them on DVD for the first time.

All in all, a great buy. If you haven't got it already, what are you waiting for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The other side of Foxx, 25 Jun 2013
This review is from: Metadelic (Audio CD)
At last, a compilation hat delves into warm, lyrical side of Foxx's music. Much as I love the cold automat, what makes Foxx unique is that there is a quiet depth and diversity to his catalogue from icy electronic music to the music of cathedral oceans; from Ultravox's early swagger to the blue skies and summer hazes of the Golden Section and beyond. CD2 finally documents early BBC sessions and extended 12 inch versions on CD. The promos on the DVD are of their time for sure but retain a certain charm. It's the music though that really tells the story here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer glow, 11 Jun 2013
This review is from: Metadelic (Audio CD)
Metadelic brings together psychedelic and warm, glowing pop songs from across his career. For fans of his stark, cold Metamatic style this will be something of a shock. But there's a thread that runs right up to recent material with the Maths, who contribute 2 tracks on the compilation. Nice to have his collaboration with Jori Hulkkonen, 'Never Been Here Before' on there too. CD2 is all previously unreleased on CD - BBC sessions and all the extended 12 inch versions of Foxx tracks from the early 80s. The third disc is a collection of old videos, the best of which is 'Endlessly'. This is music that's going to be on my headphones all summer long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The missing link between The Beatles and Chemical Brothers, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: Metadelic (Audio CD)
This is a fascinating listen. Foxx has often explored new territory before anyone else and this album reveals how he joined the dots between The Beatles, psychedelia, disco, electro and ambient music. There are even future echoes of the Stone Roses in 'Annexe'. In fact Foxx wanted John Leckie to produce the Golden Section at one point - the producer who went on to work with Stone Roses. Is Foxx the UK's most under-rated artist?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars some old, some new(ish) all pretty good, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metadelic (Audio CD)
companion piece to Metatronic, with various remixes,, radio sessions, b sides, live versions and a disk full of promo videos should be in every JF fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John foxx Metadelic, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Metadelic (Audio CD)
Excellent compilation of post-Metamatic singles including some good 12" versions and bonus DVD.Good value package - nice song notes included too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars His pop-era - includes some great extras. Faulty DVD., 24 Jun 2013
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metadelic (Audio CD)
Firstly any fan will notice the apparent lack of any input from John into the production of this box-set (ie liner notes, mastering, over-seeing track selection etc), aside from the music itself ofcourse! His current trend is cold-noise, so a slight distancing is understandable, but this does result in some fairly indulgent/waffling liner notes from Martin Smith. The general artwork seems a little half-hearted, with nothing new to offer, which feels like an opportunity missed.

CD1 is well compiled, and although some tracks are not my faves the concept of this collection does work.

CD2 is really what I bought this for, as will many die-hard fans, as at last we get the 'proper' 12" mix of "Endlessly", the song which first caught my interest many years back. This track also comes in a second, unreleased, experimental-in-places alternative remix, called the Sparkle Mix. I hadn't realised how extended some of the other 12" from this era were, as the single sleeves did not mention they were special longer versions. Most of this disc has not appeared on CD before, and the BBC Session versions are also strong takes in their own right.

However to my ears "Endlessly" 12" seems to play back at a slightly lower volume than the rest of this CD, which is a bit of shame...but it's still a classic and sounds great!

The real problem here is DVD:

- no Play All option (that I could find), so you have to select each track by returning to main menu
- "Dancing Like A Gun" audio is faulty - certain sections of vocal are missing. When I listened to CD1 I could see what's happened, during manufacture/compilation Edsel have only included the left channel, but across both left and right. Hence John's vocals that often appear only in the right channel, particularly in verse 1 and the central break, are missing from the DVD altogether. I hadn't noticed it was a form of incorrect mono until then. This is the same sloppy treatment FGTH fans got with the bulk of CD1 of "Sex Mix", until Salvo admitted their error and repressed. This doesn't seem to occur on other tracks, or at least the vocals are not effected if it does.
- "Stars On Fire" is just over a minute and hastily fades out. As I've not seen this 'montage' before I don't know if this was a sampler video only, or whether that's all they could locate in watchable quality.
- oddly we get the DVD manufacturer details and copyright/usage warning messages after the end of the "Lose All Sense Of Time" animation, not before the main menu screen.

For me the DVD production lets this box set down badly, due to manufacture. Noone else has mentioned the audio issue in their reviews to date, so I'm not sure if it's the batch mine was from, or across the board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There was a time when Dennis Leigh wanted to belong, 12 Jun 2013
By 
M. Booth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metadelic (Audio CD)
As a sad completeist I applaud the release of this compilation from Dennis' warmer era. Edsel have done right once again in leaving no stone unturned to deliver the medicene we celibate sadcases require to keep our pulses running. With reference to the 'In Mysterious Ways' material, Dennis has subsequently dismissed this album as a mistake but i find it much more palatable than the tiresome pretentiousness of the Golden Section. Is there anyone who'd prefer listening to "Running Across Thin Ice With Tigers" over "Enter The Angel"? As a crooner, I'd take Dennis over the greasy Bryan Ferry any day. Sure, he was temporarily seduced by the idea of being something he's not but he pulled it off with aplomb. You can't live your life in Chroma-key all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Metayetagain, 10 Jun 2013
By 
P. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metadelic (Audio CD)
How many times do they want us to keep buying the same old songs time and time again with a few familiar add-ons? For instance, I've already bought the original studio version of Europe After The Rain 6 times over - the 7" single, 12" single, on The Garden LP, The Garden cassette, The Garden CD and The Garden remastered delux CD. Why would I want to buy it yet again? And the same goes for all the others that we've all already got.
There is no point in buying this set, unless you want to hear the radio shows of songs that John Foxx now hates because he now prefers to be cold and emotionless like he was in 1980. And I've seen the videos before too on YouTube and his MySpace page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metadelic
Metadelic by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews