Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A media manipulator confesses
Like Damian McBride, Ryan Holiday is a repentant spinner. Whilst McBride's beat was British politics, Holiday's is American culture, including time as Director of Marketing for the controversial clothing firm American Apparel.

As with Damian McBride's book Power Trip: A Decade of Policy, Plots and Spin, you certainly shouldn't take as an instruction manual...
Published 11 months ago by Mark Pack

versus
52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trust me, don't buy this book
The author is the twenty-something former Director of Communications for American Apparel. He identifies the problems with the modern mediaverse which allow him to gain free mass market coverage for his clients' consumer products. This boils down to one thing: complete a stunt (disappointingly only three or four real life examples are given in the entire book). Get a...
Published on 10 Aug. 2012 by Iksrejam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
Incredible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably Real, 25 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author is brave! I wonder how he will continue in his line of work.

Aside from that, the book is great! Reading this book will change your perspective of the news that you read online and offline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps Formulate Epic Online Marketing Strategies, 1 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
I haven't even read the entire thing yet, but I've already formulated a number of epic strategies to implement into my own campaigns.

I only wish I'd got this book sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars scary stuff, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
Neil Asher "www roarlocal com" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
This will excite and scare you, if what Ryan says is true then most of what you read on blogs is created by PR people, then againthe same is true of the media in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great afvice, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
Book delivers its promises and is really easy to read and understand.

Deserves to be known ! I recommend this item for marketing professionals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
The truth about news manipulation, and planting stories using blogs and bloggers. Amazing information on public relations on the wild side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book to be less naïve with blogging and web journalism, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
To book is concise and well written, and explain how news is quickly and badly fabricated by some blogs and web media companies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best book I've read this year, 5 Mar. 2013
Tears apart the modern media monster in a hugely insightful way. I will never read the news in the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great "two-fingers" in the air read, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're interested in the mechanics of online media, this book should definitely be on your "to buy" list. Ryan Holiday, despite knowing he was going to be on the receiving end of some pretty backlash, outed himself, the big dogs of the blog-world and everything in between. Admire him for putting his neck on the line (stunt or no stunt).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews