Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Openner
Excellent book. Should be a required 'text' book for those studying journalism/communications/public relations. Clearly illustrates how the media is manipulated by bloggers. Good example is Wikipedia manipulated and an unreliable source of reference controlled by faceless editors and administrators to meet individual needs and interests. Businesses and lives can be ruined...
Published 2 months ago by eril scott

versus
38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trust me, don't buy this book
The author is the twenty-something former Director of Communications for American Apparel. He identifies the problems with the modern mediaverse which allow him to gain free mass market coverage for his clients' consumer products. This boils down to one thing: complete a stunt (disappointingly only three or four real life examples are given in the entire book). Get a...
Published 23 months ago by Roger Majerski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trust me, don't buy this book, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
The author is the twenty-something former Director of Communications for American Apparel. He identifies the problems with the modern mediaverse which allow him to gain free mass market coverage for his clients' consumer products. This boils down to one thing: complete a stunt (disappointingly only three or four real life examples are given in the entire book). Get a low-level local blogger to cover it, by sending him the story, complete with story angle and pictures, from a fake e-mail address. That blogger is read by medium sized bloggers and aggregators, who may pick it up. They're read by real journalists who will steal the story, or make it real by requesting an interview. The blogging universe described here is entirely American. Any UK-based readers will get better media analysis from Private Eye, or by reading 'Flat Earth News', a superior expose of how the media really works. The rest of the book rehearses tired observations about journalists being lazy, cowardly, overworked and underpaid, and of fact-checking which has descended to ensuring that someone else has said it already. The book is sloppily copy-edited. Don't buy. You've had the digested read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Openner, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
Excellent book. Should be a required 'text' book for those studying journalism/communications/public relations. Clearly illustrates how the media is manipulated by bloggers. Good example is Wikipedia manipulated and an unreliable source of reference controlled by faceless editors and administrators to meet individual needs and interests. Businesses and lives can be ruined by bloggers, and there is no accountability or transparency. The book exposes how the media really works and exploited for personal and/or corporate gain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars scary stuff, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Neil Asher "www roarlocal com" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
This will excite and scare you, if what Ryan says is true then most of what you read on blogs is created by PR people, then againthe same is true of the media in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book to be less na´ve with blogging and web journalism, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
To book is concise and well written, and explain how news is quickly and badly fabricated by some blogs and web media companies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 20 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
The truth about news manipulation, and planting stories using blogs and bloggers. Amazing information on public relations on the wild side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Ryan, 6 Sep 2013
By 
E. Orobator (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
This book is well written. Ryan did his very best to put together a book that is informative and useful. Once I read it, I started to understand how the big players in the blog world manipulate us to read what they want us to read. I no longer fall for such forms of deception (at least I think I don't). At the very least, Ryan will get you to open your eyes to the ruthless world of blogvertising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great afvice, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
Book delivers its promises and is really easy to read and understand.

Deserves to be known ! I recommend this item for marketing professionals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How does this man get away with such underhanded marketing? Read the book and he'll fess up., 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm Lying (Hardcover)
Great book for all those looking to gain a little insight into the modern and changing face of marketing. Along with many other industries at the moment the playing field is changing (publishing, photography, music). Social media and the internet are the main driving forces to gain your publics mind, attention and trust.
Anyone learning the "old" methods without being versed in the new risk being left behind rather quickly. That goes to current marketing students at Uni as well as the old guard up in the ivory towers.
Dare you risk not knowing how someone this young manages to rack up hugely successful campaigns with next to no money?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably Real, 25 Aug 2012
By 
M. Tefula - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author is brave! I wonder how he will continue in his line of work.

Aside from that, the book is great! Reading this book will change your perspective of the news that you read online and offline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great "two-fingers" in the air read, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're interested in the mechanics of online media, this book should definitely be on your "to buy" list. Ryan Holiday, despite knowing he was going to be on the receiving end of some pretty backlash, outed himself, the big dogs of the blog-world and everything in between. Admire him for putting his neck on the line (stunt or no stunt).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews