Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential add on for Pandemic, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
This adds so much to the base game of Pandemic that it is simply a must buy.

I held off on this until Pandemic had gotten a little stale for me and my friends. Then by getting this add on it was like I fell in love with this game all over again.

There are three new ways to play the game;
A virulent strain, which adds an extra twist to the epidemic cards. Some of these are one off events, but others stay with you the entire game.
A mutation, this adds a 5th cube colour that does not spawn in the traditional fashion and is therefore much more unpredictable.
A terrorist, which is where one person acts in secret to try to bring about your destruction by placing a 5th colour cube all over the board. The main effect of this is to add some competition to this classic co-op game.

Although I'm not a fan of the terrorist game it is nice to add a third way to play the game, but saying that the other two additions are simply awesome. I doubt after playing virulent strain you will ever play normal epidemic cards again. And just when you think it is getting easy you can combine mutation and virulent together to really challenge you!

In all, quite simply a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you have pandemic? If so get this!, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
Whilst it isn't fully compatible with the original game (you need the 2013 update for the cards to match), it adds a few new game modes. It keeps the format fresh and interesting, and at times a lot tougher! Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The virilant strain modification is excellent, in fact, 17 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
On the Brink is a slightly expensive but essential expansion for Pandemic. The extra roles keep the game fresh and the event cards likewise. The virilant strain modification is excellent, in fact, last night's game came to an abrupt halt due to having to draw an extra infection card thus causing 10 outbreaks at once (yes, the board was getting out of hand).
The mutation (purple cubes) is not that exciting and after trying it a few times I don't think it adds that much to the basic game (hence 4 stars). I have not tried the bio-terrorist mod yet but on roles, events, virilant strain and the cool petri dishes you also get, it's worth getting if you're a pandemic fan. You must have Pandemic 2013 edition before buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addon for pandemic, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
I recommend this product to anyone that wants to bring pandemic to another level. The game itself have a good difficulty level, but nothing like spicing up. Together with Pandemic: in the Lab, it feels like a new game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Expansion, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
In my opinion, this expansion is essential if you enjoy the base game.

Three new scenarios are added which make the game feel different. Mutation and Virulent Strain adds a fifth disease to make everything worse - in both scenarios it acts in different ways.

A Bio Terrorist mode is added, where one player utilises secret movement on the board (recorded via a pad) and can spread disease. It's up to the other players to try and catch the terrorist whilst also eliminating the diseases.

Other odd changes are made - a fifth player is added, as well as multiple roles and several new difficulty levels if you're feeling brave.

Personally, this is the ultimate shine to an already brilliant game, adding nice little variations so that you don't feel the game getting too old if you play it too often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Addition, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
The original game is excellent fun but this expansion pack makes it even better. The extra cards are great and the addition of the 5th player Bio Terroist playing against the other players is a really fun twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The next level..., 9 July 2014
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
So you have been playing Pandemic 2013 for a while and have got a decent strategy together that pretty much guarentees success? We were in the same boat and the frequency in which we played started to drop before I was bought this add-on as a gift.

First impressions... strong, sturdy box (slightly smaller than the original). Open it up to find additional role cards, purple disease markers, a chunky pad for the bioterrorist and some additional player counters. Oh, not to forget some bespoke petri dishes to keep all your disease cubes in. The best thing? All of the original components fit into the new box, which is more durable and takes up less space.

The add-on brings additional scenarios to the game - the virulent strain (different epidemic cards with special effects and remains in play features for one virulent strain), the purple mutation disease, and the bio-terrorist for those competitive souls in every gaming group that just do not want to play as part of the team...

The scenarios have breathed new life into the game for us and it is benefiting from its own little renaissance. I think it will be a while before we need to get Pandemic In The Lab.

5 stars for Z Man Games. This is a high quality, affordable add-on for a great cooperative game that lasts a reasonable time but is complicated enough to keep the group thinking. The quality of the components and the positive impact on and reinvigoration of gameplay makes the expansion good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
This is an excellent addition to the pandemic game.

Good: adds additional roles, the box accommodates space for the previous game and it adds another level of difficulty if you wish to play with the new bio-terrorist.

Bad: None.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game!!!!, 1 April 2014
By 
Mr. A. Wilmshurst (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
Strategy, co-op, in depth,lots of expansions/add ons, differing levels of difficulty, at least 3 hours of game play per game :-) All of the things I look for in a board game are in this one (note, this is the expansion and you need the base game to play).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic on the Brink (Toy)
The New challenges are great, the original characters are clearly better than most of the new ones.
A great way to mix up and vary the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pandemic on the Brink
Pandemic on the Brink by Pandemic: On the Brink
£24.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews