Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential add on for Pandemic
This adds so much to the base game of Pandemic that it is simply a must buy.

I held off on this until Pandemic had gotten a little stale for me and my friends. Then by getting this add on it was like I fell in love with this game all over again.

There are three new ways to play the game;
A virulent strain, which adds an extra twist to the...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. I. Everitt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice
Received in perfect condition, although the new evil character in the game has a bit of a pointless role. Not as good as original pandemic, but nice box set.
Published 2 months ago by Melani C.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential add on for Pandemic, 23 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
This adds so much to the base game of Pandemic that it is simply a must buy.

I held off on this until Pandemic had gotten a little stale for me and my friends. Then by getting this add on it was like I fell in love with this game all over again.

There are three new ways to play the game;
A virulent strain, which adds an extra twist to the epidemic cards. Some of these are one off events, but others stay with you the entire game.
A mutation, this adds a 5th cube colour that does not spawn in the traditional fashion and is therefore much more unpredictable.
A terrorist, which is where one person acts in secret to try to bring about your destruction by placing a 5th colour cube all over the board. The main effect of this is to add some competition to this classic co-op game.

Although I'm not a fan of the terrorist game it is nice to add a third way to play the game, but saying that the other two additions are simply awesome. I doubt after playing virulent strain you will ever play normal epidemic cards again. And just when you think it is getting easy you can combine mutation and virulent together to really challenge you!

In all, quite simply a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not entirely compitable if you have original version of Base Game..., 5 Jan. 2015
By 
M. D. Davidson (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
Adds three new scenarios to the game (virulent strain - definitely the best of the three), mutation, and bio-terrorist. All are good fun, and definitely enhance the game and cause you to approach it differently. My only qualm is that I have the original version of the base game, and hence the new cards do not match the expansion cards. I've decided to buy opaque sleeves for the cards to get round this, but it's worth bearing in mind if like me you have the original version of the game.

As a side note, you can get the original version of the expansion second hand, but because it's so rare, it's now very expensive. Secondly, Z-Man have also offered replacement cards to US/Canadian customers who have the original version but as yet have not rolled this out to the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Expansion, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
In my opinion, this expansion is essential if you enjoy the base game.

Three new scenarios are added which make the game feel different. Mutation and Virulent Strain adds a fifth disease to make everything worse - in both scenarios it acts in different ways.

A Bio Terrorist mode is added, where one player utilises secret movement on the board (recorded via a pad) and can spread disease. It's up to the other players to try and catch the terrorist whilst also eliminating the diseases.

Other odd changes are made - a fifth player is added, as well as multiple roles and several new difficulty levels if you're feeling brave.

Personally, this is the ultimate shine to an already brilliant game, adding nice little variations so that you don't feel the game getting too old if you play it too often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Addition, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
The original game is excellent fun but this expansion pack makes it even better. The extra cards are great and the addition of the 5th player Bio Terroist playing against the other players is a really fun twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The next level..., 9 July 2014
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
So you have been playing Pandemic 2013 for a while and have got a decent strategy together that pretty much guarentees success? We were in the same boat and the frequency in which we played started to drop before I was bought this add-on as a gift.

First impressions... strong, sturdy box (slightly smaller than the original). Open it up to find additional role cards, purple disease markers, a chunky pad for the bioterrorist and some additional player counters. Oh, not to forget some bespoke petri dishes to keep all your disease cubes in. The best thing? All of the original components fit into the new box, which is more durable and takes up less space.

The add-on brings additional scenarios to the game - the virulent strain (different epidemic cards with special effects and remains in play features for one virulent strain), the purple mutation disease, and the bio-terrorist for those competitive souls in every gaming group that just do not want to play as part of the team...

The scenarios have breathed new life into the game for us and it is benefiting from its own little renaissance. I think it will be a while before we need to get Pandemic In The Lab.

5 stars for Z Man Games. This is a high quality, affordable add-on for a great cooperative game that lasts a reasonable time but is complicated enough to keep the group thinking. The quality of the components and the positive impact on and reinvigoration of gameplay makes the expansion good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
This is an excellent addition to the pandemic game.

Good: adds additional roles, the box accommodates space for the previous game and it adds another level of difficulty if you wish to play with the new bio-terrorist.

Bad: None.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game!!!!, 1 April 2014
By 
Mr. A. Wilmshurst (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
Strategy, co-op, in depth,lots of expansions/add ons, differing levels of difficulty, at least 3 hours of game play per game :-) All of the things I look for in a board game are in this one (note, this is the expansion and you need the base game to play).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
The New challenges are great, the original characters are clearly better than most of the new ones.
A great way to mix up and vary the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On the way to the Lab, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
Face it: You're gonna get this because you want in the lab. But although it's not as good as it seemed before in the lab, it adds some brilliant roles, and the modules really add variation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Check that you've got the right one., 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink (Toy)
Having bought the wrong Pandemic expansion pack for my son-in-law's birthday, I got this one for Christmas. He's now very happy and we can start playing the expanded game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pandemic Expansion: On the Brink
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews