Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars102
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£68.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2015
Good microphone for the price but it doesn't match my camera (Nikon D3100) so I needed to use an external recorder.
The sound is obviously better than with the microphone of the camera but not outstanding.
Conclusion: for the price and non-professional project, it stays a good microphone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Although the mic structure is fine, there's a constant hissing sound in the background which is starting to become ridiculous. I can't record anything because of it. I tried finding ways of removing it but there's nothing I can do. To top it off, Rode won't let me return this for a new one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
This Mic was returned as I couldn't get on with it - I found that the PAD settings to be way too small and fiddly to adjust.
Other people swear by this mic but personally, if I couldn't comfortably change the settings at my desk then I didn't want to risk it on a paid job in the field.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
It's a good mic but when you plug it into a canon 650d you always get a low fuzz noise in your video. Which I guess is more a camera than a mic problem but it advertises itself as a video mic. Plug it into a zoom h4n and you'll be amazed at the sound quality. I'm still happy I bought it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
I've had other shotgun mics before, but nothing compares to this mics quality of sound without the usual hiss. For the money I've not found one that comes close the good results of this one. Mind you I'm just an amateur, but I'm happy with the sound reproduction for home use.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
I have been using this microphone on my Nikon & Panasonic cameras and it works great. The audio is nice and clear plus if you set it on the higher frequency range it really isolates far away sounds better and cancels out most of the camera/lens noises.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
Sounds great! well, it does the job quite well, much better than the on camera mic and it reduces a lot of the ambient surrounding noises, I use a lavalier microphone for interviewing along with this mic which helps with syncing video and audio.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Arrived very well packaged and very happy, wanted a Rode mic for years and finally got one for around £70 ... absolute bargin if you ask me and I now have a 10 year warranty with this product !

A MUST buy for video professionals :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Certainly better than the SLR can offer but there is notable hiss on the top end.

I always have to export the audio and put a noise reduction filter to hide the hissing.

So, ever time i use this mic it creates more work!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
Love this mic! The quality is incredible for the price. Just have to remember to turn the mic on when you're wanting to use it and off when you're not, I've stupidly recorded without it on and also left it on when I haven't been using it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 70 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.