Customer Reviews


1,395 Reviews
5 star:
 (652)
4 star:
 (555)
3 star:
 (152)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read police procedural with an unusual 'climbing' background.
An easy to read thriller based around key character DI Nick Dixon whose friend, Jake, has died quite inexplicably during a rock climb. It turns out Dixon is both investigating the death and trying to come to terms with his grief as the two men were climbing buddies. I don't know how real Damien Boyd's experience of climbing is. He certainly lays on enough tension and...
Published 4 months ago by JK

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly realistic police procedural
Compared with most cop fiction, this reads like real life. It's not all done by one inspector and his sergeant, there's a team, and it takes a reasonable amount of time, and the computer technology is at the sort of level a normal police officer might well understand, and the cops have to collect witness statements, hold meetings and file reports. There's no running...
Published 2 months ago by T.L. James


‹ Previous | 1 2140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read police procedural with an unusual 'climbing' background., 18 Mar 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An easy to read thriller based around key character DI Nick Dixon whose friend, Jake, has died quite inexplicably during a rock climb. It turns out Dixon is both investigating the death and trying to come to terms with his grief as the two men were climbing buddies. I don't know how real Damien Boyd's experience of climbing is. He certainly lays on enough tension and description to make it feel he knows what he's talking about but; he doesn't get bogged down in the technical detail. There's quite a bit of insight into various knots and ropes but it's quite interesting and makes a change from the usual 'serial killer' background. The plot races along at a decent pace. The police procedural aspects are nicely written, believable, and Dixon is a well sketched out British detective. I don't have too many negatives. If you're looking for an an easy to read police thriller with some unique twists and turns then you should enjoy As the Crow Flies. I wouldn't say the novel offers up too many challenges but it's not at all bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent novel!, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this and the second in the series, 'Head in the Sand' as I love crime novels. To be honest I wasn't expecting them to be very good as I thought he's a new author finding his feet etc. but they were both excellent. Fast paced, gripping, and Damien obviously knew or researched police procedure/ climbing accurately. I do hope he's in the process of writing a third in the series and wish him much success for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I warmed instantly to nick. The story flows along easily and is very readable. Although I have no interest in climbing I found the detail just enough to hold my attention whilst allowing me to layla something new. The story is fast paced and moves fluidly. All characters are believable and the twist at the end is totally unexpected. I enjoyed the setting and could reminisce about holidays in years gone by. I will certainly read the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly realistic police procedural, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Compared with most cop fiction, this reads like real life. It's not all done by one inspector and his sergeant, there's a team, and it takes a reasonable amount of time, and the computer technology is at the sort of level a normal police officer might well understand, and the cops have to collect witness statements, hold meetings and file reports. There's no running around shooting at the bad guys (though it all ends with a bit of a bang) and people go home at the end of the day and start work again next morning.
If this sounds tame and slow, it isn't. It feels like a real investigating officer using his personal knowledge of something (in this case, rock climbing) to realise an apparent accident doesn't ring true, and then using his professional skills, persistence and resources to get to the bottom of it.
I want to read more of this author's work, if this is what he can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is quite a short and simple read. The plot is not overly complicated but it is linear and logical - the suspicious death of a rock climber but I found it gripping and I wanted to know what was going to happen next. Some of the dialogue is a bit clunky and we don't really get to know the characters but it is a good start to the series and I will read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, especially as this is his first book, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very good read, especially as this is his first book. You get to grips with the characters quickly without the 'baddie' being obvious, in fact some really good twists! I started reading it on holiday to pass half an hour waiting for a shower to pass, the sun came out but I stayed in reading. Couldn't put it down and finished it in one sitting. On the strength of this I have just ordered the next two in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great ending., 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book.
I bought it because we live in the area in which it is set and was intrigued to see how it would be portrayed. It didn't disappoint.
Nick Dixon is a very strong character and I'm looking forward to finding out how he is developed further in Head in the sand. The story drew you in from the start and threw in various clues along the way, but the ending was very good, moving and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I wouldnt have known about this book if it hadnt popped up as a recommendation on facebook, and it being set locally is what made up my mind. A gripping read, with a great twist at the end. It was a bit odd at first, reading about places I knew, but made it more enjoyable overall. I will definately be reading more of Damien's books and even buying the real things to add to my extensive book collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Written really well, with many twists and enjoyed all the more as I live in burnham on sea, can't wait to start the second book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As The Crow Flies (The DI Nick Dixon Crime Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews