Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primal Scream 2013
What a lovely surprise from Amazon-thank you!
Primal Scream .. Chameleon Like in their delivery of music style & genre .. you could never get bored by the drifts of guitar meandering through,
Published 16 months ago by lauren

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Best since screamadelica I'd read!
Since I've always found Screamadelica overrated I didn't hold out much hope but a free download is a free download - the band's twin highpoint for me has always been Vanishing Point/Xtrmntr.... This don't touch them...
Published 15 months ago by Andrew Peck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars GET IT, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light - Live [Amazon Exclusive] [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Fantastic free ep well worth getting.
Three brilliant songs that just show how good the scream team are LIVE.
All songs from there brilliant new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They're back!, 3 May 2013
By 
Mr. B. Gribble "nibbley" (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light - Live [Amazon Exclusive] [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
It's Primal Scream. There's not really much that needs to be added to that. Other than they're obviously fired up following the Screamedelica shows a couple of years ago. Rockin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Primal Scream back on form, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light - Live [Amazon Exclusive] [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Great track, Primal Scream are as great as always:). Not noticed that Mani is no longer with them. Great new bassist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We still need to rebel., 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light - Live [Amazon Exclusive] [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
This topical gem rails against the greed of the 1% in 2013 and Culturecide, and encourages us to believe in something and better with It's Alright, It's Okay. A great little ep in classic jam rock vein. Guitars and basses grind, the organ wails and a Jethro Tull like jazz flute makes an appearance. Very much in the vein of meandering jam rock but if you like that (and I do) it's great. Sometimes this live recording doesn't sound like the pristine studio quality we are used to, but that gives it an atmosphere that very much suits its message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light - Live [Amazon Exclusive] [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
What can I say. If you are a fan of Primal Scream you'll love it. Even if you're not it's definitely worth a listen - might well convert you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Knew the name, but was not sure what they did. discovered i really do not like them, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light - Live [Amazon Exclusive] [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
A lot of the stuff on this CD sounds like music from the Mighty Boosh, I knew of primal Scream but only their major hit , but was not sure what more of their stuff was like so i downloaded and had a listen.... Never again. Sorry guys, i really do not like Primal Scream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Screaming for attention?, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light - Live [Amazon Exclusive] [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Free recordings can fall into one of two categories: one is a reward for loyal fans, the other is a scream for attention. This live ep is an example of the latter. Primal Scream are a band that has constantly changed over the years, not quite evolution but certainly change. Their crowning glory is still, and always will be, 'Screamadelica', and some would say that they have had twenty years living off of a remix which 'loaded' and salvaged their career. Indeed, my favourite album since then is 'Echo Dek' itself a remix of 'Vanishing Point'.

But now Primal Scream find themselves out on a limb as far as the general public is concerned. They were revitalised a little with the single 'Country Girl', but count they years since then... seven! Now they have to convince that they are still relevant, hence the new live ep which is given away free after two singular non-events, and they are struggling somewhat.

Is the ep an essential item? No, it's okay, but ask yourself this: Would I buy this, and if I did, would I rate it above the Dixie Narco ep, for instance? Again, no. It doesn't bode well for the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Light full album review, 12 May 2013
This review is from: More Light - Live [Amazon Exclusive] [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I live in Australia and the new releases come out here on the Friday, as opposed to the UK Monday release dates. So, More Light was released in Australia on Friday 10th May and I got my copy that morning. While having my first listen, I sent 3 texts to my mate in the UK. This is how they went:

Text 1:
"Half way through the new Scream album and I'm bored..."

Text 2:
"And it's getting even more boring... 4 songs left to endure".

Text 3:
"Last song is a poor rip off of "You Can't Always Get What You Want". "Walking With the Beast" is the only track with any emotion. Completely boring. That will be my only ever listen. Was like listening to paint dry".

This is a truly diabolical album. The only redeeming feature is that it only took Primal Scream 4 years to deliver this total disappointment of an album, whereas it took MBV 22 years to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews