Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Victorian Crime
This is the second book to feature Furnivall and Stubbs who were introduced in the fictional portrayal of Amelia Dyer the infamous baby farmer in the first book by Michael Conway, Caversham Lock. In this book the mystery centres who killed a young woman has bled to death in an allotment in Reading. The detectives follow the scarce leads which loosely link to the tale of...
Published 19 months ago by C. Bannister

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not great
Very little research appears to have been done,story is confused and unconvincing. Having served in Reading Borough Police and lived in Caversham I was very disappointed in this book
Published 10 months ago by George


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Victorian Crime, 12 May 2013
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caversham Road (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book to feature Furnivall and Stubbs who were introduced in the fictional portrayal of Amelia Dyer the infamous baby farmer in the first book by Michael Conway, Caversham Lock. In this book the mystery centres who killed a young woman has bled to death in an allotment in Reading. The detectives follow the scarce leads which loosely link to the tale of Sweeny Todd.

I enjoyed this book, the Victorian era being perfectly pitched, with the atmoshphere darkened by the gloomy descriptions of Victorian Reading. The Policemen Furnivall and Stubbs characters are further developed as they try to find out who the woman is and why she was killed helped by the Miss Prentice, a woman who longs to be a proper policewoman aheaad of her time. Along the way there are a number of colourful characters who all appear to have something to hide; in other words a perfect whodunnit.

The only minor criticism I have is at times it did feel as though slightly too much was included which meant that the book lost momentum.

If you enjoy crime novels and are a fan of history you can't go too far wrong with this book. I will certainly buy the next in the series if Michael Conway will be good enough to write one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one, 26 Mar 2014
By 
J. Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caversham Road (Kindle Edition)
Further development of detectives Furnivall and Stubbs. Fiction with a few factual references which add to the interest.
I could nit-pick, but it's only a pound, and when comparing against other books at this end of the market it has to be worth five stars.
Caversham House next, and hoping for more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars caversham road series, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caversham Road (Kindle Edition)
I have really enjoyed these booms, as I am married to a retired detective it was interesting to read about hiw crime was detected in the 19th century! I liked the flavour of the period. Having only a scant knowledge of it until recent novels took me back to that time!
Terry Pratchett's 'Dodger' being a first real delve into the period, now I want to read more and hope Michael Stewart Conway will write them ! Need to look for more! I found DS Furnivall an interesting character! Also that women were not considered suitable for Police work, that was sometime in the future Yet my own Maternal Great grandmother was a police officer! I have no more information as now my parents and all that generation have passed away. :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fin de siecle atmosphere, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caversham Road (Kindle Edition)
Messrs Furnivall and Stubbs see life and death in a different way to most other fictional detectives.
The story of Sweeney Todd is interwoven with their own lives in a rapidly changing world which yet has the miasma of Victorian backstreet life hanging over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caversham Road (Kindle Edition)
excellent series of books 3 down 1 to go. Hope we get many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not great, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caversham Road (Kindle Edition)
Very little research appears to have been done,story is confused and unconvincing. Having served in Reading Borough Police and lived in Caversham I was very disappointed in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caversham Road
Caversham Road by Michael Stewart Conway
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews