Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what they want!
Anyone familiar with Ned Boulting's previous books, his work on the telly or indeed his Twitter feed, will know what to expect here. A humorous, self-deprecating wander through the modern cycling world from pro to amateur and everything in between. I don't think I'm doing him down by saying that he wouldn't have any great pretensions at having turned out an overly...
Published 18 months ago by Big Jim

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great page-turner, but light on substance
I loved Ned Boulting's writing style, but thought the book (as far as the sub-title's objective is concerned) a little bit lazy, perhaps? Firstly, despite the odd day-trip to Manchester or the Wirral, it felt a bit London-centric. I would have liked to hear what cycling mean in Glasgow, Leeds or Aberystwyth. Also, there are whole sub-cultures (Audax, Cyclocross and BMX to...
Published 3 months ago by dafyddp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read. Though now a pensioner and riding little this brought back lots of memories of more active years.

I still follow road events up to the highest level, Tour de France etc, so those chapters dealing with that aspect of cycling were enjoyable.

Would recommend to any past, present or future cyclist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Ned steers a slightly wobbly path through British cycling in a story that tells you quite a bit about the author and a lot more about the eccentric world of Brits on bikes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Writing, 27 Aug 2013
By 
B. D. Cartwright "Bruno" (herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
I loved every page of it. I am reading it for the 3rd time. It paints a picture of the Heroes and others that make up the British cycling scene. Ned is a great writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
As ever with Ned Boulting, the writing style is witty and self depracting. He loves his subject matter and that shows. A wonderful read for cycling fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and researched., 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Ned writes in a humble, humourous and engaging manner. This book is the back story to British cycling over the years told through the eyes of some of the pioneers of the sport up to the present day. I just wish he would send me some of the Rapha sample gear that he allegedly doesn't always wear. Thanks in advance Ned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the eccenticities of British cycling, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Not quite as funny as the Tour books but some great moments and worth the read to see what drives the very British love affair with The Little queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book i have read by Ned Boulting and is even better than the first ,probably due to the diversity of people he writes about.He has the most engaging style of writing and is obviously very modest about his own abilities while still enabling the reader to identify with him.
Highly recommended for both an informative an amusing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Very readable, if predictable in places. I have read bits of this tale elsewhere but I suppose that's inevitable. Still worth the read and entertaining, an easy style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One word to sum it up: lovely!, 16 July 2013
By 
Ms. R. Young (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Boulting's trademark style is witty and gently rambling - in short, deeply personal. Which fits remarkably well with this deeply personal book where, along the way of educating the reader about the UK's cycling history, Ned learns about it all himself. It's the next best thing to being able to meet our great veterans (and their mothers, spouses and children!) and hear their amazing stories. It's the third Boulting book I've enjoyed and I'll cheerfully recommend all 3 to anyone who'll listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For cyclists and non cyclists, 16 July 2013
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Written sincerely and well. It made me laugh and cry, and that I need to get out on my bike more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews