Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what they want!
Anyone familiar with Ned Boulting's previous books, his work on the telly or indeed his Twitter feed, will know what to expect here. A humorous, self-deprecating wander through the modern cycling world from pro to amateur and everything in between. I don't think I'm doing him down by saying that he wouldn't have any great pretensions at having turned out an overly...
Published 18 months ago by Big Jim

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great page-turner, but light on substance
I loved Ned Boulting's writing style, but thought the book (as far as the sub-title's objective is concerned) a little bit lazy, perhaps? Firstly, despite the odd day-trip to Manchester or the Wirral, it felt a bit London-centric. I would have liked to hear what cycling mean in Glasgow, Leeds or Aberystwyth. Also, there are whole sub-cultures (Audax, Cyclocross and BMX to...
Published 3 months ago by dafyddp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what they want!, 30 May 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Anyone familiar with Ned Boulting's previous books, his work on the telly or indeed his Twitter feed, will know what to expect here. A humorous, self-deprecating wander through the modern cycling world from pro to amateur and everything in between. I don't think I'm doing him down by saying that he wouldn't have any great pretensions at having turned out an overly psychological or technical book. No, this is a personal journey through the sport delivered much as it might be discussed down the pub and is all the better for it. My only complaint? Can we have some more please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boulting: the Bard of the MAMILs, 19 Jun 2013
By 
P. C. Haigh "sheffieldpaul" (sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Another cracking read from Ned, he writes as an oursider who is new to cycling and makes sense of it as he write but really he's becoming part of the British Cycling Establishment so this tour of the characters that make up the history of British cycling is a great book for him to have come up with. We've had enough of reading about the great riders and races of the continent it's time to have the British Isle story put on a paper. This is really a series of separate essays, some touching others hilarious, some both. Keep riding and writing Ned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric and affectionate, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this book. This is an affectionate, sweet natured and sometimes sentimental look at the often eccentric world of British cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ned is a joy to read, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
I read Neds Yellow Jumper book before this and saved this until I went on holiday. I got more than halfway through this book just on the outbound flight, it's a fantastic book. I'm fairly new to cycling, I don't know much about it's history in the UK - some names are talked about but others I have never heard of. Ned has met many British cyclists through the process of writing this book and he tells their stories very well. I feel I now know so much more about the history of British cycling thanks to this book.

For those who haven't grown up in the world of cycling, it is a good insight into the past and how it's led to the present day, the traditions of the sport and the unspoken rules. There is as much focus on the everyday man (or woman!) cycling on the local country roads as there is of British riders from the Tour de France from years back. I think this book has something for everyone and it's well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining potted history for the everyman cyclist, 29 Oct 2013
By 
S. L. Rider "S.." (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Ned's follow up book is a meander through British cycling history meeting many characters on the way. It also features Ned's own charmingly naïve adventures on two wheels. It has some poignant moments around the lone 'grim faced' pioneers of the sport as well as typical laugh aloud stories - the football ground quest had me cracking up.

Ned has become a sort of ambassador for normal cyclists - not the really serious whippets but the rest of us who commute, use a bike when we can, maybe get out at the weekend.

This is a great entertaining read for anyone even mildly interested in cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just For Cyclists, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
You don't need to ride a bike to enjoy this witty and informative book. You just need an interest in people, challenges and triumphs.

This book is about people you may never have heard of, with either a love for life, cycling or both. Here you will read about amazing feats that you will perhaps be finding for the first time.

This is an entertaining and amusing read which also has the Feel Good Factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining insight to the sometimes eccentric world of British cycling, 25 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
This is an easy read and provides a view, often very humorous, through interviews with some well known and some lesser known characters of how and why British cycling is where it is today.

If you're a new recruit, or have many years in the sport it will certainly entertain and inform you; it certainly did both for me. I am a 'many years' person and actually know, have raced against or had contact with some of the people in the book, which probably helped my enjoyment. In any case, I recognise and laugh at some of the traits identified in the British club or casual sporting cyclist, because many of them apply to me.

Don't expect a full history of the sport, or blow by blow account of how Wiggins, Froome or Cavendish won such and such a race; other volumes do a good job of that. Instead, sit back and enjoy a journey with the author on his voyage of discovery on what might make the average 'MAMIL' tick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
Interesting on a number of levels, about cycling, about people, about national culture and written with a self deprecating manner which is very appealing. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Read, 6 Aug 2014
By 
Jane (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very enjoyable book - good as a holiday read; not too heavy going but full of interesting characters and details about cyclists of the past. It has joined up the dots for me about various cyclists that get a mention on Tour de France programmes. It is also very funny although I don't think that it is quite as full of those moments when you start giggling out loud on the train as I found in Ned's "How I won the Yellow Jumper". I don't think that it is mean to be though as Ned is exploring the history of cycling in Britain and the characters that populated it so please read the book with that in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great page-turner, but light on substance, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul (Kindle Edition)
I loved Ned Boulting's writing style, but thought the book (as far as the sub-title's objective is concerned) a little bit lazy, perhaps? Firstly, despite the odd day-trip to Manchester or the Wirral, it felt a bit London-centric. I would have liked to hear what cycling mean in Glasgow, Leeds or Aberystwyth. Also, there are whole sub-cultures (Audax, Cyclocross and BMX to name just three) that have been massively influential in shaping the Nation's Cycling Soul, yet they don't get a look-in (both Chris Hoy and Mark Cavendish were BMX champions in their youth)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews