Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I thought I knew the music of the decade between 1955-1965 pretty well, but this set contains some things I'd never heard of. Of course the title track by Ray Charles and tracks like Apache by the impeccable Shadows, The Royal Teens garage band hit "Short Shorts" and quite a few others on here are 60s gems whose over-familiarity perhaps overshadows their quality. But, what about some of these other tracks:

"Oh What a Baby" by the Tonettes - that is pure early 60s from start to end, so full of 60s that it teeters on the edge of being naff and cliched, but never quite falls over into it and consequently rates with me as a great discovery. Bryan Hyland's "I'll Never Stop Wanting You" - great slice of 60s balladeering, Gypsy Woman by the Impressions, Barry Mann's "Who Put the Bomp" (lost in the UK due to the Viscounts, as I now learn, inferior cover version), "Bertha Lou" by Clint Miller is a great little driving song (why was that never a hit?) - and so it goes on.

There is some painful stuff on here - did Johnny Nash *really* need to do that lounge version of Herman Hupfield's 'Casablanca' song "As Time Goes By"? But hey, this box set is a voyage of discovery and there's more good (or at least interesting) stuff than bad.

Sound quality is mostly superb. Good to hear such great transfers of Danny & The Juniors two hits and actually there's not a track on here that's lacking in the technical quality department - full marks to all concerned on that.

Highly recommended if you want to revisit the bright lights of this era, and perhaps probe some of its darker more neglected corners too.

Alan T
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 December 2012
A double disc gem from 'One Day Music' records, which is neatly packaged (but without a booklet - which is to be expected at this value for money price tag). The sound quality is very good indeed. This compilation is from the mid fifties label - ABC-Paramount and gives us 50 tracks that cover lots of genres; Teen Pop, Rockabilly, Rock n' Roll, Doo Wop and everything in between. It's a mix of well known American and British classics - 'Diana' by Paul Anka, 'Hit the road Jack' by Ray Charles and 'Living Doll' by Cliff and lesser heard tracks.

Cd 1. (59.42mins) Tracks from 1953 - 1961 but mostly late 50's early 60's. Apart from the well worn classics - 'I'm hungry for your love' by Danny Hill is very good, as is 'I want you' by Jackie Lee Cochran. Nice to hear the original version of 'War Paint' by Barry Mann instead of The Brook Brothers UK 1961 hit. Overall 8/10.

Cd 2. (59.11mins) Tracks from 1957 - 1961 but mostly late 50's early 60's. Great tracks by Ray Charles, Paul Anka, Llyod Price mix with lesser known arists. A couple of Doo Wop standouts 'Bring back your heart' by the Del-Vikings and Don't Laugh at me' by the Dubs. Overall a slightly better disc 8.5/10.

Overall, a well put together compilation with no added thrills or spills except great music. Highly recommened.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
This is an interesting collection and that does not mean that I am damning it with faint praise. There's a lot to like here. There a number of tracks which will be familiar by artists such as Ray Charles, Paul Anka, Danny and the Juniors, Cliff Richard, Lloyd Price and the Shadows. There a number of of tracks which were hits in the United States but not here of later covered by Britsh artists. Early Carole King is of interest and Johnny Nash's version of As Time Goes By is worth the price alone. Well worth more than one listen.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
All in all a good cross section of the ABC Paramount Label's back catalogue. The Packaging is well presented and this compilation will save many of us collectors having to play the original 45's. One Day Music are doing a great job of bringing us rare collectables and classics on their New Label C.D.s Keep 'em coming please...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
INTRODUCTION:

I am always have a soft spot for the ABC-Paramount label, because when I was buying 45 rpm record in the 50s & early 60s, a lot of the artists that I liked was on that label, like our own Paul Anka, Johnny Nash, Ray Charles, Brian Hyland, etc. I am also very fond of the colourful ABC-Paramount label logo.

One Day Music label from UK has released a series of 2 CD set, containing gems from various UK/US labels, including the Top Rank, Coral, Pye International, Brunswick, Parlophone (my reviews elsewhere), Atlantic, Roulette, Vee Jay, ABC-Paramount, Phillips, Aladdin, Columbia, and Okeh. As a collector, I find that these releases are true treasures, and the line notes give us a deeper appreciation of how these labels come about: the rise and fall. A very educational reading.

HISTORY:

This review is focused on the ABC-Paramount label. ABC-Paramount Records was an American record label founded in 1955 by Am-Par, the music subsidiary of the American Broadcasting Company (then known as American Broadcasting Paramount Theaters). In the late Forties RCA had been forced to sell off its broadcasting subsidiary and this was then purchased by ABC. The 1953 merger of ABC with United Paramount Theaters thus gave the record label its new name.

ABC-Paramount Records were bought out by MCA in 1979 and the ABC label disappeared altogether, just as MCA itself would be swallowed up by the Universal Music Group in 1996.

CONTENTS:

This 2-CD set consists of 50 songs, 25 in each disc. There are so much varieties, from Ray Charles to Paul Anka, Sir Cliff Richard to the Shadows, Brian Hyland to Danny & The Juniors. There are also many pop treasures, like Born Too Late by the Poni-Tails, Who Put The Bomp by Barry Mann to early releases by Carole King. The sound is very well remastered with no hiss. And in fantastic stereo too. Great job!

The song listing (with label numbers and chart positions) is as follows:

Disc 1:
01 Hit The Road Jack – Ray Charles (US 1/1961)
02 Diana – Paul Anka (US 1/1957)
03 Born Too Late – The Poni-Tails (US 7/1958)
04 Everybody’s Body – George Hamilton IV
05 At The Hop – Danny & The Juniors (US 1/1957)
06 I’m Hungry For Your Lovin’ – Danny Dill
07 Living Doll – Cliff Richard (US 30/1959; UK 1/1959)
08 I Want You – Jackie Lee Cochran
09 Rhonda Lee – Al Hendrix
10 Goin’ Wild – Carole King
11 War Paint – Barry Mann*rare gem
12 Bertha Lou – Clint Miller (US 79/1958)*rare gem
13 Bop Boy – Bill Hayes & the Don Costa Orchestra
14 Baby She’s Gone – Jack Scott (1957)
15 I Hear Bells (Wedding Bells) – The Del-Vikings
16 Class Room – Frankie Sarde
17 Penny Loafers and Bobby Sox – Joe Bennett & The Sparkletones (US 42/1957)*rare gem
18 Short Shorts – The Royal Teens (US 3/1958)*rare gem
19 Regretting – Sabby Lewis
20 Motorcycle Michael – Jo Ann Campbell*rare gem (should have put her bigger hit on ABC-Paramount: A Kookie Little Paradise)
21 Apache – The Shadows (UK 1/1960) my favourite guitar group
22 All I Can Do Is Cry – Wayne Walker
23 Rock ‘n’ Roll Stomp – Steve Gibson & The Red Caps*rare gem (should have put their only charted hit: Silhouettes on ABC-Paramount)
24 Oh What A Baby – Tonettes
25 As Time Goes By – Johnny Nash (US 43/1959)*rare gem; the flip side is my favourite song: The Voice Of Love

Disc 2:
01 Rock And Roll Is Here To Stay – Danny & The Juniors (US 19/1958)
02 Black Slacks – Joe Bennett & The Sparkletones (US 17/1957)*rare gem
03 Shirley Lee – Bobby Lee Trammell
04 Who Put The Bomp – Barry Mann (US 7/1961)
05 Unchain My Heart – Ray Charles (US 9/1961)
06 I’ll Never Stop Wanting You – Brian Hyland
07 Personality – Lloyd Price (US 2/1959)
08 Baby Sittin’ – Carole King
09 Bring Back Your Heart – The Del-Vikings (US 101/1961)*rare gem
10 Please Don’t Tease – Cliff Richard (UK 1/1960)
11 If You Don’t Know – George Hamilton IV
12 Don’t Laugh At Me – The Dubs
13 Sincerely – Evelyn Dell & The Vibra-Tones
14 Two Timin’ Woman – Jack Scott (1957)
15 Gypsy Woman – The Impressions (US 20/1961)
16 Cross My Heart – Jay B. Loyd
17 Crazy Daisy – Jo Ann Campbell
18 Puppy Love – Paul Anka (US 2/1960)
19 Miss Lazy – Ronnie Toth
20 A Thousand Miles Away – Johnny Nash
21 Linda Jean – The Satellites
22 She Loves To Rock – Cornell Gunter & The Flairs
23 Saturday Dance – The Shadows
24 Open The Door, Forgot My Key – The Royal Teens
25 Darling – The Vibes

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This 2 CD set is very enjoyable to listen to, and those golden oldies brought back many happy memories. In the liner notes, it stated: “The small labels of bygone years such as ABC-Paramount had an important role to play in the shaping of pop and rock music of the Fifties and Sixties. Truly, such labels were of ‘Paramount’ importance. And I agree! The price is also very cheap. This set is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
great collection, do wish the inclusion of "THE DOLLETTS" & "DOROTHY MOORE & THE DOLLETTS" singles were here as this group became "THE POPPIES" and DOROTHY MOORE reached the solo big time with her "Misty Blue" single. A part of the girl group sound----perhaps a volume 2 will be issued ????!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
These Records are very interesting & Relaxing to listen to and Enjoy! However the Titel Track by Ray Charles, Hit The Road Jack, sounds really Terrible!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
As in the title. Proper gift for your dad/uncle or anybody interested in the ABC Paramount recording studio music. Good price for the music inside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
My husband enjoyed this cd. A good compilation of music without breaking the bank! Will be recommending this product to all my friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
This item was not as expected. However it was good to hear so many blasts from the past and I did enjoy listening to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)