Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Fabulous
Yet another quality 2 disc release from 'One day Music'. This time taking in the music from 'Parlophone' records dating from 1954 to 1961. There's no booklet but theres an intro and writing credits. The sound quality is very good indeed, an excellent job. The first disc is filled with great tracks from start to finish by great artists such as Charlie Gracie, Little Willie...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really up to modern CD sound quality standards
This record company like many others, is taking advantage of Europe's out of copyright pre 1963 recording legislation.
However in the last year, this record company has, it appears, stopped re-mastering the recordings and puts them out with all the warts that have been acquired since they were last aired/used.
This is a real shame, as this series of discs to the...
Published 15 months ago by Leslie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Fabulous, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another quality 2 disc release from 'One day Music'. This time taking in the music from 'Parlophone' records dating from 1954 to 1961. There's no booklet but theres an intro and writing credits. The sound quality is very good indeed, an excellent job. The first disc is filled with great tracks from start to finish by great artists such as Charlie Gracie, Little Willie John, Ral Donner and our very own Adam Faith and Jim Dale. Disc 2 isn't as good as disc 1 but it still has more than its fair share of great tracks by The Tokens, Bobby Lewis and Charlie Gracie to name afew. A Highly recommended budget compilation. Also check out the other 2 disc compilations in this series of 'record label' releases. Fabulous.

Please note; Only You by The Platters is the 'Federal' records original and not the hit version on 'Mercury' records, but it's still good, if a little sparse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars parlophone before the beatles!, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great cd of gems from parlophone,proving that the label had a life before the beatles. don't believe lazy writers who tell you that the label was nothing until the beatles came along and only released comedy records. a good mixture of british and american releases,highlights include vince taylor's brand new cadillac,charlie gracie's first two hits and loads more! great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summertime Blues- Gems From The Parlophone Vaults, 6 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. James Mcevoy "Jimbo" (Fleetwood UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even if, like me, you already own some of these tracks the cost of this album is so low that it is well worth the purchase. As the title suggests it is packed with gems fom the late fifties and early sixties. I thouroughly recommend this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really up to modern CD sound quality standards, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This record company like many others, is taking advantage of Europe's out of copyright pre 1963 recording legislation.
However in the last year, this record company has, it appears, stopped re-mastering the recordings and puts them out with all the warts that have been acquired since they were last aired/used.
This is a real shame, as this series of discs to the same quality of those on the (UK) ACE label would be well worth twice the asking price. But not these here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with other reviewers; I don't like the Summertime Blues version after hearing Eddie Cochran all my life. Great tracks here though by Hank Ballard - Finger Poppin' Time (good quality). I bought the CD for tracks like Tossin & Turnin, My True Story, Honky Tonk, Get A Job....etc. The Little Willie John tunes won't disappoint you at all and I really enjoyed "Teardrop" by Santo & Johnny. The Platter's version of "Only You" might not be what you expect, however. It's the Federal version. But there are plenty of tunes for everyone's taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another fine addition to the series from One Day Music-Depending on your taste will determine if this cd is for you.A wide variety of artists ,some r and r,some doo-wop,and good late 50's early 60's pop.50 tracks at that price you can't go wrong..but please One Day don't include Summertime Blues by anybody except Eddie Cochran!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The hits that were hidden in the attic ., 23 Sep 2013
By 
Howard Griffiths (Radio station gtfm 107.9 or www.gtfm.co.uk tune in and enjoy) - See all my reviews
All the best USA hits hidden away on PARLOPHONE Label which your record shop never stocked , only Adam Faith ,and a job to find Charlie Gracie ?I'm sure these's would have been bigger hits such as BUTTERFLY & FABULOUS if more shops had stocked them , still we can't turn back time , thank goodness for LONDON AMERICAN , left to EMI would would have never got other hits .As one review remarked JIM DALE ! we did have CHARLIE DRAKE as well .A buy yourself's a bit of American rock'n'roll history and a little GB as well . Mine was as always a great buy from AMAZON .

PS. Look up the FEELIN'FINE , GEM'S FROM COLUMBIA VAULTS very much the same contents of what we cound't find in the local record shops at the time .

Oh dear ! Miss Sparks as I used to call her ,not to her face mine you , her face used to drop when I walked into the shop on a Saturday morning , wondering what I was going to ask for from the American obscurity . There must be a few of you who wished they had these recordings then ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Summertime blues, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolute must for loves of early American rock@ roll some great s ones and fab artists I. Have it in my car @ listen to it dailly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Family, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. J. Hawley "Jay Hawley" (Wakefield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this product for my father, he seems very satisfied with itt and thats the most I can say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simple i like good music and this is good music, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good choice of tracks apart from jim dale piccadily line which is rubbish one day music seem to come up with the goods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews