Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny gentle comedy
It is rare that I have out loud but this certainly made me do so. Much of the humour derives from Jenny (Sally Phillips) trying to get out of uncomfortable situations.

The basic premise is that Jenny (married with two children) has been sacked and now they all have had to move back with her parents (Tom Conti and Susie Blake). Her child-like husband pitching...
Published 11 months ago by Darrendarren

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre and not many laughs
I bought this DVD on the strength of the usually fabulous Sally Phillips and some good reviews on Amazon. Have to say I'm pretty disappointed. Its mediocre and the characterizations are typical sit-com at its worst. Despite the good cast (including Tom Conti and Susie Blake) its really not very funny and I can't imagine why anyone commissioned it. This will be going to...
Published 8 months ago by jcp1962


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre and not many laughs, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD on the strength of the usually fabulous Sally Phillips and some good reviews on Amazon. Have to say I'm pretty disappointed. Its mediocre and the characterizations are typical sit-com at its worst. Despite the good cast (including Tom Conti and Susie Blake) its really not very funny and I can't imagine why anyone commissioned it. This will be going to the charity shop I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
Huge Sally Phillips fan, but really, can pretty much see why Sky didn't commission Season 2 of this one. Phillips excels in playing characters who, were you to meet them, you'd probably run a mile from, and she does the same here - her character is snobbish, deceitful, scared, lets her daughter take the rap for her behaviour etc. But it's by no means Phillips who drops the ball here. To some extent, the writing is over-stretched, delivering oddness with the faint whiff of desperation about it, in the hope to raise a titter from the audience. Titters there are, too - but fully committed laughs, sadly few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny gentle comedy, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
It is rare that I have out loud but this certainly made me do so. Much of the humour derives from Jenny (Sally Phillips) trying to get out of uncomfortable situations.

The basic premise is that Jenny (married with two children) has been sacked and now they all have had to move back with her parents (Tom Conti and Susie Blake). Her child-like husband pitching ideas have been fine with her last salary but now just frustrate Conti. Jenny does not like people to know her predicament and still wants others to believe she's a successful high-flier.

Each episode is short (only about 22 minutes) but there is enough in each story. I'm sorry to hear Sky1 are not going to commission a second series as Sally Phillips is brilliant with the comedy of embarrassment. Let's hope another network will do so.

As for the DVD there are subtitles but no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Series, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
I was surprised to find they are not making a new series. A great cast with Susie Blake and Tom Conti as the Parents are very funny.
With Sally Phillips stuck in the middle with a hapless husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I don't understand the bad reviews... I loved it!, 17 July 2014
By 
Christopher Parr (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know why this show is getting so many bad reviews! I am watching it on Sky's Now TV, and definitely plan to buy the DVD. It's a cute little comedy, and I love Sally Phillips' character! Sure, the laughs are not continuous, mile-a-minute in their delivery, but when you do laugh, it's genuine.

This show reminds me of a few other shows that I really like, some of which, sadly, were also cancelled; Being Eileen, Jam and Jerusalem (aka Clatterford), etc.

Hopefully Sky will recommission this series if they receive enough positive feedback!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and pleasant comedy, 26 Jun 2014
By 
L. Charles "book maven" (ELANCOURT, YVELINES France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
Very good and pleasant comedy, entertaining and relaxing suitable for the whole family, very funny and the product corresponds perfectly to the description, the seller is quite reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I understand why..., 6 Dec 2013
By 
Stephen Bloom "Steve B" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
...they only made one series of this. Sally Phillips (from the Miranda series) is in her element but for some reason the rest of the cast don't quite carry it for me. I will watch it again, however, just to be certain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky family comedy, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
Hope there is a second series. It would be great to see how these characters develop. Six episodes was not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family Sitcom, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
This is a true family sitcom. I watched it with my 10 and 12 year old and we all really enjoyed it. Funny, heart warming and silly. Please can we have another series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He'll drive you mad!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parents [DVD] (DVD)
Sally Phillips is wonderful in this (as she is wonderful in everything), and the rest of the supporting cast are up to scratch. But the bloke who plays her husband will drive you insane - how can anyone live with such an utter twit - it's just not credible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parents [DVD]
Parents [DVD] by Sally Phillips (DVD - 2013)
6.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews