Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic BNL
Happy, original and BNL at there very best. Nothing serious, but everthing has a great depth and a skill of song writing with reflextion a mature sillyness which only the BNL are able to carry off.
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barenaked ladies
This is a move in the right direction. But without Steven Page there is sharp bitterness to offset the saccharine it reminds you of the Barenaked Ladies rather than being them in their pomp. Too smoothe, to safe and too nice to be what I was looking for.
Published 11 months ago by Kevin Scoles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great BNL album, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Martha Fab (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grinning Streak (MP3 Download)
My first thought was that this album is a return to the BNL sound of old after the more mellow All In Good Time. But then I listened to both albums again and again and thought maybe the previous album wasn't all that mellow after all. Either way, this is another great album. I particularly like Boomerang and Smile, and Off His Head and Gonna Walk are incredibly catchy and really sound like old BNL. There are some experimental-sounding bits that I find a bit annoying but this is undeniably BNL and perfect preparation for the tour later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic BNL, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grinning Streak (Audio CD)
Happy, original and BNL at there very best. Nothing serious, but everthing has a great depth and a skill of song writing with reflextion a mature sillyness which only the BNL are able to carry off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grinning Streak (Audio CD)
bought it as a present , was received very well than you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best band and album, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grinning Streak (Audio CD)
As it's the 2nd cd after the change with Steve leaving, you would think they may be still finding their feet. No best one yet, can't wait for the others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grinning Streak (Audio CD)
If your a BNL fan. Don't bother thinking about it. I love this CD, stays in the car, instant pick me up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different sound but still great, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Robert Lawes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grinning Streak (Audio CD)
After the departure of Stephen Page, BNL's next album "All in good time" sounded like a band who were carrying on because they didn't know what else to do. With their next album "Grinning Streak" they sound like a band who are carrying on because they want to and they still enjoying doing what they do best. Where as All in good time sounded like BNL minus Stephen Page, Grinning Streak sounds like BNL. There is a new depth to some of the songs, a more modern sound that may alienate some of their fans but on the whole its a cracking album that sparkles with the wit and wisdom you would expect. The opening track, Limits, sets out the stall for the rest of the album with catchy lyrics and a chorus that you can hum all day and the rest of the songs follow in the same vane, Odds are and Boomerang, Gonna Walk and Keeping it real all stand out on the first half (what would have been side A in old money). My only complaint is that the album does run out of steam a little in the later tracks allthough there is nothing that could be considered filler here. All in all, this really does rank alongside the best of their earlier With an album this good (and a chart performance to reflect it having made the lower reaches of the UK album charts for the first time since "Stunt") it points to a bright future for a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grinning About Grinning Streak, 8 Jan 2014
By 
S. Wullink "Gobby" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grinning Streak (Audio CD)
Great new album - great sound and lyrics. Always that bit different, a real one off of a band .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the BNLs!, 19 Nov 2013
By 
R. Dowson "Rob" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grinning Streak (Audio CD)
Love the new BNL album! I've listened to BNL for years and am a big fan.
But - the first listen of this I have to say I was really disapointed by....but happy to report it was just the usual 'better on the second play' thing I seem to have going - as I absolutely love it now - every track is brilliant and I've listened to the whole album many many many times! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply getting better., 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: Grinning Streak (Audio CD)
Another unique mix of catchy, clever lyrics to a range of musical styles. Ed Robertson's vocals improve with age and continuing this band's incredible run of strong, complete albums. A work of art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barenaked ladies, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grinning Streak (Audio CD)
This is a move in the right direction. But without Steven Page there is sharp bitterness to offset the saccharine it reminds you of the Barenaked Ladies rather than being them in their pomp. Too smoothe, to safe and too nice to be what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grinning Streak
Grinning Streak by Barenaked Ladies (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews