Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Sci-fi that most people have never heard of
As a Sci-fi fan born in the early 90s I know the charms of Silent Running, the influential magnitude of Mertroplis and I even know how Soylent Green is made. These are great science fiction films that even if you weren't born when they were released all sci-fi fans know of them because they are cult classics and will always have an active fanbase. So how come so many...
Published on 28 Dec. 2012 by Mr Blonde

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lifeforce
When three perfect humanoids are brought back to earth the consequences are chilling. These futuristic vampires, our perfect fantasies come true, walk among us, can we bear to see them annihilated? Peter Firth The Vampire Slayer sets out to destroy them but these perfect monsters are a force to be reckoned with. A good watch!
Published on 14 May 2004


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
By 
Trevor Sproston (Hertfordshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifeforce [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyable hokum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To be seen if only for the "What the heck?!" factor alone, 14 Oct. 2011
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifeforce [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a weird movie, got to say that I liked the effects and the solemnity of some of the actors in their delivery is unintentionally hilarious but what marks it out for me is the shear extent to which it appears like the director's lost the plot towards the conclusion of the film.

It begins as a film somewhat like Aliens or other spacemen discover bizarre floating hulk with sinister cargo movies, moves quickly through weird energy based vampirism, to zombi apocalypse and finally a strange mystical general apocalypse movie. Its conclusion has to be seen to be believed. Its never really clear whether mankind are being recruited or harvested as snack food by the aliens, whose character isnt exactly clear either, good, bad, xenomorph, spirits? Who knows. The british hero character is a member of the SAS but that seems unlikely, his role seemed like it would be much more likely to be performed by a spy or intelligence.

There is an element of Brit pride in this movie, in so far as the token American character makes all the mistakes and its dubious whether he's ever really able to redeem himself, besides the appearence of the actor who went on to star as Picard in Star Trek: The Next Generation there was not anyone really notable in the cast who I recognised.

The effects are variegated, some really ambitious things taking place, including someone literally barfing their innards up which then take the shape of someone else, the appearence of a large bat thing too and an odd dream sequence but plenty of garish blue lights too, which made me think of Ghost Busters.

While the plot skips about a bit and it all gets a bit crazy towards the finish, an understatement I'm sure, it is linear enough a production and doesnt suffer too badly from slumps or pitches in viewability. I just know there are far more people renting this for the laughs or gratuitious nudity (although it really is more nudism than sexy seductress material like say a movie like Species) without taking much account of things like plot but anyway.

Fans of peculiar films or unintentional humour might really like this movie, I can see why shoppers who viewed this would have viewed Altered States [DVD] aswell, they are similar. Some of the violence and action is similar to the Demons franchise or The Beyond but it never feels like it properly pitches into that sort of total "what the heck?!" B-Movie gore and mayhem. Finally, its got to be said, there is a similar between a lot of what goes on in this movie and some of the older colour Dr Who series, its almost as though you're waiting for the Tardis or UNIT to put in an appearence. I hope that gives some idea of the audience this is likely to appeal to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laughable, 17 July 2011
By 
G. Drew "gary1960" (Sevenoaks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifeforce [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this movie at the cinema when it was first released (showing my age) and even then I thought that it was filled with ham acting, probably from a poor script. I can remember many of the theatre audience groaning at the time thanks to some of the script.

Having recently purchased this DVD for nostalgic reasons I realise just how bad it was.

The shots with the beautiful Mathilda May were not as numerous as I recall from my original viewing all those years ago and it's not as if she is actually "acting" as such, just walking around naked and whimpering her (few) lines. I'm also pretty sure that some scenes have been cut from this DVD release.

What a shame to see respected actors such as Patrick Stewart and Peter Firth embarrass themselves in this tripe, even poor Nicholas Ball and Frank Finlay. I can only assume that the money was good or that they all had nothing better on offer at the time (out of work actors often being desperate for work and taking whatever they can get to earn some cash).

Granted, the idea behind the film was quite novel and some of the effects were also quite good for the period (i.e. before CGI ruined everything) and I do remember that it was generally enjoyable at the time. But this time around I almost left the room because I thought it was so bad. In fact, in some scenes the acting was so dire that I couldn't help but laugh. Perhaps that was the intention and if so then by all means buy this movie, otherwise don't waste your money.

As with other reviewers, the film is presented in letterbox format, which spoils it even on a 4:3 aspect television such as my old one. So be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
markymark (Hampshire U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifeforce [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
excellent 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifeforce [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
great thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, although a couple of days late for delivery, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifeforce Blu-ray [Limited Edition Steelbook] (Blu-ray)
"Lifeforce" on Blu-Ray [Limited Edition Steelbook] by Arrow Video/Films is a great purchase.
Good price for a limited edition steelbook by Arrow Films, one of my all time favorite distributor.
Cheap, great quality, and great quality (this is to expect of Arrow Films).
The reason why I gave it a 4/5 is because the delivery went several days over the delivery date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great purchase, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifeforce [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Image and Audio surpassed what I was expecting. Features are also interesting and plentiful, ARROW did an excellent job. Fans will not be disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3B Movie, 14 Aug. 2011
By 
Paul Scollon (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lifeforce [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie falls into what I call the 3B Movie category - you need at least 3 beers in you to enjoy it. Assuming you have consumed said beverages, you will thoroughly enjoy this movie. It had everything - lovely naked space vampire chic, over-acting from Patrick Stewart as a modern day Peter Cushing type, ridiculous gore, zombies in London (many years before 28 Days Later) and so on. It's a blast.

However, if you have not had the required 3 beers, it is incredibly unlikely you will enjoy this movie. In fact, you most likely will not go the distance. If you somehow DO, I guarantee you that you will require at least 3 beers to get over it! It's a win, win situation for the local landlord......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius! So bad it's great., 15 Feb. 2013
By 
This review is from: Lifeforce [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Camp, compulsive and very funny. Defo worth a watch, just be prepared to look on the funny side. This film is not to be taken as seriously as the actors have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best sci-fi film, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifeforce [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Read some good reviews but not quite as good as anticipated. Has some good moments and worth viewing as a curio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lifeforce Blu-ray [Limited Edition Steelbook]
Lifeforce Blu-ray [Limited Edition Steelbook] by Tobe Hooper (Blu-ray - 2013)
£22.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews