Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purile? Really?
"A very good hard rock album until track 9 which contains 8 mins of semi-silence. How purile. I thought proper bands stopped doing this years ago. It spoils the continuity of what was a very good album. I'll not be buying any more of there music until they grow up!"

Do not let the above review put you off, a view which is as "childish" as the original...
Published 17 months ago by Craig

versus
3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good & Bad
A very good hard rock album until track 9 which contains 8 mins of semi-silence. How purile. I thought proper bands stopped doing this years ago. It spoils the continuity of what was a very good album. I'll not be buying any more of there music until they grow up!
Published 17 months ago by Viva


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purile? Really?, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scorpion Child (Audio CD)
"A very good hard rock album until track 9 which contains 8 mins of semi-silence. How purile. I thought proper bands stopped doing this years ago. It spoils the continuity of what was a very good album. I'll not be buying any more of there music until they grow up!"

Do not let the above review put you off, a view which is as "childish" as the original reviewer's own comments.....

If you like "classic rock", then this album is for you. Its not a band merely copying their influences (Rainbow, Led Zepplin), but a band making music whilst wearing their influences on their sleeve.

It has an authentic 70's rock vibe, which is driven by the excellent vocal range of the lead singer, who very much sounds like a young Robert Plant. The band is tight, powerful and their musicianship is second to none.

I bought this album on a whim. I glad it did, as it certainly brightened up a wet Friday morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Father Dougal vs the Spider baby, 13 July 2013
By 
Pesto Fingeration (Chez Vegas, Englandland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scorpion Child (Audio CD)
Do you like Scorpions?
Do you like Children?

I don't particularly like either, but that didn't stop me buying it...

On its arrival, there was a sticker on it saying that this was a release for fans of "Graveyard, Rival Sons and Led Zeppelin"
I suppose it may be, but Graveyard are much more of a Lo-fi 70s proposition than this lot with a more 80s production job.
Rival Sons? Oh, heaven no, what an over rated bunch of up their own behinds retro furrow followers.
Led Zeppelin? You're avin' a Giraffe! What this reminds me of more than anything is KINGDOM KLONE, which isn't necessarily a bad thing.

To me though it reminds me more of Tesla those Sacramento veterans which again is no bad thing.

The first couple of tracks really remind me of songs by other bands, but my fading memory can't place them and to me it isn't until "Antioch", "In the Arms of Ecstasy" and "Paradigm" that the band sound like Scorpion Child and not somebody else.

So, all in all not too shabby and despite a four star rating - I'd say I was being generous there - it's a cautious BUY. Depends on how much you like being reminded of other bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock is dead?....Hm, I dont think so., 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: Scorpion Child (Audio CD)
As so of you may have head recently on the radio, many rock stars belive that rock is dieing out, as it has all been done before and it is harder for new band to come up with something diffrent.

Well what can I say Scorpion Child definatly seem to be showing everyone that rock is not dead and you can still make a stunning album.

So, Scorpion child are very influrenced by the 70's rock scence. You can definalty hear Led Zepplin and at time Black Sabbeth in there work. But dont think that means they have copied them. Some how they have taken everything that has come before them and made it there own.

The opening track on the Album Kings Higway builds you up for what the band is all about and it just flows into Polygon of Eyes wich is just a stunning track. But not all tracks are very rocky. Antioch is far more relaxed track but it just shows that this band can do diffrent styles, which is exacterly what you need to showcase on a debut album.

The Last track on the deluxe edition Keep Goin i think is just really a monster of a track just trying to show all bands that have gone into creatig there own unique sound.

If you have heard evern one track by this band and liked it, I would definatly recomend this album to you as it is just stunning. I have been listering to this album more than any other album since I have got it. And this is proberbly the best album I have bought this year so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh sound with a 70s bluesy rock vibe, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scorpion Child (MP3 Download)
Love the debut album from a Scorpion Child. It has a fresh sound, but is firmly routed in a 70s vibe. In places very reminiscent of Led Zep and many other 70s rock bands. The songs have great hooks and energy - good honest rock. The singer is great and can do it live - saw them recently at the Queens Hall in Nuneaton.

We'll worth checking it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting talent, 8 July 2013
By 
C. Hart "oneils" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scorpion Child (Audio CD)
Put any negative reviews to the wayside - this is a brilliant debut album.

I read of Scorpion Child being mentioned in the same breath as Rival Sons and Graveyard, and being a big fan of those two, i wasn't disappointed with Scorpion Child in the least.

Every track is strong. If you love old school rock (be they new or old bands), these guys deserve your full attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great band in the making, 2 July 2013
By 
AJP "AJP" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scorpion Child (Audio CD)
Ignore previous review, if you like edgy blues based desert psychedelic rock in the vein of early ZzTop,queens of the Stone Age, kyuss, and a bit Zeppeliny, and a touch of partial name sakes the scorpions. This is for you. Don't no who they are or where they came from, but great album from start to finish. Take a chance and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album good band, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scorpion Child (MP3 Download)
This band have a lot of potential and the album is excellent, Saw them live recently in a small venue and they were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome., 9 Sep 2014
This review is from: Scorpion Child (Audio CD)
Excellent album, listen to it daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good & Bad, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: Scorpion Child (MP3 Download)
A very good hard rock album until track 9 which contains 8 mins of semi-silence. How purile. I thought proper bands stopped doing this years ago. It spoils the continuity of what was a very good album. I'll not be buying any more of there music until they grow up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scorpion Child
Scorpion Child by Scorpion Child (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews