Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - Very approachable
Pragmatic view of Angular. Particularly like the explanations for using directives and the focus throughout on unit testing. This should help the reader produce robust and well tested apps
Published 12 months ago by meh

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great intro but explains too little and goes too fast
This book is quite good up to chapter 3 where the user is confronted with a total overload of tools. Worse still, trying to follow the instructions there in many cases does not work. Also, various examples on the internet do not work. The problem there is the API instability of the various test tools used. Also, the explanations in the book do not help at all as there is...
Published 8 months ago by Erik076


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great intro but explains too little and goes too fast, 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: AngularJS (Paperback)
This book is quite good up to chapter 3 where the user is confronted with a total overload of tools. Worse still, trying to follow the instructions there in many cases does not work. Also, various examples on the internet do not work. The problem there is the API instability of the various test tools used. Also, the explanations in the book do not help at all as there is far more too explain. Most of the explanations there raise more questions than they answer.

Then in chapter 4 I ended up almost throwing the book away because some basic concepts about the APIs are not explained. You just get shown new syntax and methods that haven't been introduced before. There I could get by by using the example code ([...] in combination with the angular js API docs ([...] The book simply shows code examples without going into any detail on the APIs and API concepts. For instance, I had to learn from the API docs that angular uses a specific method of 'Dependency Injection annotated functions', by passing either the function object or an array consisting of the names of the dependencies followed by the function at the end. Also, various concepts, like '$save' for objects obtained from REST invocations are not explained. In particular, the explanation of the module API in the angular JS docs really helped.

I also watched various introductions on the internet (search for 'AngularJS Fundamentals In 60-ish Minutes' on youtube), that are far better at explaining the core concepts than this book is.

All in all, you can learn a lot about angular js while using this compact book, but be prepared to really take extra time to watch introductions on youtube, try out things for yourself, and read the API docs. Of course, this is what you would usually do when learning a new technology, but this book could have done a lot better at helping you with this and explaining a few core concepts better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as test-savvy as I'd hoped, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Dj Livesey "Doug" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AngularJS (Kindle Edition)
Whilst AngularJS is an interesting approach with a lot to offer it, it was the emphasis on testing that really got my hopes up. I'm at the point where I'd sell my soul for as smooth a test-driven development experience in JS as I have in other languages! :)
However, this book didn't really deliver on that point. The tests they set up were a massive bundle of dependencies, rather than quick, focussed, dependency-free tests of concepts. And this may come from their exactly-backwards approach to BDD -- they even say they're practicing BDD (Behaviour Driven Development), but clearly don't understand how it works. They talk about adding high-level tests as an after-thought to unit tests, maybe when your app gets more complex. This is quite wrong!
In BDD, you start with the highest level, and use that to drive down to implementation, to ensure that everything happens because of a real requirement.
The writers also push their own (to be fair, it's also AngularJS's own) integration testing framework, and even (IIRC) compare it favourably to tools like Cucumber. No. Just no. It's like the feature runners that RSpec in Rails had, ten years ago!
But that's fine.
I guess I could still use Cucumber for high-level specification of behaviour, and with some experimentation I could perhaps develop the sort of lightweight/light-dependency test suite with Jasmine that I feel is much more agile, so my issue here really is with the book, not the technology (aside from the feature runner fossil!).
So I'm disappointed, really. I'd really hoped someone was going to hold my hand and show me how to develop a fluid and fluent approach to test driving the development of front ends.
If there are any test-savvy, JS-guru, technical writing demons out there, there's still a soul to harvest, here. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not outstanding, however worth reading., 28 April 2014
By 
N. K. Puri (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AngularJS (Paperback)
Because its got two authors, the chapters differ in style, so some chapters are excellent, whereas others mediocre or worse. Its annoying that one of them says "its easy" and then present some hard to understand code and keep on saying its "awesome", what would be awesome is if they had included a few diagrams as the book suffers from not even one diagram showing what's going on this is a real weakness and think the authors simply didn't make enough effort. It's hard to understand and have had to read the book twice, but on the whole it is worth getting hold of and going through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - Very approachable, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AngularJS (Paperback)
Pragmatic view of Angular. Particularly like the explanations for using directives and the focus throughout on unit testing. This should help the reader produce robust and well tested apps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, From basic features to advanced, 11 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AngularJS (Paperback)
I've tried a couple of angular books and this was the best by far. Useful code to accompany book. Goes through basics, structuring, testing and a lot of angular features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we'll written launchpad, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AngularJS (Kindle Edition)
Well written and well balanced book. Good grounding in the basics as well as intermediate challenges and solutions. Only thing hay could improve it. OSA few diagrams to illustrate the moving parts together so you can see how they interact. As a more traditional MVC user it took me a while to figure out the exact role of controllers,services and modules. However there are plenty of these on the net now so I can self serve :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AngularJS (Kindle Edition)
I had been looking at a number of books and videos whilst trying to get into Angular and wanted something concise and to the point. I also wanted example code that was concise and reinforced the principles as you progressed through the book. I had another book Mastering Web Applications with Angular that whilst good lacked example code. For me this book ticked all the boxes. I find I can read it without being in front of a computer and take in the subject matter which is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Angular beginner book, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AngularJS (Paperback)
great book, easy to read and follow. Good for angular beginners, not JS beginners. Would recommend as a first step
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AngularJS (Paperback)
A well-written and short book avoiding fluff ideal for a serious developer wanting to use Angular.

Miles better than the current online documentation;

Good on the philosophy of Angular too. Only lacking more advanced detail - I could happily used 50% more of this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide for Angular newcomers, 27 May 2013
By 
B. C. McGeachie "DeadBase" (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AngularJS (Paperback)
Really good examples and basic usage strategies.

When used in combination with the Angular JS API documentation should be enough to give a good grounding when getting started with Angular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AngularJS
AngularJS by Shyam Seshadri
6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews