Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little game for kids
I have already bought one of these games before for one of my grandsons and it was a massive hit. Therefore, decided to get another for a different grandson and know he will love it just the same as his brother did. Have bought his brother an inexpensive tablet so they should play for hours !
Published 12 months ago by Kirsty

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Good, The Bad and The So So
With all the offers in the market, there is still room for the good old retro games that make alot of kids dream back in the 90's. Even though you may be a fan of Sony, Microsoft or Nintendo, if you are a real gamer, there is a little space in your heart reserved for the Genesis diamonds. Countless hours that you spent in your childhood playing games such as Sonic, Golden...
Published 18 months ago by Reis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little game for kids, 2 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
I have already bought one of these games before for one of my grandsons and it was a massive hit. Therefore, decided to get another for a different grandson and know he will love it just the same as his brother did. Have bought his brother an inexpensive tablet so they should play for hours !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good handhold console, 3 Dec 2014
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
This console includes an SD Card slot allowing the inclusion of additional games from the 20 pre-installed. I calculate if you were putting the entire Megadrive library (800-900 roms) on this console you would need a 2GB SanDisk SD card which is a fiver or less these days. Roms should be in .bin format (converters from other formats exist with a Google search) and sit in a folder on the SD card called GAME - (not GAMES) You will need an SD Card USB Reader to add the roms - Or use a phone/camera you can put the SD card into that will connect to your PC.

Pros:

* Good game selection and additionals can be added
* Bright and clear screen
* Good battery life
* Volume adjustable with a headphone socket
* The packing box (main picture) has Velcro tabs on the front, is heavy duty cardboard and has plastic trays inside which can store the console and cable when not in use
* 6 Button controller for the later games
* Small and lightweight - about Smartphone sized, this is longer than the 3 button versions
Can display onto a TV with a video cable (not supplied)

Cons:

* The sound produced is poor due to a cheap chip or speaker
* The Menu button just above the D-Pad can be easy to press if your thumb slips which will exit the game you are playing
* No ability to save, just like the original Megadrive sure but such a feature could of been added, (press menu and bring up a screen to load, save or quit) which every emulator since the 90's has had. Fortunately most games have a password or cheat system to load levels
* Holding it can cause some discomfort during long use

I would still highly recommend this, and definitely over the other versions that don't include the SD card slot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Good, The Bad and The So So, 21 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
With all the offers in the market, there is still room for the good old retro games that make alot of kids dream back in the 90's. Even though you may be a fan of Sony, Microsoft or Nintendo, if you are a real gamer, there is a little space in your heart reserved for the Genesis diamonds. Countless hours that you spent in your childhood playing games such as Sonic, Golden Axe or Shinobi can now be remembered with this amazing finding!

However, there are a few cons about this distinctive handheld that maybe relevent to the most hardcore gamers, but first things first:

THE PROS

- Remebering games such as Sonic (even Knuckles!), Shinobi or Streets or Rage is always heart fullfilling, taking us back to the endless summers playing with friends;
- Finally something to play old retro Genesis games other than the real console (Genesis or Mega Drive) or a PC, anytime anywhere;
- TV connectivity is a must. It's like having the real console;
- The possibility of using ROM's from other games!! This must be the top argument to choose this device!!It's amazing what a small 2-4 Gb SD card can take in it!! You can put all the ROM's in one SD card!
- The weight of the device. This device is extremely light, something that could make us think that there's something missing... but very confortable to handle, to carry and for spending hours playing without your hands and arms become numb;
- The play experience. The buttons and the screen are very well adjusted and the experience is quite good;
- The software. Very fast, very basic, you wouldn't expect more of a system that runs 16 bit retro games. Even so, for the purpose, it's very good;
- The screen. It is amazing that a screen that small (2.8") can still give you a very good visual gaming experience, altough some games (like the Strike Trilogy - Desert Strike, Jungles Strike and Urban Strike) may be dificult to play because of the small details visible only in larger screens. Put that aside and you have very good visuals;
- The battery. No need for AAA bateries, this one is rechargable and can hold up to 5 hours straight (i tested but it may vary). Remember, this is a basic device.

THE CONS

- The cables. This unit i bought didn't come with any cables (either the micro USB for charging or the AV cable). The first it's very common nowadays, but the AV Cable may be hard to find. But something worth to look for...
- The games that come with the device. With a pretty solid library of games, it is desappointing some of the games that come with the device. It's something that can be worked out with the downloading of other ROM's, but either way, the collection could be better;
- The sound. Akwardly slow... for every game. Something to do with the software maybe. It is desappointing that every game (no matter what) as its sound altered, even when plugged on the TV. Some may not care, but i believe that most will be felling that's something that can ruin the experience. And the output of the device its terrible when on its max;
- The ROM's. Only .bin (.smd are listed but don't work) and some of them don't work at all. Others work only with the device plugged to the TV (something that i don't understand). Either way, you may find yourself wasting alot of hours looking for the ones that work. But it's worth the time!!
- The TV experience. This is something that may not be fair to evalute. It's a 16 bit device with basic software. It's not a PS3 or a Xbox 360 (for those who tryed the Sega Collection). But while the hours go by, you will realize that you are playing old retro games in a small device, other than a PC or a console. For what its worth, i think it's amazing!

OVERALL

For me, as a hardcore gamer with years spent in gamming, it's an amazing device that takes me back to my childhood. I had a Genesis and the gaming experience it quite the same (apart of the those topics mentioned earlier). It's fun, it's cheap (considering the amout of games you can put in an SD Card) and it is worth the investment. A good device to take you back to th old days when they could make great games it only 16 bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent retrogaming portable console, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Ricardo Silva "Requiem" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
After reading a lot of reviews, positive ones by the way, regarding other Blaze MegaDrive portable consoles, I knew that I should get this one launched recently by them for my 5 y.o. daughter, who loves videogames just like me and was always asking for a Nintendo 3DS console to play Super Mario Bros. 3DS is too much expensive, and my daughter was already used to play arcade games, namely Sega ones, on my Xbox 360, therefore this product is perfect to offer her as gift for Children day (1st June). Needless to say that she loved the console very much! :-)

Pros:
Well built product, specially for the price that it costs
The screen is 4:3 however it shows very well the megadrive games resolution
20 built in games crossing all genres
SD card slot where you can place/play other Megadrive/Genesis games downloaded from Internet (the games must be .bin files)
Built in battery just like a mobile phone – no AA batteries needed
Possibility to connect the portable console to any kind of TV (LCD, plasma, CRT)

Cons:
The speaker is low quality, however if you don’t turn it in the maximum sound it hears nicely
Very hard to find the TV out cable – It is only available to buy at Blaze website, unfortunately is constantly “not-available, please order” status. It would be perfect if Amazon.co.uk starts to sell as well the TV cable, I believe that exists lot of consumers try to find such product to buy.

I recommend this product to people that like retrogaming and specially Megadrive platform back in the days, as also for kids in younger ages that already like to play videogames.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
just the right one great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars megadrive game, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
It has made my 8 year old very happy. It has nearly all his favourite games on. He has told his friends how good it is.
Rechargeable battery is saving a fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sega megadrive hand game, 6 Oct 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
This was a present for my son's birthday and he loves it. Great bargain as not everyone can afford the big PSP prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works pretty well., 15 Dec 2014
By 
P. Duffield - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
Works pretty well. Sound's okay.
Does not work well with all the home-brew games, but I can't hold that against this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Download Games, 16 Nov 2014
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
Does anyone know what website to download the games from?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than it sounds, 10 Nov 2014
This review is from: Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games) (Console)
Works fine and the games play well enough although the screen has bad viewing angles but not to an unplayable extent. If the sound quality is not a concern for you then this item is fine, otherwise you will have to put up with mono quality sound even through headphones (though it does sound a bit better)

The sd card feature also plays files with the .gen and .smd extension which is a bonus as getting hold of a .bin for each game may be a pain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sega Megadrive Arcade Ultimate Portable (Electronic Games)
£47.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews