Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars We loved it
Sinan creates such a loving piece of art. We saw this in Canada when out visiting friends - very moving indeed.
Published 7 months ago by Prof de Francais

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars low-budget but has some appeal
The Visitor is Marco, cousin of Christine who comes from Rome to stay with her and her Turkish boyfriend Cibrail in Berlin. He speaks totally fluent German, seems to be a happy-go-lucky type of person who works as a DJ. Christine works in an art gallery while Cibrail is a policeman, and quite reserved. He runs a lot, as if working out inner anxieties. Anyway it's quite...
Published 13 months ago by schumann_bg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars low-budget but has some appeal, 1 Jun 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Visitor [DVD] (DVD)
The Visitor is Marco, cousin of Christine who comes from Rome to stay with her and her Turkish boyfriend Cibrail in Berlin. He speaks totally fluent German, seems to be a happy-go-lucky type of person who works as a DJ. Christine works in an art gallery while Cibrail is a policeman, and quite reserved. He runs a lot, as if working out inner anxieties. Anyway it's quite clear where the story is heading and there are no real surprises, but it is nonetheless enjoyable. Sometimes you don't need to be surprised ... there is an authenticity about the style, which feels like a home movie. There is not much dialogue at key points, leading to a slight feeling of flatness. I also wondered whether it wouldn't have been more affecting with better music than the rather anodyne synthesised soundtrack. However I thought the two leads were attractive and quite sensually presented, Cibrail himself having a beautiful mouth which looks like a bow on its side - the final image of the film, in fact. It's nowhere near as good as Harvest, also from tla releasing and set near Berlin, and it doesn't quite fulfil the promise of the cover image. The script is not sharp enough to get a real sense of intimacy across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very dated and oh so slow, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Bilbob (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Visitor [DVD] (DVD)
Just about everything about this film harks back to an era when gay sex wasn't allowed to speak its name, and if it did, girl-friends packed their bags and walked out in a huff - which is exactly what happened in this rather earnest and amateurish film. Shots either tended to dissolve to black or subjects were allowed to walk out of the frame. Music was used very sparsely which just added to the feeling of longueur. Neither of the main characters were particularly attractive. At one point, I thought the subplot of men being assaulted or murdered in the park might actually amount to something, but it didn't and seemed rather pointless. What sex there was in the film was so discrete the characters could have been humping a sack. The final, excruciatingly slow credits summed it up. The only positive thing about the film was its brevity. One for the charity shop, I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like a valentine from a toddler, 25 Mar 2014
By 
J. Martin (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Visitor [DVD] (DVD)
This is a strange little movie. It's as if someone really, really wanted to make a gay movie but (1) didn't know anything about being gay, and (2) didn't know anything about making a movie.

What's surprising is that it isn't in any way offensive. In fact, it's sort of touching, that someone cared enough to make a movie for us even though he didn't know how, sort of like a toddler making a homemade valentine for his parents: it's so sweet that only a jerk could be offended by its naive amateurishness.

It's not even a particularly boring movie, although the last six of its 69 minutes are the end credits, scrolling so slowly you can hardly tell they're moving, while the most somniferous music I've ever heard drones along with them.

There are also many shots of a tall, ugly, perforated metal sculpture standing in the middle of a river, and many short clips of cast members doing things like swimming, or walking, and then fade to black. Only the director knows what those clips are supposed to mean.

The movie seems to have been made with a digital camera on auto-focus and auto-exposure, which I've never seen in a professionally released movie before. The acting and direction are clumsy at best, and there's no dialog to speak of.

Cibrâil is not a good movie by any conventional standards, but I loved it. I'm going to watch it again, now that I know what to expect of it.

So I can recommend it only to someone who is willing and able to receive it as a well-meant gift from a loving child, who can't yet draw a picture of you as you look to yourself, but very touchingly draws the love he sees in you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Man meets partners gay brother and starts to question his own sexuality, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Visitor [DVD] (DVD)
A nice film that features a couple of fairly hot gay sex scenes. But beware this film is a 15. Not an 18. Not that that should affect your enjoyment of this rather good drama. Oh and the sex is not graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We loved it, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Visitor [DVD] (DVD)
Sinan creates such a loving piece of art. We saw this in Canada when out visiting friends - very moving indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "A very mixed bag", 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Visitor [DVD] (DVD)
This is what you can expect: one principal character (Cibrâil) who is emotionally and sexually suppressed, constantly looking morose and with limited acting ability. The object of his affection (Marco) is a much nicer and more handsome man whose dramatic talent has been misused, mainly because of a bad script.

With a higher budget and a better script, cut and ditto director the film could have been much better. The tension between the two men makes it worth watching though and that is mainly because of the delicious Marco. He deserves a 4. However, it is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The film not the supplier, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Visitor [DVD] (DVD)
boardered on switching it off every 10mins as it is a very amateur production that winds it's way through to the end. It could have been good, but .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Visitor [DVD] (DVD)
I Like it because it was easy to by and the shipping was rapid.
The only thing was that I want to pay with my Visa credit card and didn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Visitor [DVD]
The Visitor [DVD] by Tor Ibem (DVD - 2013)
Ł5.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews