Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on the beat at Dock Green nick
Dixon of Dock Green was a series particularly hard hit by the BBC archive purges of the 1960's and 1970's. Out of the 432 episodes made, only 32 exist today - 11 in black & white and 21 in colour.

The first Acorn release contained six of the first seven surviving colour episodes (Molenzicht was not included due to unspecified rights issues). This DVD contains...
Published on 23 Jun. 2013 by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite As Good As The B&W Episodes
I bought the first collection of this long running series and found it to be quite interesting. This second collection is from the same era when the shows were broadcast in colour and just as good. In my opinion though, the black and white episodes were far superior when Jack Warner was the main character. In the latter series, when he became too old to be the main...
Published 21 months ago by Orlando


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a certain age, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If like me you saw this first time round, then you need it in your collection, watching Dixon made me join the Police, , a golden age of policing long gone never to return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great collection, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
John A. Stedman (Rye UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having bought and thoroughly enjoyed Collection 1 of Dixon, I was amazed when this further collection was released. Mainly because I understood that the first collection was largely stumbled upon by accident in the BBC archives and no more existed.

This is yet another wallow in 1970s nostalgia when life was a lot simpler and London's Docklands hadn't been invaded by the banking fraternity. "It's a fair cop guv" reigns supreme, though there's still a social message in each episode.

Very enjoyable escapism brought back to life. If you enjoyed it in the 1970s you will enjoy it now. And it'll make you feel old......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dixon of dock green, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived in good condition and well in delivery time. This series is one of the best british police dramas i have ever seen no swearing just good old fashioned acting the bobbys we use to know walking the beat, cannot wait to see next series dixon of dock green collection no3 if you do one, when i was a in my teens i watch this series on television in the 1950s can these episodes be put on a dvd or are they lost?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Police shows, 3 Aug. 2013
By 
Jady Lee "Gwennie" (Tasmania, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This may be dated but it's very interesting. Nice little concise stories without all the add-ons they use now to make shows last a couple of hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Very good series, waiting for series 1 to arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad drama series, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
Junius (London, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I had very low expectations of this series, bought for me (unasked) as a Christmas present, having seen some of the 1950s version on TV in about 1992 and having heard bad things about this in connection with my favourite police show (The Sweeney).

This actually isn't too bad. Very slow paced (don't expect car chases, shoot outs or punch ups or drinking/womanising), with PS Dixon many years beyond retirement (its the DI who does most fo the work), and we learn little about the characters and their relationships.

Yet the on location shooting is a bonus (an often decaying London) and in the first story in this collection the villain bears an uncanny resemblence to Peter Sutcliffe (some years before he was revealed as the Yorkshire Ripper). The stories build up gently and the characters are fairly benign.

OKish viewing, but not brilliant and one can see why the Sweeney overtook it. On the other hand, it lasted for 20 plus years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Brings back a lot of memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Found boring., 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Bit dated now.Found boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All time best TV police show, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
Al Smith "smudger" (Peterborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I grew up with this show it dated but who cares some of the best British actors took parts in this long running police show
it started in black & white. if you like the old copper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd DVD of the series, 13 Oct. 2013
By 
Philip Warburton "cplimey" (Port Coquitlam, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Brings back lots of good old memories!
Great for nostalgia and for a hark back to simpler and more innocent time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD]
Dixon of Dock Green: Collection 2 [DVD] by Jack Warner (DVD - 2013)
£14.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews