Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good music
Went to see the 30th anniversary tour and loved it so when this came out decided to buy as am unable to get to London with ease. Great show, changed slightly but to good effect. Not too sure about Marti Pellow as voice not very strong but, there again, I have been spoiled by seeing the wonderful Justin Hayward in the original. Be warned ... it may take a while to get...
Published 7 months ago by Chrissy22

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Editing
Superb show but the current trend for fast cut editing ruined this for me. when each segment is only held for a second or so it's impossible to focus on the image and it just makes for irritation not excitement. The cameramen should also have the zoom controls on their cameras disabled. the action is the stage and not the crazy antics of the cameramen.
Published 6 months ago by Merlin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good music, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Went to see the 30th anniversary tour and loved it so when this came out decided to buy as am unable to get to London with ease. Great show, changed slightly but to good effect. Not too sure about Marti Pellow as voice not very strong but, there again, I have been spoiled by seeing the wonderful Justin Hayward in the original. Be warned ... it may take a while to get some of the songs out of your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War of the worlds, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The DVD is fab, of course if you have been to the live show its not quite the same but the music the actors and the whole feel of the show is still amazing, if you weren't lucky enough to get to see it and you love the recording, then this is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, 23 April 2013
By 
J. Wickins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I love everythig about this album. Jeff Wayne has done a great job updating his classic album, and the artists are well-chosen. My only regret is that I couldn't get to see the live show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent dvd, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
watch it again and again a must see dvd will make a great christmas gift for anyone who loves a good musical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Editing, 8 Feb 2014
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Superb show but the current trend for fast cut editing ruined this for me. when each segment is only held for a second or so it's impossible to focus on the image and it just makes for irritation not excitement. The cameramen should also have the zoom controls on their cameras disabled. the action is the stage and not the crazy antics of the cameramen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars W o t W, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Loved it, it is a great reminder of just how talented this man is and is a keepsake for all who love his work,and is the only thins that keeps to the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for both eyes and ears, 29 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I think my Mum described it best - this recording of the new live WOTW show is an entertainment feast. The New Generation version is an augmentation, rather than a wholesale revision, of the original - so fans of the latter need not worry. The likes of Richard Burton, Phil Lynott and Justin Hayward are irreplaceable but the new cast performs gamely. As Jeff Wayne himself says in one of the interviews, the aim was for new interpretations, rather than attempts to copy the original vocals. The accompaniment of visual scenes and stage props (including the impressive Martian fighting machine) adds considerably to the audio narrative and is frequently integrated into the progression of the story with a high degree of artistry and cleverness. The centerpiece, however, remains the music and it is as joyous as ever. The band and orchestra (including veterans of the original album Herbie Flowers and Chris Spedding) are on fine form and hold you transfixed right from the opening bars of Eve of the War. It would particularly reward the use of a proper sound system, as the rich, multi-layered sonic complexity is inevitably truncated when heard through standard TV speakers.

DVDs that offer, pound-for-pound, this much enjoyment for the money are rare. I would strongly recommend it to both fans of the original and those who have yet to experience Jeff Wayne's masterpiece. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent look forward to seeing it live, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
My wife and I love both the original and new generation, we have tickets to see the show live in 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Wonderful, enjoyed every minute, saw the musical and watching DVD was just like being there again. Would buy again and recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars spoilt by stupid camera work!, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds: The New Generation [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The show is brilliant, but this recording is dreadful! The producer or the director, or both, are too busy showing off their toys, instead of concentrating on the performance. Why in the world would I want close-ups of one of the guitarist's hands? Why would I want to see the view from the furthest reaches of the auditorium, instead of an optimum, centre-stage view?
This is so bad that I stopped watching after only 20 minutes.
What a massive disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews