Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely top notch!
As a baby-boomer I usually avoid historical drama from this period since it is all too often devised to appeal to the nostalgic element of my generation. As one who regards the past as valuable experience rather than something to yearn for, I, therefore, ignored Foyle when it was first broadcast. The series was repeated recently on Australian television, and I watched a...
Published 5 months ago by Thomas Holt

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles
Acorn media produced such a magnificent series but didn't get into the "trouble" of releasing it with subtitles ! What a disgrace ...
Published 6 months ago by Christos Tsatsaronis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning series not played on NZ television, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
We found this series absolutely RIVITTING!! Here in NZ I doubt we have had a television series as good, including Downton Abbey! It is a wonderful social history of the time and the events as they occurred during the war. The price was worth every cent!! What a fantastic writer Anthony Horowitz is!! Such attention to detail AND SO WELL CAST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good But, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Very good value and good viewing But why did the advert not mention no sub titles
nearly all programs have this aid otherwise good
Will O
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
would love to buy this series but need to wait till it comes with subtitles / feel this should be standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does Foyles War have subtitles ?, 4 July 2013
By 
Yam Lai Wah (Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I need to know whether subtitles are provided otherwise I shall not consder further whether to purchase this product.The same applies to any of the DVD's advertised by Amazon.My impression is that Amazon is indifferent on this issue otherwise it would be more proactive in meeting its customers'expressed needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching again, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs. Kathleen Swan "Kath" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Received the boxes set very quickly. Looking forward to watching this boxed set - love this programme, been watching various episoded on the free channels lately and I was reminded of how good it is. The actors are amazing, all of them. Great to see how things were during the war too, with plenty of the English countryside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foyle's War Review, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Timothy O'Flynn (Cork, Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I'd watched all 7 series of this programme. I missed some episodes as a result of being on holiday down through the years the programme has been running, so, I purchased the box set of the 7 series and I'm delighted with my purchase.

All 7 series were well made and the use of costumes and uniforms and equipment of the period of World War II used in all 7 series were portayed well. If there were to be any criticisms it might come from people who fought and lived through that particular period of the 20th Century, but other than that all 7 series were well made and they went a long way towards portraying how life must have been like for the people in that time period and just after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift., 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent programme. Has all the episodes including the new ones shown recently on ITV. I bought this as a gift for my Mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
All the episodes are entertaining and well acted. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Love this programme, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Shaz (Lytham St. Annes) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant. Love this programme. Made an excellent gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
By 
V. E. Karo-Davidson (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Foyle's war is fantastic! All settings are perfecct and I love the people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD]
Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] by David Richards (DVD - 2013)
£50.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews