Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely top notch!
As a baby-boomer I usually avoid historical drama from this period since it is all too often devised to appeal to the nostalgic element of my generation. As one who regards the past as valuable experience rather than something to yearn for, I, therefore, ignored Foyle when it was first broadcast. The series was repeated recently on Australian television, and I watched a...
Published 5 months ago by Thomas Holt

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles
Acorn media produced such a magnificent series but didn't get into the "trouble" of releasing it with subtitles ! What a disgrace ...
Published 6 months ago by Christos Tsatsaronis


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely top notch!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
As a baby-boomer I usually avoid historical drama from this period since it is all too often devised to appeal to the nostalgic element of my generation. As one who regards the past as valuable experience rather than something to yearn for, I, therefore, ignored Foyle when it was first broadcast. The series was repeated recently on Australian television, and I watched a couple of them and realised what I had missed. I immediately ordered the boxed set and am halfway through enjoying them without the distraction of pointless and inane TV advertising.

This is drama of the highest order; beautifuly written, faultless acting from the superb Michael Kitchen and a phallanx of the best British character actors, and impeccable period 'feel'. The puzzles are reasonable quality, but that's not what this is really about. The effect of war on ordinary, and not-so ordinary, people is portrayed brilliantly and pulls no punches. Britain did not transform itself into a land of instant heroes, dedicated to democracy and stopping the Nazis. People were scared, not surprising seeing how fast the rest of Europe had fallen, and had no illusions about how poorly-prepared the country was for fighting. Small wonder that Churchill was terrified that they would want to negotiate with Hitler. Against this backdrop Foyle goes about his business of solving crime, seeking out truth, and trying to ensure justice. He is one of literature's great humanitarians, dedicated to doing what is obviously, and sometimes less obviously, right and fair. He is calm, organised, brave, and utterly unmoved by the machinations and posturings of the great and the good. His most potent weapon is a quiet, but ruthless and devastating logic backed by a profound sense of the ridiculous and natural humour and irony. This is a series that not only gives considerable enjoyment from its sheer quality - it makes you want to be a better person - not my usual reaction to television!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of suspense and humanity, and a pleasure to watch, 7 Oct 2013
By 
A Manning (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
some of the crimes are a bit gory at times, but that doesn't detract from what is a tremendous pleasure to watch- I only hope that there are more episodes after series 8!
As an aside, noticing a few comments about subtitles- there are subtitles if you use Netflix to watch Foyle's War- but beware, the quality of these subtitles leave a lot to be desired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding drama, 1 Oct 2014
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
"Foyle's War" is a British police television drama which is set during and after the Second World War. Most episodes take place in Hastings in the south of England - famous as the site of the Norman Conquest in 1066 - but sometimes other locations are used, for instance London.

The main character is Christopher Foyle (Michael Kitchen). During the war his official title was Detective Chief Superintendent. But when he presented himself, he usually just said: "My name is Foyle. I'm a police officer." He is a modest man. At the end of the war he retires, but he is still involved with some investigations. In season 7 he starts to work for British intelligence, MI5.

Samantha "Sam" Stewart (Honeysuckle Weeks) served as his driver during the war. When Foyle retires, she tries to find a new job and a new life. When Foyle starts to work for MI5, she becomes his assistant. Paul Milner (Anthony Howell) served as a Detective Sergeant under Foyle during the war. After the war he is promoted to Detective Inspector in Brighton.

The first episode of "Foyle's War" was broadcast on television in 2002, and it is still running. As far as I know, a new season is scheduled to be broadcast in 2015. When a season has been broadcast on television, it becomes available on DVD.

In my opinion, "Foyle's War" is an outstanding drama, for three reasons: (1) it is entertaining; (2) it is a challenge: can you figure out who is guilty and who is innocent before the truth is revealed? (3) It is educational, because it shows the basic facts of life in England during and after the Second World War.

Most episodes begin with several story lines. At first the viewer does not know how they are connected with each other. Eventually one of the story lines, perhaps even two, will lead to a crime, or two crimes, which Foyle and his team will have to investigate.

The crimes committed are often based on or inspired by real historical events. Historical accuracy is an important element of the project, although there are a few cases, where historical accuracy has been violated. To give just one example: in the episode titled "Bad Blood," set in 1942, streptomycin is used to cure a patient, but this drug was not developed until 1943.

I noticed an internal inconsistency regarding Foyle's family: Foyle is a widower. In one episode he visits the cemetery where his wife is buried. According to the tombstone she was born in 1902 and died in 1932. So far so good. Foyle has a son whose name is Andrew (Julian Ovenden). In one episode Andrew says he was eight years old when his mother died. If this is true, he was born in 1924. But this cannot be true, because it does not fit the general story line:

In 1940, when the story line begins, he is ca. 20 years old. He has finished school; when the war began in 1939, he was studying at a university. He has joined up and is in training to become a pilot. In other words: he was born in 1920, and when his mother died in 1932, he was 12. If he was born in 1924, he would be only 16 in 1940; too young to study at a university and too young to join the war effort as a pilot.

"Foyle's War" is created by screenwriter Anthony Horowitz who is also the author or the co-author of most episodes. All episodes are well written and all actors play their roles very well. Each episode is a self-contained story which runs for more than 90 minutes, but at the same time there is long-term development, from one season to the next, from the beginning of the war to the end of it, and beyond.

War brings out the best and the worst in people. On the home front, war creates new crimes, such as stealing food and petrol, known as racketeering. During the war many government institutions are shrouded in secrecy. Many people are not allowed to talk to outsiders about their jobs. Some of them may use the high level of secrecy to commit a crime or to protect a person who has committed a crime because he or she is considered essential for the war effort.

As a policeman, who has to investigate crimes committed on the home front, Foyle is often rebuffed by people in high places. But he does not back down. The more someone tries to keep him out, the more he will try to find out what goes on behind closed doors. His argument is something like this:

"Victims of theft and murder deserve justice, even though we are in the middle of a war. If crimes like theft and murder are allowed to take place, we are no better than the enemy."

The end of the war in 1945 does not mean the end of crime; only new types of crimes. There is still work to do for Foyle. The Cold War is beginning, although no character uses this description. Each episode raises questions about legality and morality. What does the law say? And what is the right thing to do?

One reason for the high quality of this drama is the British understatement, as opposed to a typical US action drama, where there can be shooting and fighting all the time. "Foyle's War" is not hectic. The pace is slow, but still intense. Since each episode runs for more than 90 minutes, there is time for reflection and time for a moment when no one says anything. Foyle does not talk much, but he listens carefully to other people and he observes every detail around him. When he talks, his lines are usually short and clear. He is a person of authority, not because he can beat somebody up, but because of his honesty, integrity, and his sharp mind.

While the war and the crimes committed on the home front are serious, there is also room for a bit of humour from time to time. The funny situations are often created by or connected with Sam, whose character is quite different from that of Foyle. The two characters complement each other very well.

Series 1-7 (broadcast 2002-2013 and released on DVD in 2013) comprises 25 episodes which are set in the years 1940-1946:

*** SERIES 1
The German Woman // The White Feather // A Lesson in Murder // Eagle Day

*** SERIES 2
Fifty Ships // Among the Few // War Games // The Funk Hole

*** SERIES 3
The French Drop // Enemy Fire // They Fought in the Fields // A War of Nerves

*** SERIES 4 part 1
Invasion // Bad Blood //

*** SERIES 4 part 2
Bleak Midwinter // Casualties of War

*** SERIES 5
Plan of Attack // Broken Souls // All Clear

*** SERIES 6
The Russian House // Killing Time // The Hide

*** SERIES 7
The Eternity Ring // The Cage // The Hide

I do not wish to spoil the viewing for anyone. Therefore I am not going to reveal any details about these episodes. All I will say is sit back and enjoy the show. But please be careful: you may easily become addicted!

PS # 1. David Horowitz - the creator of "Foyle's War" - has also written a book about the famous detective Sherlock Holmes: The House of Silk (2011, 2012)

PS # 2. For some background information about the television drama, see The Real History Behind Foyle's War by Rod Green (first edition 2006, second edition 2010).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foyle's War Subtitles, 20 July 2013
By 
W. J. A. Medcalf (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Like many people I have hearing problems. When " Foyle's War " first came out on DVD I was so impressed that I bought it straight away and sadly, found that there
were no subtitles when the package arrived at my home. I rarely buy anything that does not have subtitles. " Foyle's War " was the exception.
This is TV entertainment of the highest quality spoiled for me and I am sure, for many other people by of the lack of subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
This set arrived really quickly. It comes as 3 DVD cases in an outer sleeve. Each series is in a separate case. There are 25 DVDs and each episode is on a separate DVD.

This is a really good series. Excellent stories, believable characters and good acting. The episodes vary in length. Quality of picture is good. This is probably, in my opinion, one of the best British made detective series as it rambles on slowly building up the characterisations. I would recommend it as a detox after the Scandinavian police dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles, 12 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Watched Series 7 DVD that has subtitles. I incline to agree that info re whether or not the product has English subtitles would help esp. for non-native speakers of English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series - pure nostalgia. I am fascinated by this era in the 20th century. "Foyle's War" is so well written and the actors are brilliant. It is the best TV series ever and is the only boxed set I have ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truely masive and detailed set of stories of life in wartime Uk & post war., 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Michael Kitchen gives a wonderful performance in this series as do so many of its Cast. I missed seeing this series on TV so grabbed the opportunity when is was made available as a boxed set. I first Saw Michael as a very young man in the 1980's Film "Das bunker"
This was a series that is a delight an viewable many times.
Eric Frith Malta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very good, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I missed some of the Foyle's War programmes on TV so bought the box set.

Absolutely marvelous and I do have to wonder why they don't make more series on TV.

Michael Kitchen can do more with a look or glance than actors can do with lines and lines of dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
The series is excellent but was sorry to see that it had no subtitles, as I am hard of hearing it would have been an asset
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD]
Foyle's War Series 1-7 Boxed Set [DVD] by David Richards (DVD - 2013)
£69.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews