Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slimmer but slicker
A much shorter book of early Dredd adventures than volumes 1 and 2, but no less essential for that.

Having established a lot of the history and set-up of Dredd's world in book 2, building a more solid world around him than the often naive and slapdash environment seen in Book 1, the strip really starts to take off here. It's as though, having realised just what...
Published on 5 July 2007 by Dark Jimbo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flawed presentation
Excellent stories but one BIG problem with this Kindle release is that the pages have been stretched vertically,distorting the sometimes beautiful artwork.Fix please,Amazon!
Published 16 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slimmer but slicker, 5 July 2007
By 
Dark Jimbo (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
A much shorter book of early Dredd adventures than volumes 1 and 2, but no less essential for that.

Having established a lot of the history and set-up of Dredd's world in book 2, building a more solid world around him than the often naive and slapdash environment seen in Book 1, the strip really starts to take off here. It's as though, having realised just what possibilities Dredd's world offered during the course of writing the Cursed Earth and Judge Cal epics, writer John Wagner decides to really start pushing some boundaries and having fun.

After his 'baptism of fire' during book 2's twin epics, Dredd himself emerges here as a character really worth reading - beginning the move away from the frankly childish figure of the strip's first year to the fascinatingly flawed and layered lawman we know and love today. And his city, Mega-City One, starts to take on a shape of its own. We find out where citizens live, what they do for fun, where they work, what they drive - gameshows, fashion trends, food brands, it's all explored here - and all with typically madcap future twists. In short, the book is in effect an exercise in worldbuilding. It may be short, but there are far more of the staples of Dredd's oddball enviroment created here than in both the previous volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cements on Greatness, 5 July 2007
By 
Dark Jimbo (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
If you've been following the series thus far, you'll know that a lot of Dredd's early stories - even as late as Book 3 - simply weren't very good. Having not read any of these the first time around I'm free of rose-tinted glasses, and can readily admit it. Book 1 was riddled with them, let's face it; Book 2 had one or two sneak into the back; and while Book 3 on the whole managed to avoid them, it's Book 4 that is entirely free of the blighters.

Seriously - I dare you to find a single clunker in this volume - and considering the size of it, it's no mean feat to have avoided any. This book represents a creative team hitting their peak. Finally at ease with both the character of Dredd and the world he inhabits (boy, this strip sure did take a long time to find its feet) John Wagner, joined here by writing partner Alan Grant, really goes to town. So comfortable have they become with Mega-City One that they send Dredd off on a galaxy-spanning quest, letting us see into this previously unexplored area of his universe. Classic villians aplenty are thrown into the mix to test their wits against him - the Angel gang in particular emerge as brilliant creations - and, in the same way that we were introduced to Anderson for the first time last volume - Dredd's supporting cast gets several more noteworthy additions. At times it's difficult to believe that only two men wrote this book, so bursting with ideas is it. Horror, out-and-out sci-fi, comedy, adventure - the stories cover everything.

The art team hits a peak here, too. The bulk of the art chores are handled by Bolland, McMahon and realtive newcomer to the strip Ron Smith - between them, these three giants of Dredd's early years show that no-one can draw Dredd quite like they can. You simply can't fault it. There were even better things on the horizon, but this could quite rightly be considered the start of Dredd's golden years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dredd Evolved, 2 Aug 2006
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The collected volumes in this series certainly demonstrate how the most influential UK comic book character developed over time. I deliberately didn't buy the first volume because I remember the early Dredd stories as being not as interesting or well-written as the later ones - this feeling was confirmed when reading the Cursed Earth storyline in volume 2 for the very first time.

With volume 4, however, the series becomes a lot more interesting. The first half of this collection consists of The Judge Child Quest, while the second half is assorted shorter storylines involving Dredd cracking heads on the streets.

Frankly, I had forgotten how good the Judge Child Quest was. I had forgotten how charismatic the Angel Gang were & how very, very alien the aliens are. Forget Star Trek & its people with prosthetic lumps on their heads acting like humans - here we have a surreal Monty Python-esque world where illegal 'aliens' stay in a building shaped like a giant foot & the human Dredd seeks is literally disappearing one piece at a time. Then there's the planet where the rich have their minds stored in biochips & hire other peoples' bodies & a world where every day a new war is fought & televised, purely for entertainment. The choice of artists is well thought-out, too - his imagination & attention to background detail make Bolland perfect for The Jigsaw Man whereas McMahon's moodier style suits the gothic horror of the oracle spice plot arc.

While The Judge Child Quest focuses on Dredd the action hero, 'Alone In The Crowd' is a critique of Mega-City One's totalitarian society. A citizen keeps his head down while muggers attack another passer-by. When Dredd later collars the muggers, another citizen keeps his head down & displays an equal amount of fear. A further hint of similar themes to come is 'Un-American Graffiti', featuring the first appearance of Chopper, the thrill-seeking, freedom-obsessed hero of the people who later became a very significant character in Dredd's world. Also included is the revenge of Fink Angel, one of my favourite villains as a child.

Reading this volume in hindsight means that a seemingly insignificant story in which the Sovs attack Mega-City One is clearly a precursor to the Apocalypse War storyline collected in volume 5. The Apocalypse War is the point where Dredd's world really turned around & became a lot more interesting, innovative & mature than the average 2000AD action strip. I have only given this collection 4 stars because 5 are reserved for that volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flawed presentation, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd The Complete Case Files 04 (Kindle Edition)
Excellent stories but one BIG problem with this Kindle release is that the pages have been stretched vertically,distorting the sometimes beautiful artwork.Fix please,Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another bunch of classic stories., 11 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After a low key volume 3 Judge Dredd: The Complete Case Files kicks back into high gear with volume four.
Starting the book off is the classic mega epic "The Judge Child". This runs for 26 chapters and is a major keystone story in the Judge Dredd mythos.
The artwork and writing in this volume is top notch from start to finish and is, for me, part of the 'golden era' of Judge Dredd.
Absolutely unmissable for any Judge Dredd fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars judge dredd complete vol 3, 11 Oct 2013
it was a good read and i thoroughly joyed it although it was shorter than the volumes 1 and 2,
if i had to change it in anyway i would make it slightly bigger and put more pictures in the
gallery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another Dredd cracker, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant,what more can I say. Some of the stories are a bit corny but the majority are stonkers. Any book with a Judge Death story has got to be worth having. A real blast from the past. Scrotnig!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was to young to have read this is it is great to be able to start from the beginning, the third volume is just as good as the first two, I like how it doesn't take itself serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think I'd like it, but had me laughing out loud., 31 July 2014
By 
Chris Tolworthy (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't expect to like this one, as I remember the Judge Child from the weekly comics and for some reason it left me cold. At the time it seemed like a pointless excuse for Dredd to wander around doing pointless things. But on second reading some of the dry humour had me laughing out loud. Maybe it's nostalgia plus an acquired taste? I'm not a heavy Judge Dredd fan, though these volumes may be converting me. Dredd case files always offer good solid stories at a good price, well worth anyone's time.

Warning: Judge Lopez has facial hair. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Law, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found that this brought memories of reading these stories before and as I love Judge Dredd it was fun to reread these again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judge Dredd The Complete Case Files 04
£10.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews