Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Law at War
This volume starts off on a pretty low-key note after the wall-to-wall brilliance of book 4's stories. Dredd investigating the Mega-rackets is inoffensive, entertaining stuff but not really anything special. It's when Judge Death makes his long-awaited comeback that the magic starts to happen. This five-parter, lushly illustrated by Brian Bolland, represent some of the...
Published on 5 July 2007 by Dark Jimbo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
On my tablet there was no way to zoom in - graphic novels maybe don't agree with tablet. The text was small and no way to increase this.
Published 7 months ago by JPG2007


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Block Mania & Apocolypse War, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd The Complete Case Files 05: Complete Case Files v. 5 (Kindle Edition)
This book contains one of the strongest serials in the strips history, great writing & great artwork really helping it stand out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dredd, great art., 4 Jun 2013
By 
Mark Williams "mrbungle" (london UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd The Complete Case Files 05: Complete Case Files v. 5 (Kindle Edition)
Featuring the apocalypse war storyline and many others. I loved these as a kid, but had some episodes missing. Finally got to fill in the gaps! Also the art by Brian Bolland, Steve Dillon, mike McMahon, Colin Wilson, is some of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dred: Complete Case Files v. 5, 23 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a good chance to have in one book all the Block War & Apocalypse War saga. The quality of authors' drawings is sometimes affected by the dimension of the book, but honestly it is a very good compromise betweeen availability of otherwise difficoult to find stories and price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Dredd, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This volume contains three of the best Dredd stories and was a true golden age of the comic strip. The Dark Judges make an appearance, resurrecting Judge Death and seeking to sentence all those who stand before them. Block Mania is an all out war between blocks as a city-wide fighting frenzy grips the residents of Mega City One. And finally, you can't pause for breath, and the Sov block invades Mega City One in The Apocalypse War.

The Apocalypse War is my favourite epic of all time, and loses none of its gripping story telling, even though the Soviet Union is long gone. after all, this is the beginning of the 23rd century, and who knows what will happen between now and then! Ezquerra makes a welcome return in this epic, and his art adds greatly to it.

Alongside these story arcs are some good mini series, which are well worth reading. This is a fat book, full of quality Dredd stories. Buy it, or report to the cubes for a 5 year stretch!

If you only buy one Dredd Collection, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping storyline!!, 9 Mar 2013
Not read this since I was young and it hasn't lost its appeal. I was totally gripped by The apocalypse war saga. The only storyline that surpassed this is necropolis in book 14. The dark judges really are the main stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent product, an almost exact copy of the comics magazine I used to read as a child. I would only ask the publishers to take a little more care, as in some pages the letters and pictures near the point where sheets are glued together are missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dredd Complete Case Files 5, 27 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great overall art and humour. I particularly enjoy how Dredd novels echo humour, but still manage to maintain plausibility and perhaps even a sense of seriousness (like Strontium Dog & ABC Warriors). The first few episodes essentially stand alone; then you get "Judge Death Lives" followed by "Block Mania" which naturally leads to "The Apocalypse War" and the Sov "Bloc"! My primary interest in this purchase was Judge Death, and I loved the "GAZE INTO THE FIST OF DREDD" scene; as this suggested to me that Dredd (unlike his peers) has no fear -- precisely the kind of over-the-top characterisation that makes these novels so compelling. My only disappointment with Case Files 5 was the short length of the Judge Death bit. This publication predominantly deals with The Apocalypse War epic; which had a fantastic ending (which I never would have imagined). No regrets whatsoever -- Case Files 1 next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure, 11 July 2009
By 
C. PETTITT (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've always dipped into 2000AD over the years and enjoyed Judge Dredd and even have a copy of the role playing game from years ago, and when I saw that the complete files existed I couldn't resist. Having read the reviews of all the series I decided to enter the series mid point with v.5. It hasn't disappointed, having consumed the whole edition over a couple of days, having found it very hard to put down, I'm now working my way through v1 and v2. My worries that the strips would be quite similar if read one after the other rather than in a weekly 2000AD have been dispelled - each remain as individual as the city that Dredd inhabits. For me, this remains a great, guilty pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 8 May 2007
By 
lindalove (London, England) - See all my reviews
I am now on this book and have to say this is the best so far. The Cursed Earth series prior to this was excellent, but nothing beats Block Mania followed by Apocolypse War for me so far. In this series, everytime you think things can't get worse for Old Stoney Face they invariably do, but he just takes it on the chin and does what needs to be done. Some pretty shocking scenes in terms of death and Dreddy sure throws out justice on those who calls traitors...absolutely excellent. Yes the shorter stories about the Mega Rackets are interesting in terms of building the world of Dredd but are no way on a par with the series.

And yay Judge Death makes a comeback! Judge Anderson looks great in her outfit in this series, god knows how Dredd every stayed celibate...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd The Complete Case Files 05: Complete Case Files v. 5 (Kindle Edition)
On my tablet there was no way to zoom in - graphic novels maybe don't agree with tablet. The text was small and no way to increase this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae000f0c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews